Find the Best Exposed Aggregate Concrete Sealer  4.4/5 (27)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on April 7th, 2022

Exposed Aggregate Sealer

Exposed Aggregate Sealer

Best Exposed Aggregate Sealers 2022

As of 2022, we have found that the Super Seal 30, Super Seal 25, and the Masonry Saver Decorative Concrete Sealers are the most popular concrete sealers for Exposed Aggregate surfaces. If you have any questions as to the best type of concrete sealer for your project, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


Sealing Exposed Aggregate patios, driveways, and walkways will enhance and protect your surface from damaging weathering and deicing salts. Sealing aggregate stone is something any homeowner can do with significant results.

Benefits of Sealing Exposed Aggregate

  • Improves appearance
  • Comes in Clear or Brown Tints
  • Blocks U.V. rays that cause fading
  • Reduces mold/mildew infiltration
  • Increases longevity of the surface
  • Stabilizes the foundation
  • Minimizes damages from water and freezing

Cleaning Exposed Aggregate

Prep the surface by pressure washing and dirt and grime. If needed, use a cleaner that is specific to any stains. For example: use a Rust Remover to remove rust or a Cleaner Degreaser to remove oil spills.

Always wear safety glasses to protect yourself. After cleaning, you need at least 2 days of dry weather before continuing.

Sealing Exposed Aggregate

Apply a Solvent Based Acrylic Sealer. These sealer types can be used on exposed aggregate with excellent results. Using a 1/2″ roller, start applying the sealer at the far end making sure to not step in the sealer. The sealer should be applied at the manufacturer’s spread rate. This is typically 100-150 sq. feet per gallon. Apply sealer quickly to avoid any overlaps. Let the sealer dry for 1-4 hours. If the sealer did not dry evenly, apply a second coat to even out the appearance.

Best Sealer for Exposed Aggregate

Super Seal 30 – Best Exposed Aggregate Sealer

Super Seal 30 Concrete Sealer Review

Super Seal 30 Concrete Sealer Review

SuperSeal30 is a Higher Gloss Concrete Sealer that can be used for many types of concrete surfaces. SuperSeal30 is very popular for Brick Paver Patios, Exposed Aggregate, and Stamped Concrete. This sealer will darken the appearance and leave a shine.

The SuperSeal30 is a solvent-based breathable acrylic sealer that comes in a Clear or Brown Tint for Exposed Aggregate.

Note: Not to be used for plain poured (white) concrete.

Where To Find: SuperSeal30 Concrete Sealer
Sealer Type: High Gloss Solvent-Based Styrene Acrylic in Clear or Brown Tint
Types of Substrates: Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Decorative Concrete, Acid Stained Concrete
Coats Required: 1-2 coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-125 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete Coatings
See Review Article Here: Super Seal 30 Sealer Review

ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.8

Maintaining Exposed Aggregate Sealer

Depending on your exposure to the weather and traffic, the Exposed Aggregate should be sealed every 12-36 months.

Best Exposed Aggregate Sealer Video


Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
205 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Matt
Matt
2 hours ago

Looking for a product that will seal and tint my exposed aggregate patio for longer than 2 years? Any out there?

Matt
Matt
2 hours ago

Any products that last at least 10-15 years ?

Richard Lee
Richard Lee
6 days ago

aggregate patio is in need of a sealer, but need something clear and NON SLIP as we’re old and grandkids use the pool. What product would you recommend for this. we want clear-non glossy

Karen Kempton
Karen Kempton
6 days ago

We used a different sealer on our stamped concrete 2 years ago. Would that be an issue with the Supreme Shield SP600?

Fred
Fred
9 days ago

I have been told that aggregate sealant sold in Indiana is inferior to sealant sold in other states. True?

Walter Hopf
Walter Hopf
16 days ago

it is supposed to penetrate down 1/4 inch into the rocks and cement, can rocks absorb sealant?

Walter Hopf
Walter Hopf
16 days ago

What do you know about SealantPro?, supposedly it only needs one application for life of the concrete.Appreciate your answer

Armando
Armando
2 months ago

I’m looking to seal exposed aggregate concrete and would like to know how to select the product. I saw one brand that said it was “brown” but I was thinking I wanted a clear look with no color. As in a wet look. Also, what brand do you recommend that can find at Home Depot as it is near my home? I saw that I need a gallon per 100 sq ft. Is that true? Thank you

Kimberly A Nunes
Kimberly A Nunes
5 months ago

Can this sealer be used on indoor aggregate. 10 years since last sealed by company and recommended it be done?

