Behr Wet Look Sealer Review 2024  3.5/5 (60)

This post was most recently updated on January 16th, 2024

Behr Wet look Sealer

Behr Wet look Sealer

Update 2024 for Behr Wet Look Sealer Review

For 2024, we have found that the Behr Wet Look Sealer has shown major issues for Stamped Concrete, Brick Pavers, and other Decorative Concrete Surfaces. If you have any questions on the Behr Wet Look Sealer product, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


BEHR PREMIUM® WET-LOOK SEALER is a clear, non-yellowing, high solids, acrylic-based masonry sealer. It is formulated to seal, protect and beautify concrete and masonry surfaces with a high gloss, wet-look finish. BEHR PREMIUM WET-LOOK SEALER is also an excellent topcoat for paints and stains.

Applied to a stamped concrete walkway.

Behr Wet Look Sealer Ratings (1-10)

Wet Look: 3

– Wet look? The Behr wet look sealer barely changed the appearance of the stamped concrete surface even after two coats. It went on milky white and dried milky as well.

Gloss Level: 3

– Behr claims that their sealer will leave a high gloss shine. After the two coats, we barely saw any remnants of any gloss let alone a high gloss. Very misleading marketing from Behr.

Joint Sand Hardening: N/A

– We applied this to a stamped concrete patio where there was not any jointing sand.

Fading/Wearing After 2 Years: 5

– We gave this a 5 since it really did not change much after two years. It looked bad going on and it still looked bad after two years. There was no visible wearing or peeling of the sealer.

White Haze/Yellowing: 2

– The sealer dried with white haze after it was applied and was still there after two years. The customer was not pleased and we needed to chemically strip off the Behr Wet Look Sealer to fix.

Overall Score Behr Wet Look Sealer Sealer at 2 Year Period: 3.3

-Just a poor overall sealer. It does nothing that the marketing claims. It does not darken much, left little to no gloss, and made the stamped concrete look worse than when we started. When checking reviews on the Home Depot site, there are many homeowners who have shared our same experience with this product.

Stay away from this sealer, you will need to chemically strip to fix it!

Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: Home Depot
Sealer Type: Gloss Water-Based Acrylic
Types of Substrates: Brick Pavers, Concrete, Tiles, Aggregate, Stamped
Coats Required: 2 coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Plastic Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-4 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Behr

Test Stats:

Surface Type: Stamped Concrete Walkway
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest

112 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Lynnette
Lynnette
1 year ago

What a waste of money and it ruined our pavers. Terrible white haze and we followed directions to a tee. It is not a wet look ,false advertising. Milky white haze all over our paver patio. I hope we can get a refund of 40.00.

George (Chicago)
George (Chicago)
2 years ago

I rolled it on regular concrete with an 18″ roller, in the shade, and temp below 80F. It rolled on milky, then dried clear. No shine whatsoever. I am very disappointed in Behr’s advertised statements concerning shine. The packaging label suggests additional coats up to four if additional shine is preferred, and I won’t try it because I am afraid of leaving it with a milky covering which will then have to be removed.

Kelli
Kelli
8 months ago

After chatting with a behr consultant about my sealer looking milky, I’ve waited 10 hrs just to find it still milky. What a waste of money. I feel like I can’t trust any reviews expect bad ones, and that’s discouraging! From what others have said I’m now going to have to buy a chemical to get the milky gunk off….. so more money, more work, and still no wet look desired.😕

Richard Gilkey
Richard Gilkey
1 year ago

Can I use behr wet look sealer over behr single stage epoxy and how long should I wait before adding the sealer over the epoxy ( concrete floor )

Steve
Steve
1 year ago

Pure Garbage and now I’m stuck with a white haze that completely distracts from the beautiful stain. Never buy this junk! Behr products should be better than this!

Steve
Steve
1 year ago
Reply to  Steve

Who then makes a great water based or Sealant based sealer?

