MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Review 2024

 4.9/5 (9)

This post was most recently updated on May 10th, 2024

Hi, I am Scott Paul, a leading exterior brick sealing restoration contractor and business owner with over 30 years of experience in exterior concrete coatings. For info about who I am, please read my full bio here.

MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Review

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy RatingBased on performance and price, the MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent is one of our top sealers for waterproofing concrete. If you have any questions or have used the MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent product, please ask me in our Q&A area below. I am here to help!


MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent

MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent

MasonrySaver® (Also known as “Defy”) All-Purpose Heavy Duty Water Repellent is a modified siloxane-based product designed to penetrate most masonry and concrete pores deeply. Unlike acrylics, silicones, and other waterproofing sealers that remain on the surface and trap water vapors, this masonry waterproofing product allows deep penetration of its active ingredient of up to 1/4 inch or more. This proprietary blend of silanes and siloxanes creates a “SaltShield™” barrier on concrete surfaces for more excellent resistance to the deteriorating effects of road salts and de-icing chemicals. This 100% breathable concrete waterproofing product is an excellent choice for horizontal and vertical above-grade surfaces.

Concrete Sealer Ingredients: Blend of Silanes and Siloxanes

Concrete Sealer Type: Invisible Water Repellent. It does not change the appearance.

My MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Scores (1-10)

Ease of Application: 10

Using a plastic pump sprayer, I applied the MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent to a 1000 sq. foot driveway. The sealer goes on milky white and dries clear in about 20 minutes. It took less than 30 minutes to seal the entire driveway.

Water Repellency: 8

I waited a day after the application and then did a water test. The water did bead up well and did not penetrate into the concrete.

Cost per foot: 8 (see note)

The MasonrySaver Heavy Duty is reasonably priced at $249.99 per 5-gallon pail. We used 10 gallons of the sealer for our 1000 sq. foot driveway. This came out to $.14 per foot.

Note: Mistake on Calculation. I used 7 gallons for a cost of $.35 per foot.

Durability/Spalling After 2 Years: 9

After two years, the MasonrySaver Heavy Duty sealer performed well on the beading water test. There was no pitting or spalling of the concrete.

Warranty: 8

MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent comes with a 7-year warranty that states: “All-Purpose Heavy-Duty Water Repellent will exhibit a water repellent effect for seven years from the date of application if applied according to label instructions and if minimum application requirements are met.”

Overall Score MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent: 8.7

I really like this sealer. It is easy to apply, has a durable warranty, and beads water well. The cost is more than fair as well.

It is the top choice for sealing and waterproofing any existing concrete brick surfaces.

Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: MasonrySaver (Defy) Heavy Duty Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Concrete, Brick, Masonry, Natural Stone
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 75-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Saver Systems

My Test Stats:

Surface Type: Concrete Driveway
Exposure: Heavy Traffic, Snow, Salts, Rain
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from my experience. I offer no guarantee of similar results. Results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Concrete Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

You may also like

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
166 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mike
Mike
8 months ago

Do you know how many times stored, unused, MASONRYSAVER HEAVY DUTY WATER REPELLENT can be frozen and, still be usable?

Katy
Katy
1 year ago

We have a large, elevated concrete decorative deck. 2 coats of an acrylic copolymer sealer was applied last year, however the deck continues to leak. What would you recommend for the best waterproofing gloss sealer to be applied a this point?

Andrew
Andrew
1 year ago

We’re looking to seal an indoor cement floor for an art studio. We used an industrial cement grinder, then applied two coats of decorative cement stain. We’re looking for a roll-on sealer with high gloss that richens the color. We’re not pros. What do you suggest?

Andrew
Andrew
1 year ago

Can we use a top coat without a previous coating, or is this to use over epoxy? Epoxy would be great, but I’ve heard horror stories about applying it as a non-pro.

Bethany
Bethany
1 year ago

Do you suggest a cleaner/ detergent for cleaning concrete with / prior to power wash ?

Bethany
Bethany
1 year ago

15 year old concrete driveway and interlocking concrete brick retaining wall will be power washed and sealed . Which product? How long after washing can they be sealed ?

Lisa
Lisa
1 year ago

Would this work for 100 yea old brick and mortar?

Rick
Rick
1 year ago

Is it ok to apply a second coat of Masonry Saver heavy duty water repellent one day after first coat?

