Find the Best Exposed Aggregate Concrete Sealer

 4.4/5 (28)

This post was most recently updated on May 10th, 2024

Hi, I am Scott Paul, a leading exterior restoration contractor and business owner with over 30 years of experience in exterior concrete sealing and protection. For info about who I am, please read my full bio here.

Best Exposed Aggregate Sealers 2024

As of 2024, I have found that the Super Seal 30 Stamped Concrete Sealer is the most popular concrete sealer for Exposed Aggregate surfaces. If you have any questions about the best type of concrete sealer for your project, please ask below in our Q&A area. I am here to help!


Sealing Exposed Aggregate patios, driveways, and walkways will enhance and protect your surface from damaging weathering and deicing salts. Sealing aggregate stone is something any homeowner can do with significant results.

Exposed Aggregate Sealer

Exposed Aggregate Sealer

Benefits of Sealing Exposed Aggregate

  • Improves appearance
  • Comes in Clear or Brown Tints
  • Blocks U.V. rays that cause fading
  • Reduces mold/mildew infiltration
  • Increases longevity of the surface
  • Stabilizes the foundation
  • Minimizes damages from water and freezing

Cleaning Exposed Aggregate

Prep the surface by pressure washing dirt and grime. If needed, use a cleaner specific to any stains. For example, use a Rust Remover to remove rust or a Cleaner Degreaser to remove oil spills.

Always wear safety glasses to protect yourself. After cleaning, you need at least two days of dry weather before continuing.

Sealing Exposed Aggregate

Apply a Solvent Based Acrylic Sealer. These sealer types can be used on exposed aggregate with excellent results. Using a 1/2″ roller, start applying the sealer at the far end, making sure not to step in the sealer. The sealer should be applied at the manufacturer’s spread rate. This is typically 100-150 sq. feet per gallon. Apply sealer quickly to avoid any overlaps. Let the sealer dry for 1-4 hours. If the sealer did not dry evenly, apply a second coat to even out the appearance.

Best Sealer for Exposed Aggregate

Super Seal 30 – Best Exposed Aggregate Sealer

Super Seal 30 Concrete Sealer Review

Super Seal 30 Concrete Sealer Review

SuperSeal30 is a Higher-Gloss Concrete Sealer that can be used on many concrete surfaces. It is very popular for Brick Paver Patios, Exposed Aggregate, and Stamped Concrete. This sealer darkens the appearance and leaves a shine.

The SuperSeal30 is a solvent-based, breathable acrylic sealer that comes in a Clear or Brown Tint for Exposed Aggregate.

Note: Not to be used for plain poured (white) concrete.

Where To Find: SuperSeal30 Concrete Sealer
Sealer Type: High Gloss Solvent-Based Styrene Acrylic in Clear or Brown Tint
Types of Substrates: Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Decorative Concrete, Acid Stained Concrete
Coats Required: 1-2 coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-125 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete Coatings
See My Review Article Here: Super Seal 30 Sealer Review

ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.8

Maintaining Exposed Aggregate Sealer

Depending on your exposure to the weather and traffic, the Exposed Aggregate should be sealed every 12-36 months.

Best Exposed Aggregate Sealer Video


Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Concrete Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993, he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash, specializing in exterior pressure washing and concrete/brick paver sealing. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter, concentrating more on exterior wood and concrete/paver restoration. Scott and his Pressure Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 projects in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the concrete and brick pavers restoration industry and has contributed to numerous forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold online and in retail stores, allowing consumers to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites sell many of the top brands he endorses, and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered, feel free to purchase from one of them.

You may also like

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
269 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
John Wissing
John Wissing
11 hours ago

I have an aggregate concrete driveway with some severe spalling. Do I try to patch the spalling area with a quick patch, then use a penetrating sealer to strengthen and finish with Super Seal 30? Or my best option to just seal with Super Seal 30?

Michelle Pugh
Michelle Pugh
8 months ago

I tried to do my exposed aggregate pool deck with semi transparent stain in a tan color, because stain shouldn’t stick to the aggregate. Wrong. First pic shows stained aggregate and then after removing the stain from the aggregate with a weak sealer remover and a wire brush. Lots of work. The second pic shows my attempt with a colored stain and sealer, wouldn’t come off aggregate with any cleaner except a strong solvent and wire brush or powered wire wheel (even Muriatic acid wouldn’t touch it!). Luckily I didn’t do the whole deck with that solid one!! What I… Read more »

IMG_5486.jpeg
IMG_5487.jpeg
Michelle Pugh
Michelle Pugh
8 months ago

I hear ya. I found a Rustoleum product that removes it, just didn’t know if you had a product you knew would work. So part 2 question- does the SuperSeal30 require the additive for an aggregate pool deck to not be slippery when wet?

