Different Concrete Sealer Types 2022  4.7/5 (13)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 19th, 2022

Update on Different Concrete Sealer Types in 2022

As of 2022, there have not been any major updates with the different sealer types for concrete available on the market. If you have any questions as to the best type of concrete sealer for your project, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!

Concrete Sealer and Water Repellent Types

Sealing concrete will protect the surface from elements, deicing salts, spills, mold/mildew infiltration, and freeze/thaw damage. Knowing this, many homeowners have elected to seal their concrete surfaces. Whether it is a driveway, sidewalk, pool deck, or patio, these surfaces can benefit from being sealed.

There are many concrete sealer types and it can be a bit confusing to decide which product is best for your concrete. A general description of the most common concrete sealer types will make your buying decision a little easier.

Penetrating Concrete Sealers

Penetrating sealers react chemically with the concrete to shield against moisture. These sealers can dive up to a ½” into the surface and are normally used when repelling water is critical, such as on horizontal surfaces. These types of concrete sealers provide excellent protection from salts, efflorescence, and freeze/thaw damage. Penetrating sealers do not affect the appearance of the concrete surface and are a matte finish.

Where to Use: Plain Poured or White Concrete. Examples would be concrete driveways, patios, walkways, retaining walls, exterior brick walls, basements, and garages.

Penetrating Concrete Sealer Photos

Filming Concrete Sealers

Like their name suggests, filming concrete sealers form a thin protective film on the concrete surface and are typically very breathable. The most common type of film-forming sealers is acrylics. This film provides a layer of protection on top of the concrete. Filming concrete sealers can alter the appearance of the concrete. Depending on the type (water-based or solvent-based) the concrete may appear darker and/or have a shiny appearance.

Where to Use: Concrete Brick Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Stained Concrete surfaces.

Enhancing (Wet Look) Concrete Sealers

These types of sealers are generally used to enhance the appearance of the concrete, hence their name. They form a thicker film atop the concrete than the thinner film created by the filming sealers. Enhancing concrete sealers come in a wide range of sheens. They can be glossy, semi-gloss, satin, matter, or no shine. The pigment can be added to some of these sealers if additional color is desired. The thick, durable, abrasion-resistant finish repels water and provides a long-lasting finish.

Where to Use: Concrete Brick Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate surfaces.

Gloss and “Wet Look” Concrete Sealers

These types of concrete sealers have a high percentage of solid contents. They are great for darkening brick pavers, exposed aggregate or stamped concrete surfaces. The surface darkens as if wet once the sealer is applied and it stays that way. Many homeowners like the “wet look” of this type of high gloss sealer. It can restore the original color of faded surfaces while providing adequate moisture protection.

Knowing about the most common concrete sealer types can help you in your buying decision. The most important factor is to protect your concrete with some type of quality concrete sealer to either enhance its beauty, increase longevity, or both.

Where to Use: Concrete Brick Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate surfaces.

Gloss and Wet Look Concrete Sealer Photos

Epoxy Concrete Coatings

One of the more popular concrete coatings types are Epoxy Coatinga. It has proven these coatings to be some of the most durable concrete coatings. Epoxy Coatings can be used for both interior and exterior applications, but most are used for interior or covered surfaces. By using Epoxy Concrete Coatings, you can prolong the life of the concrete surface while making it easier to clean.

Where to Use: Garage floors, warehouse floors, industrial floors, shop floors, basements, concrete patios, and concrete countertops.

Any Questions on the Different Types of Sealers for Concrete? Please Ask Below.

Different Types of Concrete Sealers Video


Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
124 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mary
Mary
7 hours ago

I just had a new garage floor installed. The contractor said he sealed it but when I got home that night the floor still had dust on it from the saw cutting. Would this be normal after they had applied sealer?

Phyllis Baur
Phyllis Baur
24 days ago

I have a round 12′ paved brick patio with a soldier edge on the edge leading to the yard. It is about 9 years old and has been sealed about every 3 years with a water base satin acrylic sealer. What would you recommend as the best sealer and the best process to obtain a wet look with a gloss look that would not be slippery? I am thinking that the water base has not been giving me the look I want but I like the convenience of the water based.

