Best Brick Paver Sealer Reviews 2022  4.9/5 (667)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on May 17th, 2022

What is the Best Brick Paver Sealer – Updated 2022

Brick Paver Sealer

Brick Paver Sealer

2022 is here and time to review and apply a new Brick Paver Sealer. This article is our top Paver Sealer article on our Review site and there have been over 6000 Questions and Answers and 650 Consumer Reviews on this topic.

Need Help Finding the Best Brick Paver Sealer?

If you need advice on what is the Best Brick Paver Sealer for you, please ask below in the comment area at the bottom.


Brick Paver Patios and landscaping blocks have become increasingly popular in the last 10-20 years. They offer an alternative to regular plain white concrete by adding old world charm, which resembles walkways and streets of the 19th century. Brick Paver patios can be customized to be designed for any area. They are very popular for driveways, walkways, around pools, etc. Of course, with any exterior horizontal surface, there is a need for general maintenance with brick pavers by cleaning and sealing on a regular basis.

Brick paver sealers are water repellents and coatings that are specifically designed to be used on paver stones and blocks.

Brick Paver Sealers have 3 major functions:

  • Seal and protect the pavers from UV degradation and fading.
  • Enhance the pavers by either adding a wet look, shine, or both.
  • Solidify or stabilizing the jointing sand in between the individual stones

Top 5 Paver Sealer Ratings in 2022

Super Seal 30 Paver Sealer Review

Super Seal 30 Paver Sealer Review

1. Super Seal 30 – Best Glossy Paver Sealer

SuperSeal30 is a Higher Gloss Concrete Sealer that can be used for many types of concrete surfaces. SuperSeal30 is very popular for Brick Paver Patios, Driveways, Walkways, etc. This sealer will darken the appearance and leave a higher gloss shine.

Where To Find On Google: SuperSeal30 Paver Sealer
Sealer Type: Solvent-based breathable styrene-acrylic sealer
Wet Look: Deep Wet Look
Shine Level: Higher Gloss
Joint Stabilization: Yes
ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a scale of 1-10): 8.60
See Super Seal 30 Paver Sealer Review Here: Super Seal 30 Gloss

Super Seal 25 Paver Sealer Review

Super Seal 25 Paver Sealer Review

2. Super Seal 25 Semi-Gloss – Best Overall Paver Sealer

Similar to the SuperSeal30, SuperSeal25 is a Semi-Gloss Paver Sealer that can be used for Brick Paver Patios, Walkways, Driveways, etc. This sealer will darken the appearance and leave a shine similar to a semi-gloss. The SuperSeal25 is a 25% solid solvent based breathable acrylic sealer and curing compound.

Where To Find On Google: SuperSeal25 Semi-Gloss Sealer
Sealer Type: Solvent-based breathable styrene-acrylic sealer
Wet Look: Deep Wet Look
Shine Level: Semi-Gloss
Joint Stabilization: Yes
ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a scale of 1-10): 8.40
See Super Seal 25 Paver Sealer Review Here: Super Seal 25 Gloss

Supreme Shield SB-600 Paver Sealer Review

Supreme Shield SB-600 Paver Sealer Review

3. Supreme Shield SB-600 – Best Wet Look Paver Sealer

SUPREME SHIELD SB is a solvent-based penetrating sealer designed for stamped concrete, concrete pavers, and other porous concrete surfaces. Application of SUPREME SHIELD SB will enhance the color and give the wet look without adding the gloss and plastic look associated with other traditional film-forming sealers. Once treated, the surface repels water and oil to prevent staining.

Where To Find On Google: Supreme Shield SB-600
Sealer Type: Solvent-based breathable styrene-acrylic sealer
Wet Look: Deep Wet Look
Shine Level: No Gloss or Shine
Joint Stabilization: Small amount
ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a scale of 1-10): 9.0
See Supreme Shield SB-600 Paver Sealer Review Here: Supreme Shield SB-600

MasonrySaver Paver Sealer Review

MasonrySaver Paver Sealer Review

4. Masonry Saver Paver Sealer – Best Water-Based Paver Sealer

MasonrySaver (Also known as Defy) Epoxy Fortified Paver Sealer is a durable, water-based, clear wet-look concrete sealant designed to protect and beautify both clay brick and cement patio type paver stones, giving them a rich satin finish while also functioning as a paver sand sealer.

