MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Review 2022  4.9/5 (9)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

Update – MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Review

The MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent is one of our top sealers for waterproofing concrete based on performance and price. If you have any questions or have used the MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent product, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water RepellentMasonrySaver® (Also known as “Defy”) All-Purpose Heavy Duty Water Repellent is a modified siloxane-based product designed to penetrate deeply into most masonry and concrete pores. Unlike acrylics, silicones, and other waterproofing sealers that remain on the surface and trap water vapors, this masonry waterproofing product allows deep penetration of its active ingredient of up to 1/4 inch or more. This proprietary blend of silanes and siloxanes creates a “SaltShield™” barrier on concrete surfaces, for greater resistance to the deteriorating effects of road salts and de-icing chemicals. This 100% breathable concrete waterproofing product is a great choice for both horizontal and vertical above grade surfaces.

Concrete Sealer Ingredients: Blend of Silanes and Siloxanes

Concrete Sealer Type: Invisible Water Repellent. It does not change the appearance.

MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent Scores (1-10)

Ease of Application: 10

– We applied the MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent to a 1000 sq. foot driveway using a plastic pump sprayer. The sealer goes on milky white and dried clear in about 20 minutes. It took less than 30 minutes to seal the entire driveway.

Water Repellency: 8

– We waited a day after the application and then did a water test. The water did bead up well and did not penetrate into the concrete.

Cost per foot: 8 (see note)

– The MasonrySaver Heavy Duty is very reasonably priced at $219.99 per 5-gallon pail. We used 10 gallons of the sealer for our 1000 sq. foot driveway. This came out to $.14 per foot.

Note: Mistake on Calculation. We actually used 7 gallons for a cost of $.30 per foot.

Durability/Spalling After 2 Years: 9

– After 2  years the MasonrySaver Heavy Duty sealer still performed well with the beading water test. There was no pitting or spalling of the concrete.

Warranty: 8

MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent comes with a 7-year warranty that states: “All-Purpose Heavy-Duty Water Repellent will exhibit a water repellent effect for seven years from the date of application if applied according to label instructions and if minimum application requirements are met.”

Overall Score MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent: 8.7

– We really like this sealer. It is easy to apply, durable warranty, and beads water well. Cost is more than fair as well.

Top choice for sealing and waterproofing any existing concrete surfaces.

Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: MasonrySaver (Defy) Heavy Duty Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Concrete, Brick, Masonry, Natural Stone
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 75-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Saver Systems

Test Stats:

Surface Type: Concrete Driveway
Exposure: Heavy Traffic, Snow, Salts, Rain
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
137 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
hal
hal
3 months ago

I have a brick veneer home and am adding on to it with brick veneer coming off a outside wall 90* two questions. I would like to leave the current outside wall as an interior wall in the new room, so I want to seal this wall. Also, i would like to seal the remaining outside wall so that we have no moisture migrating into the new room. will using this sealer work both places? Also, what prep do i need to do to the existing brick before applying sealer, just spray with bleach and wash off?

Kevin
Kevin
8 months ago

Can this product be applied with a roller? And if so, are there any specific instructions to do so?

Thank you!

Kathryn
Kathryn
8 months ago

Our home is almost six yeasts old. We now know how so many sacks of concrete was returned when brick layers finished.
The mortar has very little concrete mixed in which is resulting in water leakage.
Can you please help us in which product to use. To fill in cracks waterproof

Thank you for your time and help

Susie
Susie
10 months ago

I d like to limewash my kitchen splashback, including behind my cooktop. Would MasonrySaver heavy duty be the right product? I want to be able to wash the wall as often as need be. Also, I don’t want the colour of the limewash to change when I add a sealer.

Cat
Cat
8 months ago
Reply to  Susie

try Simple Green or Lime Away. They sell at Home Depot or Lowes or grocery stores.

Karen
Karen
1 year ago

Can you stain the exterior concrete patio first, then use this sealer on top?

Larry
Larry
1 year ago

I live in Minnesota and my two stall garage floor is in horrific shape. It is 400 sqf and I am going to try to grind it back to life. Will 3 gallons (Defy) be enough for fresh concrete, or should I just go for 5, and can I just reapply any extra at a later date? Thank you for your time.

Jonathan Muniz
Jonathan Muniz
1 year ago

How many coats?

claudio
claudio
1 year ago

Which sealer do you recommend for outdoor/patio new travertine pavers?. Looking to keep original travertine color, hence not wet neither dark, thanks

Maxine Laugle
Maxine Laugle
2 years ago

Does the temperature need to be above a certain number to use this product. Just poured a new floor for a detached garage and it’s Winter right now. Our temps have ranged from 30s-60s lately. Average could go down in the 20s at night and only 30s in the day.

Tim
Tim
2 years ago

I am looking to stop water from coming inside a brick home and want a dealer to stop it at ground level will your product stop it?I have used Thomson’s but no luck.

