Best Sealer for Brick Walls 2022  4.7/5 (81)

This post was most recently updated on July 22nd, 2022

What is the Best Sealer for Brick Walls Update

Concrete Sealer Review remains a trusted resource for concrete sealer tips and reviews through 2022 and beyond. In this updated article, we discuss the qualities to look for when choosing a sealer for brick walls. If you have questions about the best sealer for brick walls, we want to hear from you! Feel free to leave us a comment with some pictures below.


Brick Wall Sealer

Brick Wall Sealer

Best Sealer for Brick Walls to Prevent Water Penetration

Bricks are used for many aspects of construction. They are considered as one of the strongest and longest-lasting building materials in history. Bricks can be made of clay, concrete, stone, ceramic, or lime and sand. Like other exterior building materials, a brick wall should be sealed to slow the effects of weathering. When moisture is allowed to penetrate the brick, the damaging effects can cause cracking, breaking, crumbling, and efflorescence problems.

Sealing Brick Walls

Sealing a brick wall will lock out unwelcome moisture and protect the bricks and mortar joints from damage. Unless you want to purposely change the appearance, the best sealer for brick walls is a non-gloss penetrating clear sealer. A siloxane-based formula like Masonry Saver Water Repellent or SuperSeal-M will penetrate deeply into most masonry brick walls for optimal protection.

The best sealer for brick walls should be breathable but will not promote peeling or flaking. The siloxane-based brick wall sealers have active ingredients that penetrate the brick pores up to ¼ inch or more. This not only protects the brick wall but also will not alter its appearance of it.

When dealing with the best sealer for brick walls, try to steer clear of acrylics, silicones, and similar types of waterproofing sealers that linger on the surface. These brick wall sealers tend to trap moisture vapors and may promote efflorescence, mold, mildew, and other damaging effects.

Finding the best sealer for brick walls is the key to superb protection and increased longevity of all types of brick walls. Regular maintenance including cleaning and sealing a brick wall will ensure it will be a long-lasting building material that will not fail.

Top Brick Wall Sealer Ratings

Super Seal-M Water Repellent – Best Overall Brick Sealer

SuperSeal M Sealer Review

SuperSeal M Sealer Review

SUPER SEAL-M is a water-based water repellent made of a special hybrid of Silane and Siloxane. SUPER SEAL-M provides water repellency to porous construction materials such as bricks, stone, concrete blocks, mortar, and grout. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent Sealer are a mixture of different-size particles-some larger, some smaller to fill different size voids. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent can chemically react with the substrate, ensuring long-lasting performance.

Where To Find: SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Plaine Poured Concrete, Bricks, Brick and Chimney Walls, Masonry, Natural Stone
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200  sq. ft
Application Tools: Pump Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete Coatings
See Review Article Here: Super Seal-M Water Repellent Review

MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent – Best All-Purpose Concrete Sealer

Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Review

Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Review

MasonrySaver® (Also known as “Defy”) All-Purpose Heavy Duty Water Repellent is a modified siloxane-based product designed to penetrate deeply into most masonry and concrete pores. Unlike acrylics, silicones, and other waterproofing sealers that remain on the surface and trap water vapors, this masonry waterproofing product allows deep penetration of its active ingredient of up to 1/4 inch or more.

Where To Find: MasonrySaver (Defy) Heavy Duty Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Plain Poured Concrete, Brick, Masonry, Natural Stone, Brick and Chimney Walls
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 75-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Saver Systems
See Review Article Here: MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Review

Questions on Sealing Brick Walls? Please Ask Below.


Best Sealer for Brick Walls Video

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest

542 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Peter
Peter
2 days ago

Hi
Does the brick work need to be completely dry before you apply the sealant? Just wondering if i need to wait until summer.

matthewpartridge2088
matthewpartridge2088
7 days ago

What can i put on the inside of my brick walls to stop moisture coming through. The body corp wont allow anything to be applied externally.

Andre Baran
Andre Baran
13 days ago

Should 2 coats ofSuperSeal Brick M be applied to a brick wall? If so what is the time between coats. TIA

Andre Baran
Andre Baran
13 days ago

Sorry for the additional question please. If I desire to apply a second coat of SuperSeal Brick-M do I have to do it before a certain amount of time elapses to prevent the first coat from blocking the second? Is a second coat recommended or helpful?

Andre Baran
Andre Baran
14 days ago

Hi, two questions please. 10 years ago I used Thompsons Water Seal on a small section (6ft by 6 ft) of a brick wall. I now want to do the whole wall with a silane sealer. Can I remove enough of the Thompsons with mineral spirits or EC-1800 to be able to apply the silane sealer on that section?
Secondly, SuperSeal-M says it is composed of various sized particles. Will it clog up a pump up garden sprayer if used to apply it? TIA.

Serge Bobbera
Serge Bobbera
16 days ago

Hi, all our concrete block walls are already painted. Will SupaSeal-M penetrate the paintwork or does it need to be stripped off first?