Where To Find On Google: Defy MasonrySaver Paver Sealer
Sealer Type: Water-based breathable acrylic sealer
Wet Look: Adequate Wet Look
Shine Level: Satin Shine
Joint Stabilization: Yes
ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a scale of 1-10): 8.0
See Masonry Saver Paver Sealer Review Here: Masonry Saver Paver Sealer

SB-6000 Paver Sealer Review

SB-6000 Paver Sealer Review

5. Surebond SB-6000 – Best Water-Based Wet Look Paver Sealer

SB-6000 Wet Look Sealer seals and enhances the natural colors of treated surfaces with a luxurious, wet look. It is breathable and will not trap naturally occurring efflorescence, allowing it to be applied immediately after paving stones are installed. SB-6000 Wet Look Sealer improves surface durability and freeze-thaw resistance while protecting the surface from salt, acid, and staining. SB-6000 Wet Look Sealer is a water-based, exterior quality, epoxy modified surface sealer.

Where To Find On Google: SB-6000 Wet Look Sealer
Sealer Type: Wet-Look water-based, epoxy modified
Wet Look: Adequate Wet Look
Shine Level: No shine
Joint Stabilization: No
ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a scale of 1-10): 7.4
See Surebond SB-600 Paver Sealer Review Article: Surebond SB-6000


Best Brick Paver Sealer to use in 2022?

Well, there isn’t one that stands out from the rest for all scenarios. To determine what paver sealer is best you must first understand the differences between the paver sealers and what you would like to achieve when done.

Solid Acrylics vs Breathable (Styrene) Acrylics Paver Sealer

When choosing a paver sealer is best to understand that not all acrylics are created equal. There are many paver sealers that contain inferior acrylics that will blush to turn white in color. Notably Behr Wet Look Sealer and H&C Water-based sealer. Best for a paver sealer is one that does not seal the surface 100% but rather breathes. These sealers are less prone to trapping moisture, which may lead to the dreaded white haze. Most high-quality water-based sealers will not blush as they are thinner in viscosity. Solvent-based sealers containing a solid acrylic will have a tendency to blush/turn white. If you choose a solvent-based sealer, make sure that it is a “Styrene” acrylic as these have tiny pinholes that allow the coating to breathe.

Solvent Based Paver Sealers

Traditionally, these are the most popular and have been around for the longest time. These paver sealers are typically high in acrylic solids and will darken the surface. Available in Matte, Semi-Gloss, and High Gloss shine. Due to changes in many state’s VOC laws, solvent-based sealers may not be available locally but rather purchased online.

Crystal clear in liquid form. Popular solvents are Xylene, Toluene, and other Aromatic Solvents.

Pros: Last about 2+ years. Darken the color more so than water-based sealers. Add a higher level of gloss if desired. Typically only one coat is needed. A higher level of protection against UV degradation and fading. Better for vehicle traffic.

Cons: It May need to be rolled on as many cannot be sprayed (too thick). It will not solidify joint sand as well as a water-based version. Square footage is less, typically about 100-125 sq. feet per gallon.

Top Solvent-Based Paver Sealers

  1. Super Seal 30
  2. Super Seal 25
  3. Supreme Shield SB-600

Water-Based Paver Sealers

Water-based versions of paver sealers have been forced on the scene in the last 5-10 years due to low VOC (volatile organic compounds) laws. Currently, there are over 16 states in the US that restrict the availability of solvent-based sealers. Water-based sealers still contain acrylics but will have a lower solid content.

Milky white in liquid form that dries clear.

Pros: Easily applied with a garden-type pump sprayer. Will penetrate better into the substrate and sand joints. It hardens jointing sand better. Square footage is better than solvent-based sealers. Typically 150-200 sq. feet per gallon.