Lindsey Klein
Lindsey Klein
2 months ago

Hi there! I have a concrete pool deck that was poured without any color. Someone told me that we can use a sealer on it afterwards to make it a bit lighter in appearance. Is there any sealer that does this? If not, what sealer could we use for our pool deck that won’t make it any darker? Thanks!

8AFED15A-A754-4BDF-B87D-99599889EBFA.jpeg
Gerry
Gerry
5 months ago

Hello Mike, We have an indoor fireplace with red brick hearth. I did a german smear with white mortar in between bricks. I am looking for a semi wet look to bring back some of the red brick look that got smeared with some of the white mortar. Also am not sure if I should coat anything and just leave it because we burn a lot of wood. I have concerns about solvent based sealers around high heat. Can you reccomend any of your products for this application? Thank you a ton for your web site and blog-extremely helpful! Gerry… Read more »

Last edited 5 months ago by Gerry
Kevin Stapleton
Kevin Stapleton
7 months ago

I have a new split face (one side) concrete block wall that I want to water seal that will dry clear on the block – gloss would be ok, but semi-gloss would work. I do not want it to turn white and I’d like to clean up with water. What is the best product to use? Thanks

Mike
Mike
8 months ago

I am looking for a WET LOOK sealer product that is water-based, with no gloss. Can you help? I have found that many do no live up to their hype. If I soak the paver with water, it darkens noticeably, but returns to it original dull color after drying. But when I hit it with the WET LOOK sealer, it reacts quite similarly, darkens noticeably, but then dries a tad darker than the original color, but still no match to the soaking-with-water fresh look. Please help!

Last edited 8 months ago by Mike
Mike
Mike
8 months ago

Thank you for your time. The previous owner appears to have used a product called Dominator, which I believe is water based of i read label correct. So can I use a solvent based product over that?

Mike
Mike
8 months ago

Thank you!! SB-600!!

christi
christi
9 months ago

I have a 10×10 dog kennel that I laid concrete pavers in the bottom of. I filled the cracks with quick crete to help keep them set. It is working out fine, but when I spray it out, little chuncks of concrete and sand is going with it. What can I use to seal it with to prevent this from happening

DAVID BOYKIN
DAVID BOYKIN
9 months ago

I have an exposed aggregate concrete front patio and walkway and a separate 6″ border wall separating my yard from my neighbors. They are a year old and i originally sealed them with a product from nox crete called sparkl-seal acrylic high-gloss decorative sealer. it gave it a little darker color and a wet look to it. The front of my house where this is gets a ton of sun and is very hot. That original look after sealing has pretty much faded. Is this the best product to use or is there something better and longer lasting. Any help… Read more »

DAVID BOYKIN
DAVID BOYKIN
9 months ago
Reply to  DAVID BOYKIN

I sent a question 6 days ago and haven’t heard back yet. Did you recieve it or do i need to resend. I appreciate any help or answer. Thank you

Penny Loveday
Penny Loveday
1 year ago

I have an 18 ft X18 ft patio that I made that is concrete from those rock shaped molds. I hope that makes sense. I had filled in between the shapes with polymeric sand. It didn’t last one summer. I’m going to take it all out and clean out the old polymeric and try something better. I’ve read that Sakrete Paver Set Polymeric Sand is good. I wanna know if I can apply a sealer to the concrete and polymer?

Jerry
Jerry
1 year ago

Any quality coloured sealers? Looking for something that does not build up on surface.

Michael Paul Majewski
Michael Paul Majewski
2 years ago

Which is better on concrete patio pavers, solvent based or water based. I’ve been told water base last longer but solvent base bonds chemically with the polymetric sand making it more durable.

Secondly, we want our pavers to look wet but not like they’ve been shellacked. Which is better the wet finish or the gloss finish?

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

I have a newly recently poured concrete garage floor in Chicago. I want to protect it from water, freezing, and salt.

–How long do I have to wait before sealing it?
–Would you recommend a penetrating sealer? Which one?
–Would there be any advantage to going with an epoxy sealer? (I’m not interested in the looks of the surface, just protecting it).

Many thanks. Finding this site very helpful–learning a lot.