Danelle Maccarone
Danelle Maccarone
4 months ago

Best water best sealer to put over concrete stain

Tina
Tina
1 year ago

Oh boy do I wish I had read these reviews. My Saltillo tile is now a milky white, looks horrible. What should i use to strip Behr Premium Concrete, Brick & Tile Low Luster Sealer, from my Saltillo tile? Thanks.

AfterSealant.JPG
Tina
Tina
1 year ago

Thank you, it’s not concrete, it is Saltillo tile.
I do appreciate the reply!

Tina Swanson
Tina Swanson
1 year ago

I applied Behr Wet look sealer to my new but fully cured interior concrete floor, which had been previously acid etched and then stained with Behr semi-transparent concrete statin. The stain looked great. I applied the sealer per the instructions, using a 1/4 inch nap roller. Temperature and moisture conditions were good. However, the sealer did not dry clear, instead leaving extensive areas of milky white pebbly roller marks. I tried using acetone to remove the white milky spots but it also ended up smearing and removing the stain. Essentially my interior concrete floor surface has been ruined by the… Read more »

Geoff
Geoff
2 years ago

I used the Behr Wet look sealer on my new patio with Pavers and have white cloudy patches. What is the best product to strip is off? I heard that Xylene paint thinner would work. I know I used to much at one time but want to redo right

Sean
Sean
2 years ago

Help! Applied one coat of wet look sealer over Behr concrete & garage epoxy (black) and it left white patches that are extremely visible. I called Behr and they said I can just repaint black epoxy over the wet look within 48 hours and it should stick. Is this true? Can I repaint the black epoxy over the one coat of wet look sealer or do I need to chemically strip before painting?

dale
dale
3 years ago

Used an airless sprayer with a 13 thousandth tip and had good results. Sprayed thin coats. Waited until the sun was off the pavers around 6 p.m. so no problems with drying. 2 coats looks beautiful.

Lisa
Lisa
3 years ago

I need to remove the 1 coat of Behr Premium Wet Look Sealer that is milky in in the lap lines.
Will the Clemons Concrete Sealer Stripper remove the 2 coats of Epoxy that I just completed painting 2 days ago. How do I strip the sealer without removing the Epoxy? Is that even possible?

HWB von Richter
HWB von Richter
3 years ago

Behr Sealer works great. You can’t apply it above 80 degrees and close to 80 then work fast. Using a roller is non-sense also. Just use a sprayer and a broom. The sprayer to add then the broom to spread and thin. It goes on milky white then goes into a perfect shine. Wait 24 hours then apply 2nd coat. Perfect. Wait 3 days before heavy use. Not sure why people apply 2nd coats a few hours later. Duh. Read the directions. Did concrete for years. This worked well on the job and at home projects. Not sure why the… Read more »

Kevin Hepler
Kevin Hepler
3 years ago

BEHR PREMIUM® WET-LOOK SEALER- I did the edges first with a brush and it looked great. When I applied the rest of the floor with a nap roller, it dried milky which means I over applied it. However, the roller has to be pretty saturated to distribute the sealer.

If this milky sheen does not fade to clear, how do I remove it?

Kevin Hepler
Kevin Hepler
3 years ago

What kind of chemical stripper should I use?

Mr. Tim
Mr. Tim
3 years ago
Reply to  Kevin Hepler

Behr is a water based sealer, so the only reason for it to be white is that it hasn’t properly cured.You may have over applied it but that may not be the entire problem. Good luck stripping it off. You will be making pass after pass. This Behr stuff with the blue label that is water based “wet look” sealer is a nightmare. Why two reputable companies like Behr and Home Depot continue to sell it is truly a mystery.