Ron VanVliet
Ron VanVliet
10 months ago

Can you put super sealer 30 over super sealer m

Jamie
Jamie
10 months ago

Hi Scott, will the Super seal 30 Brown Tint leave wear marks on exposed aggregate driveways along the tire tracks as it wears off? Am i going to notice vertical lines along the width of my driveway? Also how good is it at evening out 2 different concrete pours (one area is darker then the other) and will it even out the appearance?

Thanks

Scott
Scott
10 months ago

Hi! As a fellow Michigander not far from you in Bloomfield. Looking for a matte finish low voc sealer for my exposed aggregate pool deck.

Scott
Scott
10 months ago

Thanks Scott! I was in the store today and bought the supreme shield 350 low voc it was out of stock. How does super seal matte compare. Wife wants low voc and it is for exposed agg pool deck. Thanks so much

Jessie Zielinski
Jessie Zielinski
10 months ago

Hi. We just had an exposed aggregate patio done. It was poured and sprayed yesterday and today it was power washed, dried and sealed with aggreseal gray by metropolitan concrete. It was applied with the correct ratio of about 1000 to 1500 square feet per gallon but it does appear streaky or darker in some areas. We plan on applying a second coat but we only had one 5 gallon bucket and will be purchasing another tomorrow as the concrete supplier was closed today. My question is will the second application be ok if it is very close to the… Read more »

Jag
Jag
11 months ago

Question 1. I have 3 years old exposed concrete driveway and my contractor used and it looked great for first few months then it started to fade. Then I used BHER premium sealer (wet Look Hi Gloss No.985) for next 2 years but not happy with this product at all. I like to see bit of wet look and not being slippery because I live in Ontario Canada with -20 degree to -40 degree temperature, snow and slat. I try not to used salt in winter months but salt still end up being on drive from city streets with my… Read more »

Jag
Jag
11 months ago

Do you sell it in Indiana

Jag
Jag
11 months ago

I can have it in Indiana buy please refer me a good stuff

Jagdeep
Jagdeep
10 months ago

I am in Indianapolis In. Where can I buy

Mitchell
Mitchell
1 year ago

Whoops, spelling aggregate…

Mitchell
Mitchell
1 year ago

Looking for a non soluble sealer for raised aggravate driveway and stamped concrete patio. Vancouver Island based and a non gloss finish. Thanks.

Christian
Christian
1 year ago

I live in Arizona. What would you recommend me using and I want some gloss but not a high gloss. What do you recommend

Tom
Tom
1 year ago



Pat
Pat
1 year ago

My new exposed aggregate driveway was beautiful after it was completed. A week later our contractor put a Honey brown wet look sealer on it and it appeared to look nice when it was finished.. what bothered me was that they put a second coat on it within an hour after they finished the first coat. The next day we started seeing some whitish blotches. We were told that they would go away. We had a day and a half of rain 4 days later and now we’re seeing a lot more of the splotches. The contractor doesn’t seem to… Read more »

Steve
Steve
1 year ago

I want to seal my exposed aggregate pool patio but do not want the patio to be glossy. Do you have a flat option sealer?

Brooke
Brooke
1 year ago

Would it possible to add some black exterior paint to the seal 30 to darken it up a little?

Brooke
Brooke
1 year ago

I have an exposed aggregate driveway and I want to seal it with a blackish tint any suggestions the super seal only has 2 colors tint of brown and clear. Thanks

Dora
Dora
1 year ago

Had driveway sealed with super seal 30 but it doesn’t look like it was done evenly. Could you redo it three to four days after the first application?

Dora
Dora
1 year ago

Thank you.

Keith
Keith
1 year ago

Looking for the best sealer to use on a normal sidewalk pour that is having the rocks coming out. Thanks

Keith
Keith
1 year ago

Regular concrete

Linda Dagostino
Linda Dagostino
1 year ago

Is the acrylic sealer gif exposed aggregate also a non/slip coating? If so what DCOF value does it have?

Chris
Chris
1 year ago

How long should I wait to seal immediately after pouring and exposing a new slab? And any advice on best sealant for (off) white concrete. Trying to keep it as light as possible.
Cheers

Mike
Mike
1 year ago

What kind of roller to use with Super Seal 30? I believe it will melt microfibre, not sure about natural fibres (lamb wool).
Thank you

Duffy Johnson
Duffy Johnson
1 year ago

I have an old agrigate bird bath that needs sealing. What is the best product?

Mark R
Mark R
1 year ago

The guy that did my exposed aggregate around my pool used a pressure washer when poured. It is hard to walk on barefooted. Is there a clear that will be thick to fill and seal.

Karen Hunt
Karen Hunt
1 year ago

Our aggregate walkway has turned gray and splotchy. A high gloss sealer has been applied every year without any major cleaning other than a thorough hose wash. Aggregate does not have an even appearance. What can we do before sealing this year to achieve a more even result.?

Zack
Zack
1 year ago

We have a 1 year old exposed aggregate pool patio and love how it looks when wet. It is not currently sealed but we can’t decide whether we should get the clear or brown Super Seal 30. Will the clear make it look wet and dark? Will the brown turn the lighter stones dark? Picture shows it wet compared to dry. We want that wet look.