Valerie
Valerie
2 years ago

we have a newly constructed home , not sure what paver sealer to go with.
I don’t want a high shine, maybe one that enhances the color a bit.
Something that is breathable but will last, one that secures the sand preventing movement of the pavers , and prevent weed growth, and fading from the sun.All the usual things people want from a sealant

Diane
Diane
2 years ago

I have 21″ high and 18″ deep concrete walls in my backyard. The walls are about three months old. We used colored concrete (black) but it has faded to a gray color. We are getting ready to seal them and I would like to know which sealer will bring out the black color. When it rains they do look black but when they dry in the sun they fade to the lighter color. Thank you!

Jack
Jack
2 years ago

Have an existing concrete walled underground room. The slab and concrete top have been waterproofed, but looking for a similar vertical product. Has developed hairline cracks and looking for a product to create a barrier against penetration of underground moisture. Appearance is not an issue.

Phil
Phil
2 years ago

What is the best sealer for a year old driveway that is showing signs of scalding

Joe Ungrund
Joe Ungrund
2 years ago

I have a stamped concrete brick look patio that is 12 – 15 years old. I have always used acrylic high gloss sealer. I always power wash, & sometimes I have stripped the old sealer off. No matter what I do, or what I use it always goes yellow within 2 years. I am done with high gloss acrylic sealers. Do you recommend a penetrating sealer? Anything else? Thanks!

Floyd
Floyd
2 years ago

I have an issue with moisture coming up thru my concrete (house) slab from time to time, and am in process of having to replace carpet and pad. Is there a sealer acts as a moisture barrier. in lieu of laying plastic moisture barrier material?

Ken
Ken
2 years ago

I have a front porch that has a layer of small pebbles (~1/4 Inch) embedded in an epoxy(?) layer and I want to add a sealer to keep water from penetrating. I live in the midwest. What is the best clear sealer for the job? Thanks.

Sandra Phillipp
Sandra Phillipp
2 years ago

I have a outside porch I want to seal. I live in northern Minnesota. What do you suggest.

Tom Graf
Tom Graf
2 years ago

First of all, I want to say this is a great forum. Hopefully it is unbiased and your forum is not funded by manufactures. We are a large decorative concrete installer and probably have done more in the Twin Cities over the past 25 years than any of our competition. The challenge is we are losing a lot of market share in decorative stamped to pavers and natural stone… it is a large part due to whitening and maintenance of sealers owners are faced with. I can tell you that salt water pools have eaten away 2 different types acrylic… Read more »

Dave
Dave
3 years ago

We had a pool constructed with pre-cast coping pieces. The contractor used BP PRO-NSS paver sealer on them. Now the coping is a darker color and very slippery. Neither of which we wanted. He tried to use stripper, but it left streaks. He insists that sealer is the correct one for the pre-cast coping. Is he correct?

Coping with BP Pro-NSS Sealer.jpg
Coping without BP Pro-NSS Sealer.jpg
Tony
Tony
3 years ago

I have a small office building with a separate entrance that I want to seal the cracks then seal the entire concrete area with some light gray dye added for color enhancement. I want something that lasts a long time. This area would get only foot traffic. Norfolk, Virginia with humid, hot summers too. What do you recommend?

Doug Lee
Doug Lee
3 years ago

I need to seal a concrete drive. I live in northern middle Tennessee. What stalker do you recommend?

Ben
Ben
3 years ago

How long must sealer dry before it can have water or rain on it?

Peggy Samson
Peggy Samson
3 years ago

How often should you seal the exposed aggregate driveway.

Peggy Samson
Peggy Samson
3 years ago

We have an exposed aggregate driveway in which we have used Super Diamond Sealer every year. It fades and we are not happy with it. I like a shine but it doesn’t last long. Is there something better to use and can we use it over top of Super Diamond without stripping the old seal off. We will power wash it and there isn’t any oil spots on it. I know a lot of people have trouble with white patches. Help
We need to do it ourselves and we aren’t young anymore.

Jake Jackowski
Jake Jackowski
4 years ago

Can I use your super sealer 25 on my acrylic 1 part epoxy painted cement driveway.

Mary Gray
Mary Gray
4 years ago

My driveway is 15 years old and has never been sealed. It now has cracks. Can I still apply a waterproof sealer, if so what would you suggest?