Canadian
Canadian
4 years ago

After some trial and error this product worked extremely well when spray with a high quality pump sprayer.
The pictures show the difference the sealer makes as the stamped concrete in the foreground is not complete yet.
Very important to spray lightly, bankroll and repeat. Do not apply to thick or product will dry milky.

image.jpg
image.jpg
0D986298-716C-4158-8A57-7E8E3071A318.jpeg
Wes
Wes
4 years ago

We stained our concrete than applied the wet look sealer… Apparently our dogs urinated on it, and it has left a stain that I can not clean up.. it’s almost as if the sealant absorbed the urine.. HELP!

Bruce
Bruce
4 years ago

How does the Behr Wet Look go on a polished concrete bar top? I have polished to a 1500 finish and we want the wet look on the top.

Bryan Aldrich
Bryan Aldrich
4 years ago

I applied the sealer yesterday to our stamped concrete patio. Today, the sealer is still visible as an ugly, white, streaky coating. I’ve never had this happen before (used it for years). What can I do to remedy this? The sealer is completely dry.

Sandra
Sandra
4 years ago

After putting on the Behr wet look and added another coat hrs later and how it looks milky white. How do I get rid of it?

Randy Pugh
Randy Pugh
4 years ago

Can I add color to the sealer to help match older concrete to newer concrete?

Tony C.
Tony C.
4 years ago

Can the wet sealer apply on top of painted concrete?

Tanya
Tanya
4 years ago
Reply to  Tony C.

I did & a year later it looks great – acrylic with acrylic.

Laura Weisel
Laura Weisel
4 years ago

We have a ‘hand made tile’ floor. It was constantly dull and ratty looking. We used Behr’s Wet-look Sealer and the tile looks fabulous. Our questions is: What can we wash our floor with after it has been sealed? We want to keep the wet-look and we don’t want to have the tiles go dull again. There are no follow-up instructions on the plastic packaging – please advise.

James
James
4 years ago

I applied this to a knock down texture deck and have milky white stains at lap areas and random areas. Will these areas eventually dry over time?

Barbara Lovendahl
Barbara Lovendahl
5 years ago

Stay away from this sealer. It ruined a 10,000.00 patio! So upset. I do not recommend and Behr needs to stop selling this product!

John Wood Sr
John Wood Sr
5 years ago

After 3 coats still doesn’t have the wet shiny look. Very disappointed in the appearance on our pavers. Behr description for wet look is very misleading.

DAN
DAN
5 years ago

I SEALED MY PAVERS AROUND POOL BOUT A WEEK AGO.. IT IS SLICK WHEN WET IT DID NOT SAY ANYTHING ON THE BUCKET ABOUT IT BEING SLICK IF WET I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT MY GRANDDAUGHTERS SLIPPING AND FALLING..DOES IT GET UNSLICK? I AM IN FLORIDA..I USED 2 COATS LOOKS GOOD BUT WORRIED

Dan
Dan
5 years ago

you should put that on the info. I bought 10 gallons..the last sealer I used was not slick…you do not have any warning on the bucket..you should develop sealer that isn’t slick..looks good but now I have ti fugure out how to unslick it beings it is by a pool…Never thought I would see Behr put out a crappy product.. I have used your paint for 30 yrs…..All of your reviews most are negative…on the sealer…..first time I didn’t check reviews..i wouldn’t have bout your sealer….i’ll probably bring suit against Behr is one of my family members falls and breaks… Read more »

Dennis DiIorio
Dennis DiIorio
3 years ago

It tells you NOT to use it around a pool right on by the container.

paula
paula
5 years ago

My wet look sealer from Behr turned yellow within 20 minutes after spraying it on my white painted concrete .
Terrible. Look like I have dog pee on concrete . Very disappointed.

james
james
3 years ago
Reply to  paula

how did you fix it? my white concrete just did the same

Geoff
Geoff
5 years ago

This product is garbage. Not reliable. Used two years ago and it worked fine.. this year it’s a white filmy mess. Why does Home Depot sell a product like this.
Needs to be taken off market now!

