Best Sealer for Brick Walls 2021  4.7/5 (80)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on March 9th, 2021

What is the Best Sealer for Brick Walls Update

Concrete Sealer Review remains a trusted resource for concrete sealer tips and reviews through 2021 and beyond. In this updated article, we discuss the qualities to look for when choosing a sealer for brick walls. If you have questions about the best sealer for brick walls, we want to hear from you! Feel free to leave us a comment with some pictures below.


Brick Wall Sealer

Brick Wall Sealer

Best Sealer for Brick Walls to Prevent Water Penetration

Bricks are used for many aspects of construction. They are considered as one of the strongest and longest-lasting building materials in history. Bricks can be made of clay, concrete, stone, ceramic, or lime and sand. Like other exterior building materials, a brick wall should be sealed to slow the effects of weathering. When moisture is allowed to penetrate the brick, the damaging effects can cause cracking, breaking, crumbling, and efflorescence problems.

Sealing Brick Walls

Sealing a brick wall will lock out unwelcome moisture and protect the bricks and mortar joints from damage. Unless you want to purposely change the appearance, the best sealer for brick walls is a non-gloss penetrating clear sealer. A siloxane-based formula like Masonry Saver Water Repellent or SuperSeal-M will penetrate deeply into most masonry brick walls for optimal protection.

The best sealer for brick walls should be breathable but will not promote peeling or flaking. The siloxane-based brick wall sealers have active ingredients that penetrate the brick pores up to ¼ inch or more. This not only protects the brick wall but also will not alter the appearance of it.

When dealing with the best sealer for brick walls, try to steer clear of acrylics, silicones, and similar types of waterproofing sealers that linger on the surface. These brick wall sealers tend to trap moisture vapors and may promote efflorescence, mold, mildew, and other damaging effects.

Finding the best sealer for brick walls is the key to superb protection and increased longevity of all types of brick walls. Regular maintenance including cleaning and sealing a brick wall will ensure it will be a long-lasting building material that will not fail.

Top Brick Wall Sealer Ratings

Super Seal-M Water Repellent – Best Overall Brick Sealer

SuperSeal M Sealer Review

SuperSeal M Sealer Review

SUPER SEAL-M is a water-based Silicone Water Repellent made of a special hybrid of Silane and Siloxane. SUPER SEAL-M provides water repellency to porous construction materials such as bricks, stone, concrete blocks, mortar, and grout. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent Sealer are a mixture of different-size particles-some larger, some smaller to fill different size voids. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent can chemically react with the substrate, ensuring long-lasting performance.

Where To Find: SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Plaine Poured Concrete, Bricks, Brick and Chimney Walls, Masonry, Natural Stone
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200  sq. ft
Application Tools: Pump Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete Coatings
See Review Article Here: Super Seal-M Water Repellent Review

MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent – Best All-Purpose Concrete Sealer

Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Review

Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Review

MasonrySaver® (Also known as “Defy”) All-Purpose Heavy Duty Water Repellent is a modified siloxane-based product designed to penetrate deeply into most masonry and concrete pores. Unlike acrylics, silicones, and other waterproofing sealers that remain on the surface and trap water vapors, this masonry waterproofing product allows deep penetration of its active ingredient of up to 1/4 inch or more.

Where To Find: MasonrySaver (Defy) Heavy Duty Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Plain Poured Concrete, Brick, Masonry, Natural Stone, Brick and Chimney Walls
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 75-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Saver Systems
See Review Article Here: MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Review

Questions on Sealing Brick Walls? Please Ask Below.


Best Sealer for Brick Walls Video

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
405 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Daniel
Daniel
18 hours ago

I want to add about a foot of dirt to the exterior of a brick house for raised bed landscaping. Will either of these work below grade?

Anne
Anne
2 days ago

Hi, We are converting our basement into a home gym. We have beautiful old granite and brick foundation that we would like to leave exposed. Will an acrylic gloss film former add sheen and keep dust down. Can the same sealer be used on the brick, granite and mortar? Thanks!

Coco
Coco
5 days ago

Hi, we are planning to paint our bricks wall. Should we seal it before painting? Or would sealing it make it difficult to paint?

My assumption is that we should not seal it because the paint will act as the sealant, but I wanted to check.