Cons: Multiple coats are needed. Will not darken as deeply or leave a high gloss like a solvent-based paver sealer. Medium level of protection from UV degradation and fading. Softer acrylics can be prone to tire marks on a hot day.

Top Water-Based Paver Sealers

  1. Masonry Saver Paver Sealer
  2. Surebond SB-6000

Joint Sand Stabilizing Paver Sealer

A side function of paver sealing is the ability to help solidify or stabilize the jointing sand from erosion. While most paver sealers will do this to some extent, some are designed specifically for this purpose. Examples: SB-1300 and SB-7000.

Top Joint Sand Stabilizing Sealer Paver Sealer

  1. Super Seal 25
  2. Super Seal 30
  3. Surebond SB-1300 Joint Stabilizing Sealer
  4. Surebond SB-7000 Joint Stabilizing Sealer

Wet Look Paver Sealers

“Wet look” sometimes gets confused with “gloss”. Using a paver sealer that will leave a “wet look” means you are darkening the surface similar to as if it was wet with water. These sealers may or may not contain a shine level of some sort.

Top Wet Look/No Gloss Paver Sealer

  1. Supreme Shield SB-600
  2. Surebond SB-6000

Gloss Paver Sealers

Gloss sealers will add a shine to the surface ranging from matte to high gloss. In most scenarios, you will also darken the pavers with a wet look. These sealers may be prone to being slippery when wet.

Top Gloss Paver Sealers

  1. Super Seal 30 Higher Gloss
  2. Super seal 25 Semi-Gloss

Need Help on Finding the Best Brick Paver Sealer?

Hopefully, you now have a better understanding of the different types of paver sealers that are available. If you would like help choosing a paver sealer please answer these questions in the comment area below:

  1. Wet Look? Yes or No
  2. No Gloss, Matte, Semi-Gloss, High Gloss
  3. Joint Stabilization Importance? Yes or No
  4. Easily applied? Yes or No
  5. Small description of an area that sealer will be applied to. Examples: Patio, Driveway, Pool Deck, etc

Answer 5 Questions in Comment Area to find the Best Paver Sealer for you!

Best Brick Paver Sealer Photos

The Best Brick Paver Sealers Video

The Best Brick Paver Sealing Application Video


Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
6.4K Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Danielle Baez
Danielle Baez
1 hour ago

Wet look – yes (most color enhancement too)
Would like a gloss to enhance colors
Yes, will be using a polymer sand
Best way to apply to do the best job
Driveway, walkway to front door, additional parking pad

We have Gem pavers we sealed them about 4-5 years ago only 1 x

We live in hot sunny south Florida, so ideal time to apply would be helpful. Also, to make sure we don’t get efflorescence on our bricks. Thank you!!

Jackie
Jackie
2 days ago

I have Pennsylvania slate pavers with a polymeric sand in the joints. I want to harden the sand joints and protect the stone from moss/green algae. we get humid summers and very hard rain and cold snow winters. Can I use this product ? which one?
Wet look? No
Gloss level: Matte
Joint Stabilization? Yes
Easily Applied? Yes, Hand sprayer .
Thank You

Jackie
Jackie
2 days ago

will this harden the sand that is in the joints? I want to ensure that the sand does not wash away.

Katy
Katy
4 days ago

Wet Look? Yes
Matte to semi gloss
Joint Stabilization Importance? Yes
Easily applied? Yes
Small description:
New pool pavers, and existing stamped concrete patio (that I plan on stripping with the mentioned product) I would like to have one product to use on both areas. I have sealed the patio each year x 5 yrs and am not happy with the results. Looking forward to trying a new prdt.
Roughly 1500 sq ft

Pat
Pat
6 days ago

Where can I get a sample of the super – 30 to check if this has the look we are looking for.

Pat
Pat
6 days ago

Looking at sidewalk sealer that won’t turn milky.
Wet look
high gloss
high sand joint sealer.
what do recommend.

