Best Sealer for Brick Walls 2022  4.7/5 (80)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

What is the Best Sealer for Brick Walls Update

Concrete Sealer Review remains a trusted resource for concrete sealer tips and reviews through 2022 and beyond. In this updated article, we discuss the qualities to look for when choosing a sealer for brick walls. If you have questions about the best sealer for brick walls, we want to hear from you! Feel free to leave us a comment with some pictures below.


Brick Wall Sealer

Brick Wall Sealer

Best Sealer for Brick Walls to Prevent Water Penetration

Bricks are used for many aspects of construction. They are considered as one of the strongest and longest-lasting building materials in history. Bricks can be made of clay, concrete, stone, ceramic, or lime and sand. Like other exterior building materials, a brick wall should be sealed to slow the effects of weathering. When moisture is allowed to penetrate the brick, the damaging effects can cause cracking, breaking, crumbling, and efflorescence problems.

Sealing Brick Walls

Sealing a brick wall will lock out unwelcome moisture and protect the bricks and mortar joints from damage. Unless you want to purposely change the appearance, the best sealer for brick walls is a non-gloss penetrating clear sealer. A siloxane-based formula like Masonry Saver Water Repellent or SuperSeal-M will penetrate deeply into most masonry brick walls for optimal protection.

The best sealer for brick walls should be breathable but will not promote peeling or flaking. The siloxane-based brick wall sealers have active ingredients that penetrate the brick pores up to ¼ inch or more. This not only protects the brick wall but also will not alter its appearance of it.

When dealing with the best sealer for brick walls, try to steer clear of acrylics, silicones, and similar types of waterproofing sealers that linger on the surface. These brick wall sealers tend to trap moisture vapors and may promote efflorescence, mold, mildew, and other damaging effects.

Finding the best sealer for brick walls is the key to superb protection and increased longevity of all types of brick walls. Regular maintenance including cleaning and sealing a brick wall will ensure it will be a long-lasting building material that will not fail.

Top Brick Wall Sealer Ratings

Super Seal-M Water Repellent – Best Overall Brick Sealer

SuperSeal M Sealer Review

SuperSeal M Sealer Review

SUPER SEAL-M is a water-based Silicone Water Repellent made of a special hybrid of Silane and Siloxane. SUPER SEAL-M provides water repellency to porous construction materials such as bricks, stone, concrete blocks, mortar, and grout. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent Sealer are a mixture of different-size particles-some larger, some smaller to fill different size voids. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent can chemically react with the substrate, ensuring long-lasting performance.

Where To Find: SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Plaine Poured Concrete, Bricks, Brick and Chimney Walls, Masonry, Natural Stone
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200  sq. ft
Application Tools: Pump Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete Coatings
See Review Article Here: Super Seal-M Water Repellent Review

MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent – Best All-Purpose Concrete Sealer

Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Review

Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Review

MasonrySaver® (Also known as “Defy”) All-Purpose Heavy Duty Water Repellent is a modified siloxane-based product designed to penetrate deeply into most masonry and concrete pores. Unlike acrylics, silicones, and other waterproofing sealers that remain on the surface and trap water vapors, this masonry waterproofing product allows deep penetration of its active ingredient of up to 1/4 inch or more.

Where To Find: MasonrySaver (Defy) Heavy Duty Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Plain Poured Concrete, Brick, Masonry, Natural Stone, Brick and Chimney Walls
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 75-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Saver Systems
See Review Article Here: MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Review

Questions on Sealing Brick Walls? Please Ask Below.


Best Sealer for Brick Walls Video

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
464 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gene
Gene
1 day ago

I have a 3 year old brick home. The brick has not been sealed. Should I have the brick sealed?

Debi
Debi
23 days ago

We’re looking for a clear product as a waterproofing sealant on historic exterior brick. Any suggestions?

Rick
Rick
23 days ago

Which of your products would you recommend for sealing and preventing dust on an interior exposed clay brick chimney?