Boyd
Boyd
6 months ago

Hi i have grey pebblecrete on outside of house it has never been coated and is approx 15 y.o and looks very old and worn and stained If i clearcoat it is it slippery when wet?

Michael Ionson
Michael Ionson
8 months ago

We have an exposed aggregate driveway, new last year. Ahead of resealing I used my pressure washer to clean the driveway. I used too high a pressure and have pitted the exposed aggregate. The pits are very small and for the most part are at the edges of the aggregate stones. They are throughout the driveway, which is 9.5 ft by 52 ft. Is there a product you recommend to fill these pits ahead of applying a sealant? I’m willing to fill them one at a time, if need be. Alternatively is there a coating I can apply ahead of… Read more »

Last edited 8 months ago by Michael Ionson
John
John
8 months ago

Does an exposed aggregate driveway in Massachusetts need to be sealed?

John
John
8 months ago

What to use to strip current sealer off exposed aggregate?
Thanks!

John
John
8 months ago

Best sealer over exposed aggregate that is not slippery? Live in Massachusetts. Zero slip!

Chad N
Chad N
9 months ago

Hi, I’m looking for the best brown tinted sealant for an exposed aggregate driveway with minimal slip and preferably minimal sheen (to reduce slickness). Superseal 30 is the only one I’m seeing in the comments that appears to be available in brown tint. What is your recommendation?

Last edited 9 months ago by Chad N
Ahab
Ahab
9 months ago

We have brand new washed aggregate patio and pool surround, what should we use to seal it; we are looking for a matt finish.

Nicole
Nicole
9 months ago

Hello, I have a flagstone patio (approx 240sq ft) with breeze (crushed granite) as the grout, some areas larger than others but roughly 1/2” – 1” spacing. I am looking for a way to seal the breeze/ flagstone to keep the breeze from getting ALL over. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

John
John
1 year ago

Can I use this over pebletec

Hannah
Hannah
1 year ago

I have a pebble tec driveway that has eroded. Some pebbles remain but maybe half have washed away. It also looks like it has some dirt stains. Someone gave me an estimate and they want to use a sealant for asphalt driveways even though they told me I have a pebble tec concrete drive. How can I repair it? Can you add pebbles and spread them back onto the surface? Or should I just seal it? It doesn’t have any major cracks just losing pebbles so it seems wasteful and expensive to replace vs repair. Thanks for your advice.

Kelly
Kelly
1 year ago

Would love to see a side by side of the clear and brown tint sealer after application and dry time. For comparison purposes and product decision purposes. Thanks.

Kelly
Kelly
1 year ago

Very helpful. Thank you Concrete Sealer Reviews😃

David Israel
David Israel
1 year ago

Where can I buy ?

Chris
Chris
1 year ago

How do sealers wear? Do they “fade” away or get “chippy” or “splotchy”?

fadi
fadi
1 year ago

where to buy it. Is it available in ontario canada.

Bea Combes
Bea Combes
1 year ago

I have been reading about sealing expose aggregate over the past week and came across your helpful site. My project is a 30 year old sidewalk and a front door entrance. I cleaned it this weekend with a power washer and water only. The appearance is now clean, but dull all over, a few questions relative sealing in 90-100 degree Texas heat. 1. Which sealant would be used that would give a slightly shiny appearance? 2. How long do I need to wait before applying the sealant? With the Texas heat, the sidewalk seems to have dried quickly. 3. If… Read more »

Jeanne Stull Hackworth
Jeanne Stull Hackworth
1 year ago

My exposed aggregate drive was just sealed. Had not been done for quite a few years. It was very hot, like 85-90 degrees. It made the caulking sticky and is a mess. It there a max and a min temp for application?

Terrie E. Wood
Terrie E. Wood
1 year ago

I don’t really want a glossy finish. Is there a sealant that is not glossy or semi-glossy?

Jen
Jen
2 years ago

What is the difference between super seal 25 vs 30?
Looking to seal our salt water pool deck in clear gloss.
Depending on which you recommend should I add something to make it less slippery? Can you spray it on or roll it.

Deborah
Deborah
2 years ago

Can I use aggregate sealer on sidewalks where the surface is deteriorated?

Carol
Carol
2 years ago

Can it be applied in cold weather? What’s the best temperature to apply

SUSAN E. BLATTNER
SUSAN E. BLATTNER
2 years ago

Not looking for the most popular, but the BEST epoxy aggregate resurfacing resealer. Does anyone know which sealer rated the best not most popular?