Rick
Rick
1 year ago

OK — THANK YOU

Charles (Rick) E Metzger
Charles (Rick) E Metzger
1 year ago

Yesterday, I sealed the concrete in my new 30′ X 40′ garage using Masonry Saver Heavy Duty water repellent. I waited the recommended 30 days after the concrete was poured before doing so to allow for time to cure. My question is, is it OK to give it a second coat?
I purchased 10 gallons but only used 5 gallons. Would like to use up the remaining by giving it a second coat, but did not know if this is wise or recommended.

Janet
Janet
1 year ago

will the sealer work on the brick mortar also?

Barbara
Barbara
1 year ago

I have a mixed stone retaining wall…what product would you recommend as a water sealant?

Adam
Adam
1 year ago

Hi I need a product that will work on brick that’s been painted. Any suggestions?

Adam
Adam
1 year ago

What other waterproofing options are there? Perhaps a liquid rubber or something? I probably need to rebuild my wall but need a temporary solution for waterproofing even if it’s ugly.

Gus
Gus
1 year ago

Want to do the new garage floor once it’s poured. Can deep penetrating sealer be followed up with epoxy coat? Plan to color the existing floor later and want them to look the same.

hal
hal
2 years ago

I have a brick veneer home and am adding on to it with brick veneer coming off a outside wall 90* two questions. I would like to leave the current outside wall as an interior wall in the new room, so I want to seal this wall. Also, i would like to seal the remaining outside wall so that we have no moisture migrating into the new room. will using this sealer work both places? Also, what prep do i need to do to the existing brick before applying sealer, just spray with bleach and wash off?

Kevin
Kevin
2 years ago

Can this product be applied with a roller? And if so, are there any specific instructions to do so?

Thank you!

Kathryn
Kathryn
2 years ago

Our home is almost six yeasts old. We now know how so many sacks of concrete was returned when brick layers finished.
The mortar has very little concrete mixed in which is resulting in water leakage.
Can you please help us in which product to use. To fill in cracks waterproof

Thank you for your time and help

Susie
Susie
2 years ago

I d like to limewash my kitchen splashback, including behind my cooktop. Would MasonrySaver heavy duty be the right product? I want to be able to wash the wall as often as need be. Also, I don’t want the colour of the limewash to change when I add a sealer.

Cat
Cat
2 years ago
Reply to  Susie

try Simple Green or Lime Away. They sell at Home Depot or Lowes or grocery stores.

Karen
Karen
3 years ago

Can you stain the exterior concrete patio first, then use this sealer on top?

Larry
Larry
3 years ago

I live in Minnesota and my two stall garage floor is in horrific shape. It is 400 sqf and I am going to try to grind it back to life. Will 3 gallons (Defy) be enough for fresh concrete, or should I just go for 5, and can I just reapply any extra at a later date? Thank you for your time.

Jonathan Muniz
Jonathan Muniz
3 years ago

How many coats?

claudio
claudio
3 years ago

Which sealer do you recommend for outdoor/patio new travertine pavers?. Looking to keep original travertine color, hence not wet neither dark, thanks

Maxine Laugle
Maxine Laugle
4 years ago

Does the temperature need to be above a certain number to use this product. Just poured a new floor for a detached garage and it’s Winter right now. Our temps have ranged from 30s-60s lately. Average could go down in the 20s at night and only 30s in the day.

Tim
Tim
4 years ago

I am looking to stop water from coming inside a brick home and want a dealer to stop it at ground level will your product stop it?I have used Thomson’s but no luck.

Tim
Tim
4 years ago
Reply to  Tim

Sealer

Dennis Hathcock
Dennis Hathcock
4 years ago

I have just had a new home built. I am looking for a product that I can use to seal the garage floor with that will not allow oil and grease to be absorbed into the new floor. The concrete was finished in a very smooth finish.

Edward Mauney
Edward Mauney
4 years ago

Live in Georgia near Savannah, so no snow. Want a product to protect concrete and inlayed brick every 20 feet from staining from pine straw. If it lays on the drive more than a day, I have brown marks. Once removed, the sun fades the marks or I can remove with power washer. Do I need a acrylic coating or a penetrating siloxane or a combination of both.

Steve Cook
Steve Cook
4 years ago

I would like a Brick edged pond with the water coming up to half the height of the Brick. Would your product be successful in stopping the water being soaked up by the Brick and the level falling as a result? Thank you.

gary mileski
gary mileski
3 years ago

Then what would you use?

Bart Beeman
Bart Beeman
4 years ago

I have a colored and stamped drive that I’d like to seal without changing the appearance. Sounds like this penetrating sealer would work but I saw a reply in the list that said no, is that correct?

Don S
Don S
4 years ago

what is the concentration of silanes/siloxans in the product? Is it available in 1 gal containers? How much does it cost? Where can it be purchased in MA?