Steve
Steve
10 days ago

Wet look? No
Gloss level: Matte
Joint Stabilization? Yes
Easily Applied? Yes, Hand sprayer or roller.
Area to be applied: 200 SF Patio. Full sun exposure in summer with lots of rainy weather from Nov to June. Vancouver Island BC Can

Sasan
Sasan
14 days ago

Wet look? yes
Gloss level: Absolutely NO gloss
Joint Stabilization? Yes (preferably)
Easily Applied? yes, ( prefer using 4-gallon Ryobi sprayer, if possible, but can roll if needed)
Area: 1400 SF of Driveway & porch ( high sun exposure, central Florida) 4-month old

Last edited 14 days ago by Sasan
Sasan
Sasan
14 days ago

Thank you 🙏

Mheelis
Mheelis
14 days ago

Wet look
low gloss
joint stabilization yes
application with pump sprayer and roller
resealing pool deck, patio and numerous walkways
live in sw Florida on a canal

William Donner
William Donner
21 days ago

Wet look – Yes
Semi-gloss
Joint stabilization – Yes
Easily applied – Yes. Will be using a roller
This is for a new paver patio, ~250 sq ft in Orlando, Fl. In sun about half the day. Also a lot of tree debris possible.

Laura Buttars
Laura Buttars
21 days ago

Wet Look: Yes. (would love to deepen the colors)
No Gloss or Matte
Stabilization- would be nice but not as important
Easily Applied- would be nice
Brand new paver patio that will get sun most of the day. Also is access to a hot tub so something that isn’t slippery is important.

Laura
Laura
21 days ago

Thanks! I was wondering if you guys have reviewed Techniseal products? Belgard pavers recommends Techniseal sealers. I was wondering how it would compare to the one you recommended above?

Also does the “wet look/no gloss” wear down in high traffic areas similar to how a shiny sealer would?

Last edited 21 days ago by Laura
Kathy
Kathy
22 days ago

Wet look Yes
matte
stabilization Yes- not a deal breaker
easily applied Definitely
20 yr old paver patio with lots of sun. Never sealed before

Darlene Fragale
Darlene Fragale
25 days ago

Best Sealer for:
Wet Look -Yes
No Gloss
Stabilization – Yes
Easy to apply- Yes
Patio under pergola 21’x23’

Lee
Lee
27 days ago

Wet Look? Yes
No Gloss or Matte
Joint Stabilization Importance? Yes
Easily applied? Yes
Description of Area: Patio gets morning sun. Front porch and steps get afternoon sun.

Michelle
Michelle
1 month ago

Wet look? Yes, but doesn’t matter too much. Matte or Semi Gloss Yes – would rather use a roller Yes – I also have pets & would like a product that ‘cures’ somewhat quickly. 300 sq. foot brand new paver patio. Patio faces south…so gets sun almost all day. Also get a lot of tree debris (leaves, seeds etc.) from neighbors. Do not want anything that gets slippery. I’m in WI, the weather goes from extreme cold to hot! How often would your recommendation need to be applied? I’d rather not have to apply every year. When reapplying, does the patio… Read more »

Allyn McNaughton
Allyn McNaughton
1 month ago
  1. Wet Look? don’t care
  2. No Gloss or Matte
  3. Joint Stabilization Importance? Yes
  4. Easily applied? Yes
  5. Small description of an area: brand new unilock pavers in back patio. Salt water hot tub on pavers. Primary focus is I do not want to make it slippery and I want to protect it from salt water
Theresa
Theresa
1 month ago

Wet look – Yes
Gloss: No; matte or semi (flexible, but don’t want anything that will become slippery). Definitely do not want high gloss
Joint stabilization – yes, important to me (would like to know the rating on these)
Easily applied – Yes
Outdoor – patio, sidewalk and steps (brick pavers)

Would also like to know what is involved in follow up treatments in subsequent years. Do you need to use the same sealant? What are the limitations to sealing and the considerations to the “next time” application? How long should this last?

Don Harrington
Don Harrington
1 month ago

Wet Look – No
Semi-GLoss Finish
Joint Stabilization – Yes
Easily Applied – Yes
Brick Paver Driveway & Patio
Recommendation please. Thanks.