Creflo
Creflo
16 days ago

Hello, I had a question as to what would be the best brick sealer for a basement closet? And what would be the best steps to take to clean it. It tends to get a little moldy and cold especially in winter.

Maria
Maria
1 month ago

Which sealer is best for an all brick patio wall and brick porch steps? Do I clean the brick prior to application? Thanks

Sukh
Sukh
1 month ago

Hi there, I have a 1920s brick home in Brooklyn, NY. I’m looking to seal the bricks to avoid water penetration. I’m having a hard time deciding which one of these 2 products will work best and why. Can the walls be repointed later on if needed or does repointing have to be done before applying the sealer? Thanks, for your help!

Michelle
Michelle
2 months ago

Thanks for your answer. Super M is a “silicone” base and I thought I should stay away from that. Can you please clarify why it is the one to use even though it has the silicone? Also, if I use that product, will it provide a slight shine to the brick? Thanks again.

Michelle
Michelle
2 months ago

I have a brick shower stall in my home. I had to do some deep cleaning to remove calcium deposits. During the cleaning, I’m concerned I may have removed or weakened some the of integrity of the original sealer. Now, I believe I should re-seal the bricks. Your article mentions to “steer clear of acrylics, silicones and similar types of sealers that linger on the surface”. What product do you suggest for interior bathroom brick? Thank you for your input.

Joseph Shertick
Joseph Shertick
2 months ago

We just had our chimney repointed. How can we tell if the Mason used a water sealer as promised?

Last edited 2 months ago by Joseph Shertick
jodi
jodi
2 months ago

Hi, we have built a new house and have a feature interior reclaimed 100 year old brick wall and fire place that doesn’t back on to exterior. Just backs onto the garage and an undercover alfresco area. We want to seal it so it doesn’t let any dust or dirt through. Don’t want a wet look if possible. What do you recommend please? & thanks

Yusuf
Yusuf
3 months ago

What is the shelf life of this sealer? Can I keep it for say 2 or 3 years without any change in the quality of the product?

Yusuf
Yusuf
3 months ago
Reply to  Yusuf

Masonry saver water repellant. What is the shelf life? Can I keep it for 3 years if left over?

Juli
Juli
3 months ago

Hi- I’m pointing my house and about 200 bricks were changed. Previously the brick walll had Thoracoat, but this time I would like to use a sealer instead. Am I making a good choice? Is Perma-Crete Mamsory Coating a good option? Or should I reply Thoracoat again?

C99B4232-0019-413D-8B46-818FB15E4564.jpeg
Jill Henry
Jill Henry
3 months ago

I have an office unit where the brick are shedding brick dust and it looks like they are falling apart. This building was built in 1904 and was a post office that has been converted into office units. The photos show an example of one of the walls. I was planning to vacuum up the area and apply Defy. Will that help keep the brick from deteriorating?

3F046A19-CC49-4665-AFEA-9B3B34FED9D5.heic
8EC93487-8D7C-4981-A284-213AD0ECD269.heic
KRISTEN
KRISTEN
3 months ago

We would like to paint our brick, but would like to seal it first. would your recommended product Super Seal-M Water Repellent work for this purpose?

Matthew
Matthew
4 months ago

What is your opinion of USG Drylock Siloxane 7 5 gal. Clear Invisible Exterior Brick and Masonry Penetrating Sealer?

Jason slade
Jason slade
4 months ago

I need a sealer to prevent wet or moisture coming through the brick walls of my house .I’m on brick piers so I can get under house and roll on or paint by brush.

kay
kay
4 months ago

My exterior brick is painted with tinted Behr Premium Elsatomeric masonry, stucco & brick paint; still smelling moisture inside. Any recommendations? Thanks.

katt
katt
4 months ago

i need a brick sealer and will apply myself by brush, can you use this for that?
where can I pick some up in USA?

katt
katt
4 months ago

how do you find cost on the superseal-M product?

Dharmesh
Dharmesh
5 months ago

What is the best sealer for exposed brick wall that won’t darken the brick. Attached is a photo of the wall. We tried WATCO wall seal just behind the radiator and you can see that the brick is darker and a bit shinier. We want it as matte as possible. Thanks

Charlene Brown
Charlene Brown
5 months ago

When using the Super M-Seal what is the warranty and how long is it effective?