Mike
Mike
4 years ago

I have a concrete patio and in-ground pool apron that is at least 30 years old. The aggregate is visible and the surface is somewhat rough. Would like to seal/protect and make it easier to clean with a long lasting product. What do you recommend?

State=Rhode Island
Exterior
Horizontal
No visible change necessary

Stuart
Stuart
4 years ago

I want a non darkening matte sealer for outdoor concrete pavers that gives me protection from staining – is this the best option?
Thanks

bill
bill
4 years ago

Will this seal against rust stains.

Hank
Hank
4 years ago

Can this be used over a stained garage floor?

Cissy
Cissy
4 years ago

I need to apply a brick sealant to the exterior brick siding of my house – from the first layer of brick that sits on the slab foundation and going up about 14 inches or so – to prevent water seepage through the brick to the sheetrock, insulation, etc from occasional hurricane flood waters that come from the tidal creek behind our house and sits against the brick siding for hours to several days until the rivers recede. Is Masonry Saver Vertical Brick Water Repellant the right product to seal and waterproof the brick siding or is there another product… Read more »

Edward Hacker
Edward Hacker
4 years ago

We have a stamped concrete driveway porch sidewalks that has been seal almost yearly Will this sealer work and help restore the color

Bruce Campbell
Bruce Campbell
4 years ago

In researching Masonry Saver Brick Water Repellent, I see the words “Chimney” or “Vertical” in the name as well. Are these actually three different formulas for different applications? We have (likely) water intrusion from vertical brick work on the side of our house. Storms that blow in from that direction seem to intrude into the attic via those bricks.

Bob F
Bob F
5 years ago

I have a finished/grouted pool deck of travertine and love but it has lost its gloss. I did a sealer about a year ago and I looked nice but didn’t hold up maybe a few months. I did put it in light as I am very afraid of turning it milky over time. So I am looking for a product that won’t do that and give a sheen

craig Honour
craig Honour
5 years ago

Can the Defy MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent be applied over a concrete pool deck that is already coated with acrylic paint and texture?

Ray M
Ray M
5 years ago

Is there a difference between the Heavy Duty Masonry Saver and what looks like the same product but has the Defy label on it.

Rikki C Neeb
Rikki C Neeb
5 years ago

Can I apply this over previously sealed stamped concrete?

chrisc
chrisc
5 years ago

I live in Florida…how is it on cement pavers around my salt water pool…. also any issues doing my driveway also made of cement pavers

Floyd
Floyd
5 years ago

I live in Florida with lot’s of sun, rain and mold. How does your product hold up in this environment?

Terry Cress
Terry Cress
5 years ago

Please give your opinion on Lifeguard Waterproofing Sealant for use on cultured stone.

J. Lerma
J. Lerma
5 years ago

Is this sealer good for brick walls as well?

Andy
Andy
5 years ago

Can u buy this product at lowes or home depot

caroline
caroline
5 years ago

I live in San Francisco California. I want to seal cracks in exterior concrete wall of house and stairs to
prevent water penetration in cracks with no change in appearance. What is the best sealant to use?

Regis
Regis
5 years ago

Can this product be used indoors to seal concrete floor, does is give off frumes

Reg
Reg
6 years ago

We have a 18 year old driveway that has cracks and in some places is worn down to a surface of visible rock. Power washing removed a fine too layer. What do you suggest for repairing and protecting?
We live in Alabama and the driveway gets at least 6 hours of sun.
I remember that when poured this concrete a had a fiber added to the concrete and when finished it had a smooth surface.
Thanks for your help.

Candy A.
Candy A.
6 years ago

Can I use this on my paver driveway to help protect from stains from the occasional old car or motorcycle? I don’t want the “wet look” or for it to be slippery.

Jim S.
Jim S.
6 years ago

How many gallons of Masonry Saver (Defy) are needed to do 600 square feet of concrete pavers around a pool deck? The product information states that one gallon will cover approximately 75-150 square feet, and two coats are required. I imagine the second coat would could more square footage. Please advise.

Jim S.
Jim S.
6 years ago

Paver Sealer

Peggy
Peggy
6 years ago

I want to seal the concrete under a fountain. Will this product work if it is under water all the time? Does this product come in colors?

Sheila
Sheila
6 years ago

Does this product make the surface slippery? Is it a matte finish? Do you recommend for newly poured stampcrete that it cure for 28-30 days before applying?

Jeanie
Jeanie
5 years ago

Why would it not work on stamped concrete? I have colored stamped concrete. Is this typical for sealers in general?

Miya
Miya
7 years ago

Can this product to be shipped to California? Thank you.

166
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x