Warren
Warren
6 years ago

Applied to Cast in Place Colored Concrete Curbing around landscape bed, the concrete was mixed on site with dark brown pigment. Waited for 30 day cure (+40 days), my concrete was slightly lighter after dry and cured BUT the color was consistent and texture was smooth troweled. OK the product was applied clean and dry in great weather condition, But the product absorbed at an inconsistent rate or something but I ended up with light and dark swaths along the entire 310 linear feet, I followed the instructions to a crazy degree and it still looks blotchy, waited 4 hours… Read more »

Debra
Debra
6 years ago

We applied this sealer over brand-new porcelain tile 3 years ago throughout our new Florida home Now, the sealer is yellowing, peeling off and retaining dirt. We tried to have Stanley Steemer come and clean the floors, but the tech said his steam and chemicals would turn the sealer into a gel and muck up his machine. He said this wasn’t the first time he’d seen this kind of problem with this product. He recommended a floor-stripping company to remove the sealer product completely. We are having that done this week. The cost? $1100 for the whole house, which I… Read more »

Mike
Mike
6 years ago

Put it on my clean etched concrete floor, half of it came out clear and half of it turned gray.Wished I had read the reviews before buying

Dave
Dave
6 years ago

After reading the reviews for this product I have a few tips for application. I applied this over an acrylic polymer grey floor paint on 28 day old concrete garage floor. I tried a garden sprayer, but the product is too thick for even application, so I used the recommended roller. Apply coats Thin! If you keep the coats thin, the milky appearance goes away when drying. On the final coat, I took a spray bottle filled with warm water and misted each section immediately after rolling it on (thicker than the previous coat). Be conservative with the water… When… Read more »

Stevielack
Stevielack
6 years ago

Turned milky white when it dried, horrible product. I followed the directions exactly.

Angelo martinez
Angelo martinez
6 years ago

Product is terrible! Applied to colored concrete and it rolled on purple. In some spots it dried clear. Most of it had a purple tint or haze to it. Clean up very hard! It said soap and water works. That's not true. I scrubbed it with a brush and it didn't come off. Do not buy this product! It's a scam! Very unhappy with product! This company needs to stick to house painting only!

Kathy
Kathy
6 years ago

The fireplace inside our house is made from same brick used on the outside. I applied Behr wet look sealer 10 years ago and it still has the same wet shiny appearance as when I originally applied it. I think most of the problems I read about dealt with pavers or concrete that is walked on etc regularly. My problem is I cannot find a good solution for REMOVING it from the inside brick. I'd just like to change the look using a lime wash which will not work correctly with sealer on it. Any good advice on how to… Read more »

Chuck Premone
Chuck Premone
6 years ago

Horrible product. Stay away from it. Dries milky white. You will have to strip it off literally.

AlanD
AlanD
6 years ago

The Behr concrete sealer was applied correctly and ruined our stamped concrete sidewalk. It turned white and looks horrible! I wish I would I have read the bad comments first, I would have never purchased this. We can't even sit in our gazebo and look at it with It getting very upset!

George
George
7 years ago

You can't apply in direct sunlight. If applying in direct sunlight it may bubble. If applied to thick or over applied it wil result in milky cloudy appearance. That's why I think the directions say a light coating. More isn't always better. It has been on my patio for two years and still looks great.

Pete Ruiz
Pete Ruiz
3 years ago
Reply to  George

Yesss

rjo
rjo
7 years ago

WOW… BEWARE
You guys all experienced the same results i have.
Milky white spots that do not go away.
Ruined my beautiful living and dining room floors!.

Jerry
Jerry
7 years ago

This is absolutely the worst sealing product on the market. We applied it carefully following all instructions. It turned our stamped concrete patio into a horrible blotchy white mess. The patio is ruined and no one knows how to get the stuff off of it. The patio is adjacent to a lake and we cannot use chemicals. Media blasting will ruin the stamped concrete and its specially tinted colors. The only recommendation is to totally replace the patio. Behr nor Home Depot will do anything, so we're going to court.