Last edited 5 months ago by Charlene Brown
Alberto
Alberto
6 months ago

Hello is there a store in Montreal, QC that sells this product?

Marcia Bates
Marcia Bates
6 months ago

We have exposed an interior brick wall in a 100 year old home. There are areas of old roof tar on this interior brick wall that are too extensive to easily remove, and there is a tar odor that it present in the room. Aesthetically, the blackened areas are not bad as it just appears to be a ‘distressed’ old brick wall, but we are looking for a clear product to seal this brick wall and BLOCK THE ODOR of the tar. What product would you recommend to seal and encapsulate the tar odor on this interior brick wall?

Russ Walker
Russ Walker
6 months ago

Hi
Have built an external bar using hand made building bricks. Bottom 3 courses are wet and moisture is seeping into floor inside.
What can I use to prevent this that also leaves an invisible coat
Also could the recommended product be used to seal a patio
Thank you

Janet Howard
Janet Howard
6 months ago

What is best sealant to use on brick fence posts to prevent mold

Daniel Young
Daniel Young
7 months ago

Looking for a sealer for brick cooping and concrete decking around in ground pool,

Aishwarya Gawali
Aishwarya Gawali
7 months ago

Can we use this sealant for exposed brick work exterior

Piya
Piya
7 months ago

What is best brick sealer in extreme weather location , in the winter the temperature could get to negative 20F ?

Jorge Beltran
Jorge Beltran
8 months ago

What would you recommend for kitchen brick Veneer backsplash? Especially for stove area.

Amy Tamarin
Amy Tamarin
8 months ago

Hello – I’m seeking a good sealer for an exposed interior brick wall.
I want to enhance the natural colour – similar to how the colour deepens when it is wetted with water, but I don’t want a glossy/glazed look to it. What would you recommend?

Anne Carretta
Anne Carretta
9 months ago

you recommended Surebond 6000 for sealing indoor brick but I have white washed interior
brick veneer and don’t want it to look darker or shiny at all. Does Surebond make a matte
finish? How best is it applied?

Cindy Brown
Cindy Brown
10 months ago

I purchased a home built in 1926. I removed the plaster to expose the chimney brick in the kitchen. I have removed as much plaster as possible. There is mortar on the brick that I can’t remove. I’m not going for perfection, but character… I plan on repairing some small areas between bricks that are missing mortar. I would like to seal the brick and bring out the color, if possible. I like the look of the brick when it is wet but I do Not want a sealer that is glossy… I prefer a low-key matt finish. What product… Read more »

Cindy Brown
Cindy Brown
10 months ago

Thank you!

Sally
Sally
11 months ago

How can I seal a raised brick pond that is leaking a bit. I’d like to seal the outside of the brick. The bricks are damp.

Terry Tomlinson
Terry Tomlinson
11 months ago

I require a good sealer for exterior house bricks where the bricks have to be overpainted, what is the best sealer for the purpose please?

LEE BAKER
LEE BAKER
11 months ago

My chimney is leaking and it has caused damp in are bedrooms on the chimney brests i have repointed it all but the bricks seem really porous is it worth using to sealant on it thanks

Magdalena
Magdalena
11 months ago

We have an exposed brick wall in our basement which is our bedroom. When we moved in 4 years ago the brick was flaking so our landlords handyman painted it with a sealant. Now it seems the brick and sealer are flaking and there is lots of what looks like calcification. A) is this safe to be sleeping in? B) What steps do we do to make the brick not flake?

David
David
11 months ago

Doing my cellar up got a lot of moisture coming out the brickwork.i need to seal it.whats the best stuff to use?

Bryan D Ellis
Bryan D Ellis
11 months ago

I enclosed my carport and now it looks like the bricks on the interior are getting mold and effloressence. What should i do?

16112632516515823437709019110041.jpg
16112633265135591260123346965445.jpg
Bryan D Ellis
Bryan D Ellis
11 months ago

So you think the black stuff is mildew? Not mold? No sealer would work?