Susan
Susan
27 days ago

I have a 95 year old chimney that had spalling clay bricks & lime mortar that had been completed repointed with Portland cement. I’ve had the spalled bricks replaced with replacement salvaged bricks to match and pointed with lime mortar. I know the bricks need to be able to breathe. Do you know if Benjamin Moore’s Insl-X Multi Surface Waterproofer, LimeWork’s Ecologic Waterglass or any of these products you’ve mentioned would be the right solution? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cherie
Cherie
1 month ago

Trying to block tiny holes in the “chicago brick” exterior wall of a garden apartment to avert any potential rodent entry points, and minimize chunks of brick shavings falling in crumbles onto the apartment floor. Sometimes the brick appears to have white almost “foamy stuff” on it, which I assume is moisture driven from the soil outside the unit — not sure if that matters. I’d like a Sealant solution that’s suitable to apply with the tenant in residence (low fumes) — without impacting the beauty of the brick itself. What do you recommend?

0A5D891E-CA05-4031-8B8E-157BC27864CE.jpeg
6705F04F-EC76-42B0-8941-085F75A90959.jpeg
C5C5A405-84C0-4E03-A7EE-BD09C970F4EA.jpeg
glenn
glenn
1 month ago

i thought Siloxane is only for new masonry. Has anyone tryed pavix

Cheryl Thomson
Cheryl Thomson
1 month ago

I stripped paint of of an interior brick wall. On some of the red bricks a powder will rub off. What should I seal this wall with that is flat?

Shirley
Shirley
2 months ago

What can I use to make the brick in house not look so dull?

theresa
theresa
2 months ago

We have a leak into our basement that is coming from a flowerbed on the back of the house. we have tried drilling holes in the outer brick retainer wall, that the flowers are in, but that hasn’t helped

Should be dig out the dirt and add a sealer – and what would that do to our azalea bushes

Last edited 2 months ago by theresa
Jason
Jason
2 months ago

Team is siloxane-based products the best to use on new and old render for an internal garage, and walls under the garage? They seem to always be wet but also want to paint them

Jason
Jason
2 months ago

So do I buy a paint with sealing qualities in it instead?

Jason
Jason
2 months ago

So you are saying fixing the underlying issue is the only way? I’m still trying to find where the water is coming in from

Kevin
Kevin
2 months ago

Can you seal brick mortar instead of tuckpointing it? I have a water leak coming into an outdoor patio that is coming from the brick chimney. Currently I have the chimney wrapped in plastic to prevent the leak from damaging the interior wall.

Last edited 2 months ago by Kevin
M Turner
M Turner
2 months ago

Hi we have a 6ft brick wall around our garden and they are old stock bricks – the red bricks are breaking apart – what can i put on to harden them and protect them in the future?

David D. Miller
David D. Miller
2 months ago

I am currently building a inside brick chimney with brick that has been salvaged from a 120 year old Victorian home. Most of the brick is powdery and flaky. would sealing these brick before or after laying them help stop the deterioration of the brick?

David D. Miller
David D. Miller
2 months ago

Is there a product you would recommend?

J D
J D
2 months ago

Is there any point to applying a penetrating sealer to an interior brick wall that is not exposed to moisture? I just had the wall restored using Smart Strip.

Last edited 2 months ago by J D
Ted
Ted
2 months ago

I have a 20 year old clay brick chimney that unfortunately was made with brick that is known to be made defective where spalling is significant after 10-15 years. I had the repairs done but now need to seal it. Is the solvent based sealer a much better choice or can I use a water based solvent that has Siloxane and get close to the protection I need? I hear solvent may have a sheen and also hard to go back to water based when you use solvent based.

Michael Angeloff
Michael Angeloff
2 months ago

HI I have a fountain that has a significant brick feature. I am wanting a sealer that minimizes efflorescence. Appreciate your recommendation. Thanks

ES Miller
ES Miller
2 months ago

So, how do you prevent efflorescence?