Tim
Tim
2 years ago
Reply to  Tim

Sealer

Dennis Hathcock
Dennis Hathcock
2 years ago

I have just had a new home built. I am looking for a product that I can use to seal the garage floor with that will not allow oil and grease to be absorbed into the new floor. The concrete was finished in a very smooth finish.

Edward Mauney
Edward Mauney
2 years ago

Live in Georgia near Savannah, so no snow. Want a product to protect concrete and inlayed brick every 20 feet from staining from pine straw. If it lays on the drive more than a day, I have brown marks. Once removed, the sun fades the marks or I can remove with power washer. Do I need a acrylic coating or a penetrating siloxane or a combination of both.

Steve Cook
Steve Cook
2 years ago

I would like a Brick edged pond with the water coming up to half the height of the Brick. Would your product be successful in stopping the water being soaked up by the Brick and the level falling as a result? Thank you.

gary mileski
gary mileski
1 year ago

Then what would you use?

Bart Beeman
Bart Beeman
2 years ago

I have a colored and stamped drive that I’d like to seal without changing the appearance. Sounds like this penetrating sealer would work but I saw a reply in the list that said no, is that correct?

Don S
Don S
2 years ago

what is the concentration of silanes/siloxans in the product? Is it available in 1 gal containers? How much does it cost? Where can it be purchased in MA?

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

I have a concrete patio and in-ground pool apron that is at least 30 years old. The aggregate is visible and the surface is somewhat rough. Would like to seal/protect and make it easier to clean with a long lasting product. What do you recommend?

State=Rhode Island
Exterior
Horizontal
No visible change necessary

Stuart
Stuart
2 years ago

I want a non darkening matte sealer for outdoor concrete pavers that gives me protection from staining – is this the best option?
Thanks

bill
bill
2 years ago

Will this seal against rust stains.

Hank
Hank
2 years ago

Can this be used over a stained garage floor?

Cissy
Cissy
2 years ago

I need to apply a brick sealant to the exterior brick siding of my house – from the first layer of brick that sits on the slab foundation and going up about 14 inches or so – to prevent water seepage through the brick to the sheetrock, insulation, etc from occasional hurricane flood waters that come from the tidal creek behind our house and sits against the brick siding for hours to several days until the rivers recede. Is Masonry Saver Vertical Brick Water Repellant the right product to seal and waterproof the brick siding or is there another product… Read more »

Edward Hacker
Edward Hacker
2 years ago

We have a stamped concrete driveway porch sidewalks that has been seal almost yearly Will this sealer work and help restore the color

Bruce Campbell
Bruce Campbell
2 years ago

In researching Masonry Saver Brick Water Repellent, I see the words “Chimney” or “Vertical” in the name as well. Are these actually three different formulas for different applications? We have (likely) water intrusion from vertical brick work on the side of our house. Storms that blow in from that direction seem to intrude into the attic via those bricks.

Bob F
Bob F
2 years ago

I have a finished/grouted pool deck of travertine and love but it has lost its gloss. I did a sealer about a year ago and I looked nice but didn’t hold up maybe a few months. I did put it in light as I am very afraid of turning it milky over time. So I am looking for a product that won’t do that and give a sheen

craig Honour
craig Honour
3 years ago

Can the Defy MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent be applied over a concrete pool deck that is already coated with acrylic paint and texture?

Ray M
Ray M
3 years ago

Is there a difference between the Heavy Duty Masonry Saver and what looks like the same product but has the Defy label on it.

Rikki C Neeb
Rikki C Neeb
3 years ago

Can I apply this over previously sealed stamped concrete?

chrisc
chrisc
3 years ago

I live in Florida…how is it on cement pavers around my salt water pool…. also any issues doing my driveway also made of cement pavers

Floyd
Floyd
3 years ago

I live in Florida with lot’s of sun, rain and mold. How does your product hold up in this environment?

Terry Cress
Terry Cress
3 years ago

Please give your opinion on Lifeguard Waterproofing Sealant for use on cultured stone.

J. Lerma
J. Lerma
3 years ago

Is this sealer good for brick walls as well?

Andy
Andy
3 years ago

Can u buy this product at lowes or home depot

caroline
caroline
3 years ago

I live in San Francisco California. I want to seal cracks in exterior concrete wall of house and stairs to
prevent water penetration in cracks with no change in appearance. What is the best sealant to use?

Regis
Regis
3 years ago

Can this product be used indoors to seal concrete floor, does is give off frumes

Reg
Reg
3 years ago

We have a 18 year old driveway that has cracks and in some places is worn down to a surface of visible rock. Power washing removed a fine too layer. What do you suggest for repairing and protecting?
We live in Alabama and the driveway gets at least 6 hours of sun.
I remember that when poured this concrete a had a fiber added to the concrete and when finished it had a smooth surface.
Thanks for your help.

Candy A.
Candy A.
3 years ago

Can I use this on my paver driveway to help protect from stains from the occasional old car or motorcycle? I don’t want the “wet look” or for it to be slippery.

