H&C Concrete Sealer Wet Look Review  4.2/5 (12)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

H&C Sealer Wet Look

H&C Sealer Wet Look

Update 2022 for H&C Concrete Sealer Wet Look Review

As of 2022, we have found that the H&C Concrete Sealer Wet Look has shown problems for Stamped Concrete, Brick Pavers, and other Decorative Concrete Surfaces. If you have any questions on the H&C Concrete Sealer Wet Look product, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


H&C Concrete Sealer Wet Look Water-based is a premium quality 100% clear acrylic sealer that will enhance and protect previously coated, bare concrete, and other masonry surfaces.  It is a single component, nationally compliant sealer that can be applied to both interior and exterior applications.  H&C Concrete Sealer Wet Look Water-based will apply milky white to ensure complete coverage but dries to a transparent, durable gloss finish.

Tested on Brick Pavers – 2 coats applied.

H&C Concrete Sealer Wet Look Scores (1-10)

Wet Look: 5

– Being that this sealer is H&C’s designated “wet look” sealer, we expected a much richer look. The sealer did darken the surface but only slightly. Not on par with other water-based sealers and not even close to a good solvent-based sealer.

Gloss Level: 4

– H&C  Wet Look Sealer had little to no gloss for the first coat and a matte sheen after the second coat.

Joint Sand Hardening: 8

– The H&C  Wet Look Sealer performed very well in this category. The sand between the pavers hardened all the way to the base. After 2 years the sand had little loss or erosion.

Fading/Wearing After 2 Years: 5

– After 2 years the H&C  Wet Look Sealer had dulled to a lighter shade. There was a large amount of mold and algae growing on top of the sealer and in between the sand joints.

White Haze/Yellowing: 3

– This sealer is definitely prone to turning milky white. The entire paver patio had blushed significantly. The manufacturer, in their directions, states that this could happen if the sealer was over-applied. We did not over-apply the sealer but rather followed their directions and it still turned white.

Overall Score H&C Concrete Sealer Wet Look at 2 Year Period: 5

– H&C Wet Look is sold at local hardware stores and paint outlets. It is a consumer-grade coating, not a professional grade. It lacks the ability to provide a deep rich wet look and blushes/turns white when exposed to weathering. Coverage is poor but it is easily applied.

This sealer will need to be chemically stripped and removed.

Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: Sherwin Williams
Sealer Type: Water-Based Acrylic Sealer
Types of Substrates: Brick, Concrete, Aggregate, Decorative Stamped
Coats Required: 1-2 coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 75-200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Airless Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: H&C Concrete

Test Stats:

Surface Type: Brick Pavers
UV Exposure: Mostly shaded area
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
36 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Gary N Piatelli
Gary N Piatelli
3 months ago

Which of your products is best for previously painted pool decks

Tom Tisa
Tom Tisa
5 months ago

I recently applied one coat of Masonry Saver All Purpose Heavy Duty Water Repellent Sealer on my driveway pavers. I was not happy with the appearance although the pavers did bead when it rained. Within two months, I applied one coat of H&C Low Gloss Clear Solvent-Based Exterior Concrete Sealer Wet Look over the Masonry. It looks great. Should I be concerned with slipperiness when wet, snowy or icy? Thank you. Tom

Angela
Angela
6 months ago

This site has offered me a great deal of information that I am now exploring using professional grade sealers. I have only been in business for 2 years but I’ve been using the H&C Clarishield Solvent-based wet-look sealer for a year now and so far I’ve had great results and no complaints from customers. However, a client called me because he was using his smoker on his pool deck that I sealed and it caused some haze to form beneath the smoker. It had already been weeks since application. Xylene did fix the problem. But Why did that happen if… Read more »

Beth
Beth
6 months ago

I need the pavers sealed in my lanai at my home in south west Florida. There is a pool in the lanai.
What is the best overall sealer to use for this application?
Thank you 🌴

Patrick
Patrick
10 months ago

Hi
I applied the concrete sealer high gloss today,and it’s flaking in spots

Stephanie
Stephanie
11 months ago

Do I have to strip off sealer before I repaint my driveway?
Apparently this is for bare concrete and not painted and chip flaked. It took the paint off. Help

Stephanie
Stephanie
11 months ago

Lowes told me to paint with h&c concrete paint then sprinkle with colored chips and then use h&c concrete sealer. It took the paint off! Directions are vague. Can I repaint and chip over this clear coat when it dries? It’s the oil based wet look clear cot.