Gwendolyn Robards
Gwendolyn Robards
2 years ago

I used the concrete color first mixing it with water and stenciled the brick pattern in red and sealed it to lock in the color
The next day I filled in the rest with the charcoal concrete color
And used 2 cans of the wet look at Lowe’s aggregate oil based sealer!
Initially I used the water based which peeled off. And I had to resurface my moms driveway again and start over.. which it looks amazing

4FF035BD-C2A1-4A61-BC60-570060503BFC.jpeg
FBB43717-4076-4A24-B54A-A580398103A2.jpeg
4130AFAF-2A6D-4C9C-B698-B905D7943A95.jpeg
Jack
Jack
2 years ago

Can the sealer be diluted a little for the final coat ?

Gerda Norman
Gerda Norman
2 years ago

How long after sealing driveway before water from sprinkler can hit it?

Don
Don
2 years ago

What causes the sealer to lose shine after a couple of months?

Robert
Robert
2 years ago

Can exsposed aggregate sealer be applied if temperature is over 90 degrees?

David
David
2 years ago

What is the best semi-gloss sealer for concrete patio blocks

Terry
Terry
2 years ago

Can I use this sealer on 18×18 aggregate patio slabs with sanded joints?

Terry
Terry
2 years ago

I apologize. I was not sure if I could apply the recommended sealers( ie Super Seal )to aggregate patio pavers with sanded joints, when the article refers to poured aggregate driveways/sidewalks etc. Does that make sense?

Ed Brittingham
Ed Brittingham
3 years ago

Does Super Seal 30 penetrate? I am interested in a sealer for an exposed aggregate patio, outside. We live in Michigan and have weather extremes to contend with. Also, can a grip be added to the Supreme Shield SB-600? Thank you.

Michelle
Michelle
3 years ago

My contractor poured our aggregate patio and left lots of concrete residue behind:(. We should have outsourced to a concrete pro! How can we get the residue off before sealing? The patio is around a pool with flagstone border. Will the wet look sealer be slippery? Looking for sealer options for the aggregate and flagstone.
Thank you!

Joan of Arc
Joan of Arc
3 years ago

I live near the US border . So Il drive down and buy my product there. What do you recommend to reseal exposed aggregate ?

Bernadette
Bernadette
3 years ago

Washington State

Phil
Phil
3 years ago

I am unable to find a good aggregate sealer in Canada – any recommendations?

David Edward Walker
David Edward Walker
3 years ago

Are Eagle brand aggregate sealers from Home Depot any good?

Mike Miotke
Mike Miotke
3 years ago

I have oil spots that do not show when wet will a wet look sealer hide them adequately

Danny Harris
Danny Harris
3 years ago

I have a new home that has app 6000 sq ft of aggregate driveway. Concrete company poured it and it is “cloudy”. Will super 30 give it a wet look and make it more even looking?
Also I have 1300 sq ft of flagstone on my patio. Can you recommend a product to seal it?
TYA

Elaine Morgan
Elaine Morgan
3 years ago

I have a aggregate drive, porch and walk, have sealed it almost every year for 17 years, and can’t seem to find a sealer to last more than 1 year. Any suggestions

Al Segal
Al Segal
3 years ago

Should I put two coats on aggregate driveway

Marty
Marty
3 years ago

Have an aggregate cement exposed porch to seal but want to avoid a slippery surface. What finish/product should I use?

Sandra
Sandra
3 years ago

Hello! We had an exposed aggregate patio poured three days ago. When we power washed off the Top Cast surface retardant it was a gorgeous unveiling! The La Paz stone we had seeded it with looked beautiful and the concrete had a nice dark gray color. Then it dried…and it looks so white and the stone just looks like spots with little color. I want to seal it but my husband is concerned about it looking glossy and artificial. Also, we are both concerned about how it will wear with a sealer. We don’t want something that will look awful… Read more »

Gary
Gary
4 years ago

I have an aggregate patio and driveway, both 14 years old. There are a few stains on both, candle wax, antifreeze and oil. I power washed them and nothing came off. Can I get a tinted sealer the eliminate the appearance of the stains?

Gary
Gary
4 years ago
Reply to  Gary

Yes. When it’s wet, the stains go away. Thanks. Can I seal a flagstone patio, that has stone dust between stones?

Marianne Best
Marianne Best
4 years ago

We had an exposed aggregate patio installed in January. There were a few stains from fertilizer that happened accidently. We managed to clean most of it up with Goof Off Rust remover but there was some discoloration remaining. We hired a concrete restoration company and he used some muractic acid and power washed the patio. As the patio was drying the area with the problem stayed dark looking. He came back about 5 hours later because we were concerned. He said he could not explain why this happened. He thought maybe sealing it would fix the problem since it would… Read more »

Andrew Herron
Andrew Herron
4 years ago

What’s the best Exposed Aggregate Sealer?

205
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x