Robert Cole
Robert Cole
3 months ago

can you put this sealer on with a roller?

Anthony Martial
Anthony Martial
3 months ago

Hello, I have adobe brick walls. How can I permanently seal the wall to prevent water from getting into it? I want a sealant/sealer that would permanently seal the walls and make it waterproof.

Ray
Ray
3 months ago

I have a brick wall as the back wall design of my new swimming pool. There are areas beneath the spa spillover that are always wet from splashing of the spillover. Only after a few months, some of the brick and mortar is discolored. I’d like to clean the mortar (it’s ivory buff colored) but I’m having trouble finding something to clean it. After I clean, I also would like to seal the brick wall so it’s more water repellent. Any product suggestions?

Bernard
Bernard
3 months ago

Snow builds up on my front porch and when it thaws it seeps through the brick. Will super seal M work for that.

Graham
Graham
4 months ago

I have a rising damp with moisture seeping through the outside downstairs double brick cavity. Need to fill the cavity with a sealer. I have no access to the outside brick wall as it is below ground level. Is there a sealing compound that can seal the cavity from inside the unit
Ph 0427123943
Regards Graham

Jashan
Jashan
4 months ago

I have a concrete balcony and when it rains heavily, the water leaks through the crack in the floor edge and goes through the ceiling below. Will this sealant help to address this isssue?

MAX BROOKMAN
MAX BROOKMAN
4 months ago

I’m doing a Remodel job and the client wants to leave the brick wall exposed in the shower. Is there a way to seal this brick and mortar so that it will with stand daily use of the shower water hitting it?

Tania
Tania
4 months ago

Which sealer would you recommend for brick walls, which had effervescence cleaned off?

Ignace Bellerose
Ignace Bellerose
5 months ago

Which sealer would you recommend for exterior MUdBrick bottom layers which are crumbling and can it be rendered after sealing process

Daniel
Daniel
5 months ago

I want to add about a foot of dirt to the exterior of a brick house for raised bed landscaping. Will either of these work below grade?

Anne
Anne
5 months ago

Hi, We are converting our basement into a home gym. We have beautiful old granite and brick foundation that we would like to leave exposed. Will an acrylic gloss film former add sheen and keep dust down. Can the same sealer be used on the brick, granite and mortar? Thanks!

Coco
Coco
5 months ago

Hi, we are planning to paint our bricks wall. Should we seal it before painting? Or would sealing it make it difficult to paint?

My assumption is that we should not seal it because the paint will act as the sealant, but I wanted to check.

Creflo
Creflo
5 months ago

Hello, I had a question as to what would be the best brick sealer for a basement closet? And what would be the best steps to take to clean it. It tends to get a little moldy and cold especially in winter.

Maria
Maria
6 months ago

Which sealer is best for an all brick patio wall and brick porch steps? Do I clean the brick prior to application? Thanks

Sukh
Sukh
7 months ago

Hi there, I have a 1920s brick home in Brooklyn, NY. I’m looking to seal the bricks to avoid water penetration. I’m having a hard time deciding which one of these 2 products will work best and why. Can the walls be repointed later on if needed or does repointing have to be done before applying the sealer? Thanks, for your help!

Michelle
Michelle
7 months ago

Thanks for your answer. Super M is a “silicone” base and I thought I should stay away from that. Can you please clarify why it is the one to use even though it has the silicone? Also, if I use that product, will it provide a slight shine to the brick? Thanks again.

Michelle
Michelle
7 months ago

I have a brick shower stall in my home. I had to do some deep cleaning to remove calcium deposits. During the cleaning, I’m concerned I may have removed or weakened some the of integrity of the original sealer. Now, I believe I should re-seal the bricks. Your article mentions to “steer clear of acrylics, silicones and similar types of sealers that linger on the surface”. What product do you suggest for interior bathroom brick? Thank you for your input.