Jim S.
Jim S.
4 years ago

How many gallons of Masonry Saver (Defy) are needed to do 600 square feet of concrete pavers around a pool deck? The product information states that one gallon will cover approximately 75-150 square feet, and two coats are required. I imagine the second coat would could more square footage. Please advise.

Jim S.
Jim S.
3 years ago

Paver Sealer

Peggy
Peggy
4 years ago

I want to seal the concrete under a fountain. Will this product work if it is under water all the time? Does this product come in colors?

Sheila
Sheila
4 years ago

Does this product make the surface slippery? Is it a matte finish? Do you recommend for newly poured stampcrete that it cure for 28-30 days before applying?

Jeanie
Jeanie
2 years ago

Why would it not work on stamped concrete? I have colored stamped concrete. Is this typical for sealers in general?

Miya
Miya
5 years ago

Can this product to be shipped to California? Thank you.

Mike
Mike
5 years ago

Last year I used the Behr premium sealer, but several areas of my brick and mortar exterior walls need a sealer again. I want to use the Defy product. Do you recommend I just use the Defy on the areas that need a New application, or can I use it everyone and apply over the remains Behr sealer? Will Defy work when applying over another sealer?

Misty
Misty
5 years ago

We had a large, 20 foot, modern patio poured with voids for border shrubs and raised portions for gardens and a fire pit. It was acid stained a very light grey. It was beautiful. Then our contractor sealed it with, …?…, and now it is several shades darker, reflective, much hotter in sun, slightly glossy and I hate it. It completely changed the look I was going for. He clearly should have used something like this MasonrySaver. Is there anything we can do? Would it be difficult or safe to remove somehow? If so would it also remove the stain?… Read more »

Mr. Baker
Mr. Baker
5 years ago

We have a 900-sq ft concrete balcony, poured over galvanized sheathing. It's exposed to Chicago weather. (1) Will this product protect from water seeping through the concrete? (2) Will this product yield a surface with good enough traction for foot traffic? One answer below said the treated surface "should not" be slippery. Sounds doubtful.

Pep
Pep
6 years ago

Can you use this Sealer on a vertical exterior brick wall to stop water penetration to other side of the brick and stop the run down of the water on the "inside" side of the brick?

Montana Bob
Montana Bob
6 years ago

1. What State do you live in? Western Montana (warmer than Eastern Montana less snow). 2. Interior or Exterior concrete surface? Exterior (majority under a carport, balance is exterior exposed to weather 3. Vertical or Horizontal application? Horizontal 4. Change or enhance appearance (gloss or wet look) or no change of appearance? Wet Look 5. Type of surface: New concrete driveway (3,500 pound mix, 6″ thick slab, epoxy-doweled to existing garage floor and re-bar reinforced and brushed surface) 6. Purpose: To prevent spalling, salt, de-icer and rain damage. ***Of particular importance is that the surface is protected against staining by… Read more »

Rich
Rich
6 years ago

Looking for a great sealant now that i can paint or coat over 2-3 yrs in future. My conditions::: Northern Michigan, untravelled , 90 day cured concrete ,1800 sq ft recenty acid etched trowel finished floor and brushed approach slabs. Building is 1.6 miles into the woods on dirt road… Hot Tire issue probably a non issue here. Radon seal gets some high ratings. Any suggestions welcome. Thx rz

Rich Z
Rich Z
6 years ago

thank you, Is this product any better than the many sealers out there at about the same price? Have no desire for shine, but a color enhancer or whatever uniform grey look I could get with a surface penetrating / strengthening sealer is very desirable. Not interested in the epoxy process.

John H.
John H.
7 years ago

I am looking for the best stain blocking sealer for my regular poured concrete driveway. I have a lot of trees that drop leaves and tassels on my driveway and if left alone will stain the concrete black. I used a pressure washer to remove all of the black stain and now I want to seal the concrete to prevent the stain from coming back. What's the best sealer to use?

Masonry NY
Masonry NY
7 years ago

Are these guys from NY, i need help on masonry in New York.

Carmen
Carmen
7 years ago

Can you paint over the sealer to enhance a look?

Judy
Judy
7 years ago

Is this product recommended for use on roof tiles to seal against moisture? I am trying to eliminate mold build -up on my roof. If not can you recommend another product?

Joe
Joe
7 years ago

Is this good for a brick chimney or would recommend another product? The house is waterfront, if that makes a difference?

Bob
Bob
7 years ago

In addition to oil stain protection I would like a sealer that provides enhances the look of pavers such as those that give a wet look. Will Masonry Saver do this?

Slav
Slav
6 years ago

Is there some other product that could be used in combination with this one to enhance the look? I applied this one last night, and you can't tell that anything's been done. I wonder if it's too late to do anything else.

Rich Z
Rich Z
6 years ago

hi, Enhancing sealer? Same penetrating qualities? Details please?

Erik
Erik
6 years ago

You mean an enhancing sealer would go on one day before the masonry saver and a 2nd day the masonry saver could go on after that? If so which enhancing saver would you suggest? Thank you

137
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x