Bill simpson
Bill simpson
1 year ago

My exposed aggregate has gone plotchy white . What is the preparation to clean it before i apply super seal 30.

Lee Bennett
Lee Bennett
1 year ago

What is the shelf life of Super Seal 30?

Lee
Lee
1 year ago

Thank you!

Scott
Scott
1 year ago

Looking for a non shiny/gloss sealer for my exposed aggregate that has a faded redish/brown color to it?

Matt
Matt
1 year ago

Looking for a product that will seal and tint my exposed aggregate patio for longer than 2 years? Any out there?

Matt
Matt
1 year ago

Any products that last at least 10-15 years ?

Richard Lee
Richard Lee
2 years ago

aggregate patio is in need of a sealer, but need something clear and NON SLIP as we’re old and grandkids use the pool. What product would you recommend for this. we want clear-non glossy

Karen Kempton
Karen Kempton
2 years ago

We used a different sealer on our stamped concrete 2 years ago. Would that be an issue with the Supreme Shield SP600?

Fred
Fred
2 years ago

I have been told that aggregate sealant sold in Indiana is inferior to sealant sold in other states. True?

Walter Hopf
Walter Hopf
2 years ago

it is supposed to penetrate down 1/4 inch into the rocks and cement, can rocks absorb sealant?

Walter Hopf
Walter Hopf
2 years ago

What do you know about SealantPro?, supposedly it only needs one application for life of the concrete.Appreciate your answer

Armando
Armando
2 years ago

I’m looking to seal exposed aggregate concrete and would like to know how to select the product. I saw one brand that said it was “brown” but I was thinking I wanted a clear look with no color. As in a wet look. Also, what brand do you recommend that can find at Home Depot as it is near my home? I saw that I need a gallon per 100 sq ft. Is that true? Thank you

Kimberly A Nunes
Kimberly A Nunes
2 years ago

Can this sealer be used on indoor aggregate. 10 years since last sealed by company and recommended it be done?

Boyd
Boyd
2 years ago

Hi i have grey pebblecrete on outside of house it has never been coated and is approx 15 y.o and looks very old and worn and stained If i clearcoat it is it slippery when wet?

Michael Ionson
Michael Ionson
2 years ago

We have an exposed aggregate driveway, new last year. Ahead of resealing I used my pressure washer to clean the driveway. I used too high a pressure and have pitted the exposed aggregate. The pits are very small and for the most part are at the edges of the aggregate stones. They are throughout the driveway, which is 9.5 ft by 52 ft. Is there a product you recommend to fill these pits ahead of applying a sealant? I’m willing to fill them one at a time, if need be. Alternatively is there a coating I can apply ahead of… Read more »

Last edited 2 years ago by Michael Ionson
John
John
2 years ago

Does an exposed aggregate driveway in Massachusetts need to be sealed?

John
John
2 years ago

What to use to strip current sealer off exposed aggregate?
Thanks!

John
John
2 years ago

Best sealer over exposed aggregate that is not slippery? Live in Massachusetts. Zero slip!

Chad N
Chad N
2 years ago

Hi, I’m looking for the best brown tinted sealant for an exposed aggregate driveway with minimal slip and preferably minimal sheen (to reduce slickness). Superseal 30 is the only one I’m seeing in the comments that appears to be available in brown tint. What is your recommendation?

Last edited 2 years ago by Chad N
Ahab
Ahab
2 years ago

We have brand new washed aggregate patio and pool surround, what should we use to seal it; we are looking for a matt finish.

Nicole
Nicole
2 years ago

Hello, I have a flagstone patio (approx 240sq ft) with breeze (crushed granite) as the grout, some areas larger than others but roughly 1/2” – 1” spacing. I am looking for a way to seal the breeze/ flagstone to keep the breeze from getting ALL over. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

John
John
2 years ago

Can I use this over pebletec

Hannah
Hannah
3 years ago

I have a pebble tec driveway that has eroded. Some pebbles remain but maybe half have washed away. It also looks like it has some dirt stains. Someone gave me an estimate and they want to use a sealant for asphalt driveways even though they told me I have a pebble tec concrete drive. How can I repair it? Can you add pebbles and spread them back onto the surface? Or should I just seal it? It doesn’t have any major cracks just losing pebbles so it seems wasteful and expensive to replace vs repair. Thanks for your advice.

Kelly
Kelly
3 years ago

Would love to see a side by side of the clear and brown tint sealer after application and dry time. For comparison purposes and product decision purposes. Thanks.

Kelly
Kelly
3 years ago

Very helpful. Thank you Concrete Sealer Reviews😃

David Israel
David Israel
3 years ago

Where can I buy ?

Chris
Chris
3 years ago

How do sealers wear? Do they “fade” away or get “chippy” or “splotchy”?

fadi
fadi
3 years ago

where to buy it. Is it available in ontario canada.

269
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x