Julie Lee
Julie Lee
4 years ago

My Pacific Northwest aggregate bordered by stamped driveway is visited by many days of heavy continuous rainfall. I would like a wet look as provided by the paver sealers but the stamped concrete need the major aggregate areas demand the waterproofing aspect. Can I apply a coat of the lossy paver sealer followed by a top coat of the water repellent concrete sealer – just like you do with lady’s nail polishes? Is this an annual undertaking? Previously applied water based sealers for the 10 yr old paved aggregate driveway.

Norman
Norman
4 years ago

I am making pavers for driveways. My problem is that the aggregate seems to be too strong for the dye because no matter what quantity of dye is placed in the mixture when the products get dyed the color fade from it original looks. I am in Jamaica and the aggregate is white and very strong and I am using the powdered oak oxide.
How can I solve this problem so the color don't fade?

Mike Riha
Mike Riha
4 years ago

I have a concrete apron and patio of the same substrate. The patio has an oak tree in the middle and therefore there is a lot of sap and other tree material landing and discoloring the cement. I can power wash the patio and it returns to bright form, but it takes a long time to do the power wash. The structures are at least 30 years old and maybe 50 years old. I am leaning toward a penetrating sealer to use on both surfaces. What is the best brand?

Becky Chao
Becky Chao
4 years ago

Can you tell me how the Ghostshield Siloxa-tek 8500 compares to these other products for concrete and brick coping pool deck with a saltwater pool in los angeles, ca

Thank you
Becky

Markus
Markus
4 years ago

Good afternoon,

Last year we pressure washed our driveway.. sat to dry for 5 hot days.. then applied the primer .. sat for 5 days … then applied 2 coats of the Behr concrete stain (off white) — it looks wonderful a year later.

I would like to apply a sealer to it to avoid potential stains, friends with leaky vehicles, weather issues…. what would you recommend.?

Markus
Markus
4 years ago

Good morning,

The corporate officer from Eagle recommended using EAGLE ARMOR SEAL…. it's on the shiny side, but it won't have any problems collaborating with the Behr concrete stain(according to him)

— your thoughts.?

Linda B.
Linda B.
4 years ago

I have a 7 year old home with an aggregate driveway. A section of it had to be repoured during construction due to cracking and the color has never truly matched. Is there a product I can apply to make all the sections match without a drastic color change?

Murray King
Murray King
4 years ago

I have a concrete deck around my in-ground pool in western PA. Concrete was poured containing a tan dye, 6 years old and beginning to fade. Want to seal it with a sealer that allows pigment to be added.

Diana Solano
Diana Solano
5 years ago

I just got new concrete paths in my garden. Unfortunately, the contractor made a big mistake. It was supposed to be lovely aggregate to match my driveway. He poured plain concrete. Can you please advise what kind of concrete sealant I could use to make it look better? I don't want stamped concrete. I wanted something that will look natural/ go some way towards matching the existing aggregate. I would be very grateful for your advice. It's a lot of concrete, so it has to look good.
Diana

Panacal
Panacal
5 years ago

Greetings. Could you please tell me what you currently recommend as the best water based wet look sealer for concrete driveway pavers in a cold climate with lots of freeze/thaw and road salt. Thank you.

James V. Lamb
James V. Lamb
5 years ago

Which type sealer is best for a patio (outdoor) with a freshly applied concrete dye?

Lyla
Lyla
5 years ago

Home is in Washington State…about 10 years old…architecturally designed by previous owners.

There is a considerable amount of concrete brick pavers interlaced with decorative concrete borders about 3 feet wide.

I don't know what the previous sealant was nor, if, in fact, it was sealed. My mention of the 'architecturally designed' aspect is relative to my assumption that it would have been.

What product should I use on these varying surfaces without knowing this history?

Thank you for your help!