HLT
HLT
18 days ago

What sealer for a 25 year old brick driveway that you don’t know if it has ever been sealed? Penetrating dealers say don’t use if previously sealed. Surface coat sealers say don’t use if not previously sealed (moisture forms under coat).

Lisa
Lisa
29 days ago

What sealer is best for a rendered wall. We get a lot of moisture on this wall

wilma motta
wilma motta
1 month ago

Hi I have a brick waterfall that runs 24/7. What do you recommend as the best sealer for this? Super seal m or masonry saver?
thanking you in advance

Vinny
Vinny
1 month ago

I want to build a shower stall of bricks. What are your suggestions?

Dan Smith
Dan Smith
1 month ago

A landscaper needs to add dirt over the brick that is above the foundation of my house in order to grade the water away, I think that brick should waterproofed first.
what do you think and what would you use to do this?

Deb Zinn
Deb Zinn
2 months ago

We have exposed the chimney inside the house. Someone told us we should put a sealer on it. Is that true, and if so, what?

Bill
Bill
2 months ago

I have an interior brick wall I want to seal mainly to avoid the dust that comes from the brick and protect it from spills etc. Best I can tell, the bricks were made around 1860, some of which seem quite soft. The room is vacant at present, but whatever I use has to be reasonably suitable for indoors. Suggestions? Thanks!

robert mann
robert mann
2 months ago

i have building side wall 48 sq metre. brick construction twine wall no cavity . there is possible damp or has been in past wish to protect the brick work and try to improve the heat retention. any recomendations will hand paint or spray thank you

sharon
sharon
3 months ago

we live in a flood prone area and have been flooded three times this year. The lowest room in the house is brick double in some places and single in others. I am trying to make this room as waterproof as possible by using flood barriers on the doors and sealing the bricks from the outside. Will brick sealants protect against flood waters?

Karim Boujdi
Karim Boujdi
3 months ago

Hi I need a brick vanish to look like is whet please

Karim Boujdi
Karim Boujdi
3 months ago

All what I want I got a brick walls and I want to put something to look like wet

Misty
Misty
3 months ago

What can you use to seal white brick steps to keep them from looking dirty?

Misty
Misty
3 months ago

Not painted (I don’t think) we bought the brick like that. They are General Shale “Winterhaven”

Misty
Misty
3 months ago

See if you can see that picture

3ECF94D2-9CB4-4870-8EFA-C9079127A37B.jpeg
Dwaine Ellender
Dwaine Ellender
3 months ago

FYI The bricks were sealed before painting

Dwaine Ellender
Dwaine Ellender
3 months ago

I have a brick house that is already painted with a latex water base paint by Valpar. I want to know what is the best way to seal it from leaking water? please help

Bricky
Bricky
3 months ago

Internal brick walls built in 20’s or 30’s. Mortor has a lot of limestone and turning to powder. Is there something that can seal that (or something that will penetrate and dry like epoxy).

Bill B
Bill B
3 months ago

Ugh. Typos… with field-fired brick.

Bill B
Bill B
3 months ago

I live in a refurbished cotton mill. It’s build withe feel-fired brick, circa 1898. If the outside surface is broken, the bricks are often powdery inside. What would you recommend to seal the brick and add strength? Thanks!

Phil
Phil
3 months ago

To add to my previous question. The brick wall will be recovered with earth.

Phil
Phil
3 months ago

I have an 18 foot brick wall extending four feet below ground level to the foundation. After excavating and exposing the brick, what do you recommend to seal it?

Calvin Mackenzie
Calvin Mackenzie
3 months ago

I just had a workshop built with brick walls. They are sealed very well from the outside with stucco, sealer and paint. I am now looking to seal the inside bare brick walls to help stop staining and dust. I was considering a product called Comex 5×1. As I am in central Mexico. It is a Styrene-Acrylic sealer that is mixed 5 parts water and 1 part sealer. I have had good luck with it in the past and would appreciate your opinion.
Saludos

Last edited 3 months ago by Calvin Mackenzie
PAUL LESLIE STURZAKER
PAUL LESLIE STURZAKER
3 months ago

i have a basement underneath my house i can only seal it from the inside and i want to paint over the sealer basement is brick and render have you got a product for this thanks

Gary
Gary
4 months ago

Where can i buy this ?

Ed Staack
Ed Staack
4 months ago

Can Super M be tinted

Brittany
Brittany
4 months ago

Hi,

I have a brick backsplash that I would like to seal so that it is more resistant to stains but keeps the same look. What would you recommend?

Russ
Russ
4 months ago

I’m confused. Your article states that silicon based products should be avoided, but your top recommendation is silicon. Could you please clarify? Also, I’ve seen some silicon based products claim that they penetrate into the brick up to 1/2”. Can such a claim be true?

Maria
Maria
4 months ago

But are they breathable for brickwork and allow water vapour to escape?

Ian
Ian
4 months ago

We have a mainly rendered house with brick below Interior moisture readings of 17% can you recommend a breathable water repellent coating?