Ken Thinnes
Ken Thinnes
1 year ago

Recently painted and sealed my driveway with H&C wetlook concrete sealer. I applied 3 coats and waited over 10 days before parking my car on the driveway. I know have tire marks on the driveway that I can’t wash off. Is this a problem with this product? Is there anything I can do to clean these marks off of my driveway, Very upset and disappointed in the sealer.

Rod Swanson
Rod Swanson
1 year ago

What causes this product to bubble

Brent
Brent
1 year ago

So I have a stamped concrete pool deck. I originally used a solvent-based H&C product for several seasons, but switched to the water-based two years ago. Instead of every other year, I’m having to re-seal every season with this product! Is there ANOTHER water-based wet-look sealer you would recommend that would go on TOP of the existing H&C water-based? ( I just don’t want to go thru with stripping it off if at all possible!) Thank you for your advice!

Dorie
Dorie
1 year ago

We coved 2250 sq. ft. with H&C Solid Color Solvent Based Sealer. It was in the low to mid 70s with 10-15 mph winds.
Our driveway and patio took three coats and the sidewalks and porch took two coats. We still see variations in the stain. The product dries so fast that it is very difficult to roll evenly. No matter how we rolled, we got bubbles the size of gardenl peas and smaller. For this product being so expensive, we expected better results. We WILL NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT AGAIN.

Jorge
Jorge
2 years ago

Can this product be use on roofing tiles

Arnold
Arnold
1 year ago

Can you reply why? I just had a painting company come give me an estimate on painting a roof with this paint and they indicated there would be no danger of flaking since this tip of paint engrains itself into the tile, while it may fade over time, it should hold up pretty well. If not then what paint do you recommend and why?

Oops wrong product thought this was H&C Colortop from Sherwin Williams. At any rate would that one be ok?

Sarge
Sarge
2 years ago

Can this product be used on pavers?

Doreen
Doreen
2 years ago

I used this paint but it gets very slippery when it rains so. Much so that I slipped and fell!! Any suggestions thanks ! Doreen

Louis
Louis
4 years ago

Can I use this product over grout and will the normal 72 hour wait time going to be enough or do I need to wait longer before applying?

Wendy Ott
Wendy Ott
4 years ago

Can I put a wax over wet look water base clear coat

K Smith
K Smith
5 years ago

I applied H&C Silicone Acrylic Concrete Sealer Solid Color Solvent Based according to instructions provided in my garage. Spent extra time on prep as my expectations were rather low. I gave the product a good 10 days to fully cure before bringing the car in the garage. The first damp tires to roll on it caused the product to pull right up off the concrete. It has since done the same thing where the garage door meets the concrete floor. Not sure where the positive reviews are coming from but this product failed miserably on a basic garage floor. Went… Read more »

pete simpson
pete simpson
5 years ago

Usex on exposed aggregate. Did fair in coverage, 2 gal will not go a long way. Very happy with the gloss. Surface must be clean! Bold print says do not over apply, I barely got a wet look and 2 c oats turned out really nice. Go in oppo see ite directions for each coat. My coats are going on year 2 and look great. I live in the upper midwest.

John Stepanik
John Stepanik
6 years ago

Purchased H&C Wet Look product and applied per instructions.
Finish appeared nice for about two years, then began to turn milkey white in the Florida sun..
I must strip sealer and reseal pavers. Will not use this product ever again.

c. lefler
c. lefler
6 years ago

What do you use to remove this product off concrete?

36
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x