Mike
Mike
1 month ago

Wet Look – Yes
Matte Finish
Joint Stabilization – No
Easily Applied – Yes
Brick Paver Driveway & Patio
Recommendation please. Thanks.

Karthik
Karthik
1 month ago

Wet
Matte
yes
yes
1000 sq backyard patio paver stone

Kathy
Kathy
1 month ago

No wet look
matte
yes
yes
pavers on porch and walkway
what do you recommend

Lisa Renteria
Lisa Renteria
1 month ago

We have a paver basketball court that will hold a 10ft diameter pool in the summer. We want a wet look with semi gloss and self leveling sealer. Preferably easy to apply. Protect against sun and water.

Tina
Tina
1 month ago

We do not want a glossy look as it will back up to stained concrete that is old and only darkens with rain (would nit mind sealing that as well but don’t know how to tell if it needs stained first looks good when ur rains????
Matt finish at best for the pavers
Yes on setting the sand
What do you recommend ? Need lots!

Michael j
Michael j
1 month ago

Wet look, semi gloss, yes, yes, surrounding pool patio (Cambridge pavers 1000sqft)

Shane
Shane
1 month ago

I have a thin brick floor in my mud room and need to seal it. I want to keep the color as true as it is now and also seal the brick and grout so the sand will stop. Is it best to use a penetrating sealant or a film forming one? I don’t mind if the color richens a bit but I do not want it shiny.
My main thing is the seal it for protection and also definitely to stop the annoying sand that gets everywhere. What do you recommend as my best option? Thanks

Mary
Mary
1 month ago

Best sealer for our paver patio?????

Adam
Adam
1 month ago
  1. Wet Look? Yes
  2. Semi-Gloss
  3. Joint Stabilization Importance? Somewhat
  4. Easily applied? Yes
  5. Patio that doesn’t see lots of sun. Lots of cool damp/weather, lots of moss growth (Pacific Northwest). Anything suitable for this climate would be a big plus.
Adam
Adam
1 month ago

Thanks! Any different thoughts if the wet look isn’t necessary?

Vadie
Vadie
1 month ago

How do you get sealer off if it turns white

Craig Wilcox
Craig Wilcox
1 month ago

Please could you anyone give me advice on the best sealer to use on a brick patio and pathway. We have used 1930’s imperial clay bricks from our chimney breast and other internal walls. We have also used engineering blues for the edges. Any advice would be grateful.

Thera
Thera
2 months ago

I’d like to seal my pavers but am concerned about creating a water runoff problem on a sloping walkway that has no special drainage treatments. Do any of the sealers provide stain protection and joint stabilization without creating a water barrier surface? Would prefer a wet-look treatment but runoff concerns are a bigger factor than finish or water- versus solvent-based. This is for a large patio and walkway in the Pacific Northwest, where we have dark/wet winters and long dry days in the summer. Thank you!

Jackie
Jackie
2 months ago

Wet look? No
Semi-gloss
Joint stabilization is important
Easily applied? Yes
Patio

Veronica
Veronica
2 months ago

Wet Look? Yes
Semi-Gloss or High Gloss
Joint Stabilization Importance? Yes
Easily applied? Yes
Small description of an area that sealer will be applied to. Examples: Driveway (paver), and Pool Deck (travertine),

Toney
Toney
2 months ago

Wet look Y, No gloss, Joint stabilization N, Easy application Y, covered patio 30ftx9ft

Tkuztum
Tkuztum
2 months ago

No,Matte,No,Yes
Pool deck very large area 4500sf
South Florida full sun
Fire ants
1yr old Tremron beach walk

Tkuztum
Tkuztum
2 months ago
Reply to  Tkuztum

I’m sorry, wet look yes.

Rob
Rob
2 months ago

Wet Look? Yes
No Gloss or Matte
Joint Stabilization Importance? Yes
Easily applied? Yes
400 SF Patio installed Sept. 2021

Rob
Rob
2 months ago

Rethinking the wet look question…
If we do NOT want the wet look, but still want matt/low gloss finish
Want Joint Stabilization
and easy application (preferably water based)
Is that just Super Seal M?