Jeff
Jeff
7 years ago

Went on milky . Dried milky . After couple weeks anything hits it the finish and stain peels off .. We paid top price for Behr and it's horrible ., should have read reviews !!

Tommy Melton
Tommy Melton
7 years ago

Turned my pavers milky white like everybody else, pretty much ruining a $20,000 pool outdoor kitchen project. Why would Home Depot continue to sell this crap. The bad reviews go back years. Home Depot and Behr had better get together on this and take care of my problem or I'll seek legal action. This is being totally irresponsible and somebody is going to fix this garbage !!!!!

Gussie Roberts
Gussie Roberts
7 years ago

This sealer has disappointed me greatly it has turned my floor milky white it has done nothing but created more work and cost me more money and time I would have rated it a -10 if it gave me that option we spends so much time effort and money getting our concrete floor prepared for and stained to have the final step come in and ruin everything with bad name brand sealer

stone cold
stone cold
7 years ago

I worked hours and hours and hours of overtime to save for a stone floor. It was beautiful and vibrant until this nasty sealer went on it. It has only one coat and still looks like spilled milk and vomit. The stones look lost in the concrete. And only three months old, the sealer is chipping as well. I hate I ever used it. What a horrible experience.

Mike K
Mike K
7 years ago

Product lasted about 2 years. It was very slick. I put the sand in it to add traction. I was always scared someone would fall.The job the contractor did was not uniform. One section is scaling very bad. Other sections look very good. I have pressure washed it a couple of times and I am ready to try the SuperSeal30 with the grip material. Hope it works better.

darin rogers
darin rogers
8 years ago

dried with white shadow and streaks applied with 3/8 nap roller 70 degrees

Virginia
Virginia
8 years ago

This is terrible product, the stone patio looks worse than before, it has a milky white coat and not even. Could anyone advise on how to remove it? It s mentioned chemically, but what should we use? Thanks

Belinda
Belinda
8 years ago

Extremely poor product -just finished putting glosser on and my floor looks milky. Horrible!!!!!! I rate this product -1

RLH
RLH
8 years ago

Followed directions to a tee. Behr wet look concrete sealer is white milky in large patches and splotchy at best in most areas. Just a mess!!

Bubba
Bubba
9 years ago

LAWDY!!!!!mImwish I could have read the reviews BEFORE using Behr's Acrylic Wet Look Sealer on my expansive stamped cement patio. Did it last weekend and followed the instructions verbatim. Results? All milky white and strips. UnFreaking believable!!! Dear Behr's…WHY do you continue to manufacturer a product that is undoubtedly inferior, has received multiple reports anout ots inferior results???? We purchased a 5 gallon bucket and spent a ton of money only to end up with these disasterous results!! If ANYONE and recommend a sealer remover I would be eternally grateful. Read Behr's representative reply suggesting a Behr's #992. However I'll… Read more »

Hal
Hal
9 years ago

I applied the Behr Wet Look sealer yesterday to a paver brick patio that had never been sealed previously and I am very pleased with the results so far. The patio glistens in the sun today and the sealer brought out the colors in the brick. I applied the sealer using an inexpensive hand pump sprayer and backrolled for an even spread. I followed the directions by making sure the patio was dry before applying, I did not apply in direct sunlight, and there was no rain forecasted for at least 24 hours.

john
john
9 years ago

same thing with me turned white…..they should stop making BEUR WET_LOOK SEALER

Karla Pamer
Karla Pamer
9 years ago

Well add me to this group of dissatisfied Behr Wet Look sealer users. My newly stained patio looked fabulous until the sealer. Approximately 50% looks decent and the other 50% has large milky haze and/or white marks that look like chalk marks! I am so disappointed. I am going back to Home Depot with the partially used and unused containers. I want my money back and some resolve. Wish me luck.

112
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x