Jana
Jana
5 years ago

I live in Northern Kentucky and am sealing a 15 year concrete driveway that has not been sealed before. The driveway has a brushed texture to it I am going to powerwash/clean the area. I will also be filling in cracks and doing some minor repairs. What is your recommendation on the product I should use. Thank you, jc

Rob
Rob
5 years ago

I'm in northern Utah. I have a flat 20' x 29' concrete slab patio (six sections), a flat sidewalk, a flat 16' x 9' slab where we're going to install a shed, and a sloped driveway. All basic concrete. We're planning to cover the back patio with an awning soon, but it may not happen until next year, we'll see. I want it to look good, but ultimately I care more about protection and low maintenance than I do about it looking fabulous. What kind of sealer would you recommend? Reading this article, it sounds like maybe I want a… Read more »

Brenda
Brenda
6 years ago

My cats have decided to pee on the rough concrete floor in the basement. I bought an enzyme cleaner to lift the urine out of the concrete. After this, I want to seal the floor to discourage more peeing and to be able to wipe any pee up.

Would a penetrating sealer be the best?
Any suggestion as to a particular kind?
How long after the application of the enzyme cleaner (which is liquid) do I have to wait before I can seal?

Thanks!

Michael
Michael
6 years ago

I have just moved into a house that has a brick patio and driveway that was likely built in 1990. Some of the mortor is starting to decay in spots, and the surface has a good bit of mold…. In general, the patio is in descent shape. the driveway has a few cracks that have been sealed, and also has a good bit of mold.

Will a sealant help to prolong the life of both? Will pressure washing significantly damage the surfaces?

Lastly, are sealants easy to apply for a do-it-yourselfer? Do you recommend professionals?

Michael
Michael
6 years ago

The patio is regular bricks with mortar between… the driveway is just cement.

Your recommendation on which sealant for the brick patio?

Re the driveway, some cracks have been filled… assume its best to re-fill the cracks, then seal. Can you recommend a sealer for the driveway too?

BTW, I am located in Atlanta GA.

DannyT
DannyT
6 years ago

I have a stair case build with large concrete pavers (2.5 inches thick, 12×24, two wide) grouted with what looks to be typical mortar. Underneath is a storage room. I don't believe it was ever sealed. Water is currently getting through cracks (1/8) in the mortar. I want to seal it and stop all water penetration, so I considered using silicone in the mortar cracks rather than mortar (attempting to match may prove difficult) and then use a silicone based sealer. The steps lead to pool, and I am concerned about making them slippery… can you provide guidance?

Ashley Scoggins
Ashley Scoggins
6 years ago

I live in a 50 year condominium in Houston Texas. The patio's around the building have some cracks and are leaking into the basement directly below these patios. Is there a product to seal the cracks and to generally seal the surface of the patios?

Ken H
Ken H
7 years ago

I have a 24' X 24' boathouse; the roof structure is 4" of concrete atop galvanized steel atop steel trusses spanning the boathouse. The boathouse is built into a steep slope going down to our lake so the concrete roof also serves as my deck. The structure is old & the concrete has thin cracks in it, which leak severely into the boathouse when it rains. I spent many hours one summer filling the cracks with SikaFlex, which worked well for the first year, but after 3 years the roof is leaking badly again; no new visible cracks & the… Read more »

Jason S.
Jason S.
7 years ago

I have a driveway poured in February of 1998. The top surface is now crumbling. Most likely because it was poured in winter months and didn't dry properly. I've powerwashed it clean and now I'm looking for the best product to prevent further freeze/thaw damage…

Gayle Thieman
Gayle Thieman
7 years ago

We have approximately 1000 sq ft of concrete pavers installed one year ago. The efflorescence is gone, and we are ready to clean and seal the pavers. The building materials company recommended Paver Guard which will seal the pavers and leave a wet look. However, the info sheet says not to use around a pool due to potential slipperiness when wet. We don't have a pool but we live in the northwest where it rains much of the time from October to May, and we walk across the patio multiple times/day to get to our workshop. Will this type of… Read more »

Manny
Manny
7 years ago

I've approximately 7,560 sq ft of concrete paved driveways, patios and walkways poured in 2006 and located in Colorado at an elevation of 9,300 ft where the UV is pretty brutal. The concrete is colored through and through with a light pinkish tan tint mixed in during its original mixing process. It is subjected to low traffic so it is still in good shape but the color has faded somewhat over the last 8 years. Also, we get a good bit of snow every year and numerous freeze/thaw cycles. I am looking primarily to protect the structural integrity of the… Read more »

124
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x