Richard
Richard
2 months ago

This is for sealing to keep water off/from absorbing through the top surface of a wall cap made from Belgard concrete paver slabs. The rest of the questions are all less important and I can be flexible. Thanks

Geno Symborski
Geno Symborski
2 months ago

Wet look. Yes. High gloss joint stabilization yes. Easily applied yes driveway

Greg S
Greg S
2 months ago

Wet look-No
Finish- No Gloss
Joint stabilization-No
Easy applied-Yes
80% concrete pavers 20% flat concrete driveway.

Joseph Simpson
Joseph Simpson
2 months ago

have block landscape pavers that are painted with valspar duramax exterior paint, what type of sealer would I need

Paula Hill
Paula Hill
2 months ago
  1. Wet Look? No
  2. Matte
  3. Joint Stabilization Importance? No
  4. Easily applied? Yes
  5. Small description of an area that sealer will be applied to….pool deck and rock wall for water fall
Gary Smith
Gary Smith
3 months ago

Hello from south Naples,
Just finished power washing and sanding concrete pavers (somewhat porous) in pool area. Would like to brighten pavers as well as joint stabilization. Need to be sure the product used does not create a slippery surface, grandchildren have a habit of running.
Whichever, water base or solvent based will preform best not a concern.
Someone suggested Sherrington Williams, I do not have any experiences to relate to and there is SOOO much info out there its easy to have a “Head Spin”.
Please respond your recommendation.

Gary Smith
Gary Smith
3 months ago

Great, thanks for the recommendation.
Now the tough one, anyone know where to buy Super Seal 25 in the Naples area?

M thomas
M thomas
3 months ago

Hi!
Wet Look? Yes
Semi-Gloss to High Gloss
Joint Stabilization Importance? Yes
Easily applied? Yes
Small description of an area that sealer will be applied to….Patio and covered lanai in northern Florida

M thomas
M thomas
3 months ago

Thank you! Also, I had previously put down Eagle semi gloss sealer (not very good after a couple months)…do I need to use some type of cleaner to srip it off? Or can I just powerwash (sand if needed) and then put down the SS 30? Appreciate your help!

M thomas
M thomas
3 months ago

Great! Thank you.

Sue
Sue
3 months ago

Did I lose my comments?

Sue
Sue
3 months ago

1. Wet look not necessary
2. Matte
3. Yes Important
4. Medium
5. Exterior Walkway in SW Florida, full sun exposure

Color of pavers is Palm Island

Nancy
Nancy
4 months ago

What is best wb breatheable acrylic sealer for new flagstone paver driveway in florida? What % of solids is best? How long does it last? Wet look or matte finish

Andre
Andre
4 months ago

Wet look? No
Semi Gloss
Joint Stabilization? Yes
Easily Applied? No
Area: Patio and Pool area

I also get mold and weeds growing in between the bricks. Help!!

Duncan
Duncan
4 months ago

Any recommendations for a brick paver sealer that does not result in a slippery surface when wet or with snow on it?

Steve Heacock
Steve Heacock
4 months ago

Wet Look? No
No Gloss or matte not decided
Joint Stabilization Importance? Yes
Easily applied? Not an issue
Small description of an area that sealer will be applied to. SW Florida driveway pavers beveled edges

Richard
Richard
4 months ago

I have old gray concrete pavers which have faded and want to bring them back to life and solidify sand joints …I live in Florida…I like the water to bead and would like to get 3 years out of sealing…any recommendations

Denise
Denise
4 months ago

I had a large patio laid with clay bricks they look a lovely deep red when wet but when they dry out they are very patchy and lose their colour, can you suggest a sealant that may bring the colour back, I do not want any shine

Maxine
Maxine
4 months ago

Please advise if you can give me the price and name of the liquid to use to bring back my pavers to renew

F0EC39D7-A1A6-41D5-875C-32CF9FA0E9A6.jpeg
Maxine
Maxine
4 months ago

So can you refer me to someone that can assist, what’s the sense of having a comment column when we can’t get assistant

6.4K
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x