Karen Smith
Karen Smith
1 year ago

We have brick stairs and entryway ( not sure what kind of brick but house was built in 1942… ) I’m looking for the best sealant for the brick and mortar. We have noticed some water damage under the stairs beneath the house. I’m planning on redoing caulking where the brick meets the stucco house walls as well. Can you please recommend the best sealer that penetrates the brick but doesn’t cause pooling or slippery bricks?

Karl
Karl
1 year ago

Can I put the sealer if the bricks are wet?

Phil Barnes
Phil Barnes
1 year ago

Best sealer for outside brick steps?

Jackie Bartholomew
Jackie Bartholomew
1 year ago

had a fireplace taken down outside 5 years ago but still have the indooor fireplace box but would like to seal the walls of brick, getting some moisture , what is the best product to use
i

scott Johnson
scott Johnson
1 year ago

I have 90 year old brick house in Sacramento. Want a sealer/enhancer that is breathable but provides protection and an enhancer that has wet-look, but is not glossy. Suggestions?

scott Johnson
scott Johnson
1 year ago

confirming – this will breathe enough so as to not trap water vapor against our wall, right? thank!

scott Johnson
scott Johnson
1 year ago

FYI: checked in with the company that makes Supreme Shield and they replied with this: “Wet look sealers will not work on clay bricks. Dries very blotchy.” Not sure I want to even try something that the company itself does not recommend. Do you know of other products you think might work?

scott Johnson
scott Johnson
1 year ago

Sorry I did not mention that. Not sure ANY homes in Sacramento are NOT clay brick!

Walter
Walter
1 year ago

I would like to seal a small wall of bricks along the front side the foundation. The top row of bricks form a “lip” and stick out from the exterior wall. I would also like to seal the mortar covered cinder blocks on the foundation on the three other sides of the house. Moisture seems to enter the foundation of the house after rain. Would a specific sealer provide moisture protection for my situation?

Walter
Walter
1 year ago

Thank you for the reply. Which sealer do you recommend for the bricks? And, is there a way method or product to seal the mortar covered cinder blocks?

Walter
Walter
1 year ago

Thank you. Some areas of the foundation and cinder blocks in top of it are not covered with mortar. What sealer do you recommend for the cinder blocks?

Nancy Clinton
Nancy Clinton
1 year ago

I have an exterior brick wall. It was originally an interior wall and the bricks are stacked with old sand mortar (early 1900 construction) The wall was stuccoed and it has not held. All the stucco is falling off and needs to be removed so the wall can be sealed to protect it from the elements and also enhance the aesthetics. What sealer do you recommend?

Robert
Robert
1 year ago

I have veneer stone on the front of my house. I had it pointed to give it a more finished appearance. I want to make sure the veneer and the cement/ mortar are weatherproof. We live in the Mid-Atlantic Area of the United States. What sealant would you recommend?

Randy
Randy
1 year ago

Need to put a sealer on this wall that was just built… can you tell me a brand I should use… clear sealant please? Thank you

D4F27C03-87EC-46C0-A031-24013D625649.jpeg
B61D3830-7F37-4B13-83F0-BF8681B9C51B.jpeg
7201ACF6-E82F-4690-98EF-5E5671ABCE2D.jpeg
Jessica
Jessica
1 year ago

We are planning to seal a large area of brick inside our condo. How is the smell of these sealers? Do we need any special ventilation or breathing equipment? Thanks!

Esther
Esther
1 year ago

We just had this installed in our kitchen. It’s reclaimed brick and I want to be sure it lasts, is protected from any sink splashing and hope to keep the mortar from crumbling. I prefer it NOT to be glossy as I like the more rustic look. Please let me know what you suggest?

20200808_171202.jpg
20200808_162738.jpg
Lucinda
Lucinda
1 year ago

I have a brick floor in kitchen would like to seal it with a wet look sealent non-yellowing quick dry product.

George DeBruyn
George DeBruyn
1 year ago

Living in a complex, I recently raised our patio about 600mm fill it in with gravel and layered it with paving bricks.
There is a dividing wall between the next door neibour and myself. Being higher than the neibour has caused her side to
to be damp and causing a efflorescence effect over a period of five months, what brick sealer do you suggest I paint on there side to stop the dampness coming through? The inside brick wall is approximately a meter high.
However my side will be redone with the necessary compliance.

405
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x