Behr Premium Waterproofer Review  4.2/5 (9)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

Behr Concrete Waterproofer

Behr Concrete Waterproofer

Update Behr Premium Waterproofer Review 2022

If you have any questions or have used the Behr Premium Waterproofer product, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


A premium interior/exterior waterproofing formula that uses the latest water-based silicone technology designed to penetrate surfaces up to 1/2″. This waterproofer creates a barrier inside the surface that keeps water out, but lets trapped water vapors escape; reducing corrosion, spalling, efflorescence, and freeze-thaw damage. It reduces staining due to mold, mildew, algae growth and ensures greater durability of the surface. The protection is not worn away with normal use. It protects long after the water beading is gone!

Concrete Sealer Ingredients: Silicon

Concrete Sealer Type: Invisible Water Repellent. It does not change the appearance.

Behr Premium Waterproofer Scores (1-10)

Ease of Application: 7

– The Behr Premium Waterproofer is very thin in consistency and looks like you are applying white water. The issue we had is that the sprayer kept getting clogged from large white chunks in the sealer. After running the sealer through a screen, we did not have any more issues. Very frustrating though!

Water Repellency: 7

– After a few days, we tested the Behr Premium Waterproofer with a hose. Light saturation of the water and it beaded well. Heavy saturation and the sealer did not repel the water very well.

Cost per foot: 9

– At $22 a gallon, the Behr Premium Waterproofer is very inexpensive. We used 2 gallons for our 400 sq. feet area.

Durability/Spalling After 2 Years: 4

– After 2 years the Behr Premium Waterproofer did not bead any water at all. Checking with reviews online at HD, there are many customers who have had similar results.

Warranty: 0

Behr Premium Waterproofer comes with a supposed 10-year warranty. Unfortunately, Home Depot would not cover the warranty or even give us a replacement product. The warranty is “limited”, meaning they do not cover normal wear/tear and natural weather.

Overall Score Behr Premium Waterproofer: 5.4

– This concrete sealer and water repellent is a waste of time. Typically poor quality from Behr and a trumped-up warranty that is useless.

Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: Home Depot
Types of Substrates: Concrete, Brick, Masonry, Natural Stone, Aggregate
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 150-250 sq. ft
Application Tools: Bruch, Roller, Sprayer
Dry Time:24-48 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Behr

Test Stats:

Surface Type: Concrete Walkway
Exposure: Heavy Traffic, Snow, Salts, Rain
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
52 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Bill
Bill
2 months ago

Can you add a second coat?

Ray
Ray
2 months ago

Hello: If this Behr sealer is a waste of time, where would I find the reviews on the best products? I am looking for the clear sealer for my newly epoxy-coated garage floor.

Thank you
Ray

Ray
Ray
2 months ago

Thank you for the recommendation but this product has only ONE review and doesn’t represent a widely-used product. Is there an second choice?
Thank you

R Alexander
R Alexander
3 months ago

Is this safe to be used on bird bath bowl? The inside where they will bathe and drink from. Thank you

john d orsi
john d orsi
9 months ago

Can this be used safely to line a concrete water reservoir that animals will drink from ?

Don Leech
Don Leech
9 months ago

I cannot transfer pics of my deck per ur request. Can u send me an email address to send them to

Bradley Johnson
Bradley Johnson
1 year ago

Can I use the Behr protector & waterproofer on freshly stained interior concrete to seal and protect?

Mike Sisemore
Mike Sisemore
2 years ago

Is OK to use Behr Premium Concrete & Masonry Protector if another product (Valspar Waterproffer)) has been used in the past on a brick chimney in the past. How long will this Behr waterproffer product last? How often do you need to reseal?

Michele Dempsey
Michele Dempsey
2 years ago

Is this product non-toxic so that it can be applied to a concrete birdbath?

Kathy Fridstein
Kathy Fridstein
2 years ago

Will this seal stucco. We just made a stucco pizza oven and would like to seal it.

Scott
Scott
2 years ago

i Painted my garage with Behr part 1 epoxy concrete and garage paint. Can I use this sealant on the paint?

steve
steve
2 years ago

can you put multiple coats?

Shirley
Shirley
3 years ago

I also have white patches left from this-what do I strip it off with and will it hurt the painting underneath?

Jo T.
Jo T.
3 years ago

How can we get rid of the white patches left by uneven application? I did not like this product because it is not a clear solution but white on first appication. It has no shine after the first application. We used roller applicator just and since this is our first DYI project, we are so excited just to end up disappointed with the outcome.
How can we make the stone nice and shiny like the way they advertise it.
Thank you

BTG
BTG
2 years ago
Reply to  Jo T.

You are using the wrong product if you want shine. That’s 985 Wet-Look Sealer.

Joe
Joe
3 years ago

Need to seal a basement concrete floor. Have some dampness from ground water and a thin 8ft crack that leaks a bit. The home is in North Central Maine. Not worried about aesthetics; simply want to secure the basement floor. Is a different product needed for the crack?

Joe
Joe
3 years ago

Is there a product that is designed for this??

Gary
Gary
3 years ago

I sprayed it on bricks, the mortar was soaking up water, and the paint on the interior sheetrock was peeling from too much moisture! Will this product stop that issue, or should I spray the bricks with another product? Can I spray another product over this one? Thank You!

Rod
Rod
3 years ago

I just spent a considerable amount of $ on a big Allan Block retaining wall. I want it to remain nice looking, should I seal it? What sealer do you recommend?

Terry
Terry
3 years ago

I applied to my concrete garage floor and bottom portion on my garage foundation walls last summer. This winter/spring I noticed a lot of efflorescence and spalling along the bottom portion of the garage foundation walls where this product was applied which did not exist prior…could this product cause crytoflorescence?
The garage floor seems ok.
How would you recommend removing this product from my garage foundation walls?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Terry
Terry
3 years ago

Sorry…I meant how would you remove the Behr Protector and Waterproofer product from your concrete?

Dan
Dan
3 years ago

I have some leftover concrete and Masonary protector can I use this on some outdoor wood stuff

Ron Harris
Ron Harris
3 years ago

Is this product good for exterior stone/masonry chimney? Need sealer to resist rain water penetration through porous stone and masonry joints that is causing interior sheetrock ceiling damage.

Veronica McKay
Veronica McKay
4 years ago

What happens if you put it on wood??

Judy
Judy
4 years ago

This is truly a waste of money and time. Coverage was much less then stated for use on pavers. A 5 gallon can mentions 1250 ft.², the coverage I received was 300 ft.² When dry, the sand between the pavers washed out during the first rain storm.

David LaFrance
David LaFrance
8 years ago

Is anyone familiar with the product.."Frogskin", a silicone based concrete sealer? Any success stories? Or negative feedback? Trying to decide on a product for a 2nd floor concrete deck,approx 1000sf. Area is exposed to the elements in coastal Louisiana (Lafitte). Product cannot make concrete slippery!!

Tracy
Tracy
8 years ago
Reply to  David LaFrance

Super Diamond Clear is a great product that usually gets 2 seasons here in Michigan. It is a high gloss/wet look though and you may want to see if you can add an anti-slip to the product before applying.

Carol Johnson
Carol Johnson
9 years ago

I would like to coat a garden cement statue that has been painted, will this product work? Please respond ASAP !

larry
larry
9 years ago

i live in missouri and my deck has several minor cracks. We would like to refinish wit a produst like stardek. Will this work. This is the cement deck around our pool.

52
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x