Tina
Tina
5 months ago

I have a double brick wall that has been rendered internally as we were having mould problems when the external wall got wet with rain. Should I seal the rendered internal wall as well as the external brickwork? Which products do you suggest?

Tina
Tina
5 months ago

Thanks. Should I use anything on the rendered wall before I paint it?

Hugh Riddle
Hugh Riddle
5 months ago

Can a waterproofing treatment be applied using an extension reaching 5m high, to reach a brickwork area (above) an apartment window.

Dom
Dom
5 months ago

I have a brick home that allows wind driven rain to enter the home. What is the best solution. Which brick sealer will prevent water from entering the house.

Gene
Gene
5 months ago

I have a 3 year old brick home. The brick has not been sealed. Should I have the brick sealed?

Debi
Debi
5 months ago

We’re looking for a clear product as a waterproofing sealant on historic exterior brick. Any suggestions?

Rick
Rick
5 months ago

Which of your products would you recommend for sealing and preventing dust on an interior exposed clay brick chimney?

Susan
Susan
6 months ago

I have a 95 year old chimney that had spalling clay bricks & lime mortar that had been completed repointed with Portland cement. I’ve had the spalled bricks replaced with replacement salvaged bricks to match and pointed with lime mortar. I know the bricks need to be able to breathe. Do you know if Benjamin Moore’s Insl-X Multi Surface Waterproofer, LimeWork’s Ecologic Waterglass or any of these products you’ve mentioned would be the right solution? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cherie
Cherie
6 months ago

Trying to block tiny holes in the “chicago brick” exterior wall of a garden apartment to avert any potential rodent entry points, and minimize chunks of brick shavings falling in crumbles onto the apartment floor. Sometimes the brick appears to have white almost “foamy stuff” on it, which I assume is moisture driven from the soil outside the unit — not sure if that matters. I’d like a Sealant solution that’s suitable to apply with the tenant in residence (low fumes) — without impacting the beauty of the brick itself. What do you recommend?

0A5D891E-CA05-4031-8B8E-157BC27864CE.jpeg
6705F04F-EC76-42B0-8941-085F75A90959.jpeg
C5C5A405-84C0-4E03-A7EE-BD09C970F4EA.jpeg
glenn
glenn
6 months ago

i thought Siloxane is only for new masonry. Has anyone tryed pavix

Cheryl Thomson
Cheryl Thomson
7 months ago

I stripped paint of of an interior brick wall. On some of the red bricks a powder will rub off. What should I seal this wall with that is flat?

Shirley
Shirley
7 months ago

What can I use to make the brick in house not look so dull?

theresa
theresa
7 months ago

We have a leak into our basement that is coming from a flowerbed on the back of the house. we have tried drilling holes in the outer brick retainer wall, that the flowers are in, but that hasn’t helped

Should be dig out the dirt and add a sealer – and what would that do to our azalea bushes

Last edited 7 months ago by theresa
Trina
Trina
2 months ago

I have a similar problem. What is thick membrane? Is that a specific product? Please reply. Thanks.

Jason
Jason
7 months ago

Team is siloxane-based products the best to use on new and old render for an internal garage, and walls under the garage? They seem to always be wet but also want to paint them

Jason
Jason
7 months ago

So do I buy a paint with sealing qualities in it instead?

Jason
Jason
7 months ago

So you are saying fixing the underlying issue is the only way? I’m still trying to find where the water is coming in from

Kevin
Kevin
7 months ago

Can you seal brick mortar instead of tuckpointing it? I have a water leak coming into an outdoor patio that is coming from the brick chimney. Currently I have the chimney wrapped in plastic to prevent the leak from damaging the interior wall.

Last edited 7 months ago by Kevin
M Turner
M Turner
7 months ago

Hi we have a 6ft brick wall around our garden and they are old stock bricks – the red bricks are breaking apart – what can i put on to harden them and protect them in the future?

David D. Miller
David D. Miller
7 months ago

I am currently building a inside brick chimney with brick that has been salvaged from a 120 year old Victorian home. Most of the brick is powdery and flaky. would sealing these brick before or after laying them help stop the deterioration of the brick?

David D. Miller
David D. Miller
7 months ago

Is there a product you would recommend?

J D
J D
7 months ago

Is there any point to applying a penetrating sealer to an interior brick wall that is not exposed to moisture? I just had the wall restored using Smart Strip.

Last edited 7 months ago by J D
Ted
Ted
7 months ago

I have a 20 year old clay brick chimney that unfortunately was made with brick that is known to be made defective where spalling is significant after 10-15 years. I had the repairs done but now need to seal it. Is the solvent based sealer a much better choice or can I use a water based solvent that has Siloxane and get close to the protection I need? I hear solvent may have a sheen and also hard to go back to water based when you use solvent based.

Michael Angeloff
Michael Angeloff
8 months ago

HI I have a fountain that has a significant brick feature. I am wanting a sealer that minimizes efflorescence. Appreciate your recommendation. Thanks

ES Miller
ES Miller
7 months ago

So, how do you prevent efflorescence?

542
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x