Joseph Shertick
Joseph Shertick
7 months ago

We just had our chimney repointed. How can we tell if the Mason used a water sealer as promised?

Last edited 7 months ago by Joseph Shertick
jodi
jodi
7 months ago

Hi, we have built a new house and have a feature interior reclaimed 100 year old brick wall and fire place that doesn’t back on to exterior. Just backs onto the garage and an undercover alfresco area. We want to seal it so it doesn’t let any dust or dirt through. Don’t want a wet look if possible. What do you recommend please? & thanks

Yusuf
Yusuf
8 months ago

What is the shelf life of this sealer? Can I keep it for say 2 or 3 years without any change in the quality of the product?

Yusuf
Yusuf
8 months ago
Reply to  Yusuf

Masonry saver water repellant. What is the shelf life? Can I keep it for 3 years if left over?

Juli
Juli
9 months ago

Hi- I’m pointing my house and about 200 bricks were changed. Previously the brick walll had Thoracoat, but this time I would like to use a sealer instead. Am I making a good choice? Is Perma-Crete Mamsory Coating a good option? Or should I reply Thoracoat again?

C99B4232-0019-413D-8B46-818FB15E4564.jpeg
Jill Henry
Jill Henry
9 months ago

I have an office unit where the brick are shedding brick dust and it looks like they are falling apart. This building was built in 1904 and was a post office that has been converted into office units. The photos show an example of one of the walls. I was planning to vacuum up the area and apply Defy. Will that help keep the brick from deteriorating?

3F046A19-CC49-4665-AFEA-9B3B34FED9D5.heic
8EC93487-8D7C-4981-A284-213AD0ECD269.heic
KRISTEN
KRISTEN
9 months ago

We would like to paint our brick, but would like to seal it first. would your recommended product Super Seal-M Water Repellent work for this purpose?

Matthew
Matthew
9 months ago

What is your opinion of USG Drylock Siloxane 7 5 gal. Clear Invisible Exterior Brick and Masonry Penetrating Sealer?

Jason slade
Jason slade
9 months ago

I need a sealer to prevent wet or moisture coming through the brick walls of my house .I’m on brick piers so I can get under house and roll on or paint by brush.

kay
kay
9 months ago

My exterior brick is painted with tinted Behr Premium Elsatomeric masonry, stucco & brick paint; still smelling moisture inside. Any recommendations? Thanks.

katt
katt
10 months ago

i need a brick sealer and will apply myself by brush, can you use this for that?
where can I pick some up in USA?

katt
katt
10 months ago

how do you find cost on the superseal-M product?

Dharmesh
Dharmesh
10 months ago

What is the best sealer for exposed brick wall that won’t darken the brick. Attached is a photo of the wall. We tried WATCO wall seal just behind the radiator and you can see that the brick is darker and a bit shinier. We want it as matte as possible. Thanks

Charlene Brown
Charlene Brown
11 months ago

When using the Super M-Seal what is the warranty and how long is it effective?

Last edited 11 months ago by Charlene Brown
Alberto
Alberto
11 months ago

Hello is there a store in Montreal, QC that sells this product?

Marcia Bates
Marcia Bates
11 months ago

We have exposed an interior brick wall in a 100 year old home. There are areas of old roof tar on this interior brick wall that are too extensive to easily remove, and there is a tar odor that it present in the room. Aesthetically, the blackened areas are not bad as it just appears to be a ‘distressed’ old brick wall, but we are looking for a clear product to seal this brick wall and BLOCK THE ODOR of the tar. What product would you recommend to seal and encapsulate the tar odor on this interior brick wall?

Russ Walker
Russ Walker
11 months ago

Hi
Have built an external bar using hand made building bricks. Bottom 3 courses are wet and moisture is seeping into floor inside.
What can I use to prevent this that also leaves an invisible coat
Also could the recommended product be used to seal a patio
Thank you

Janet Howard
Janet Howard
11 months ago

What is best sealant to use on brick fence posts to prevent mold

464
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x