Siloxane Based Concrete Sealers  5/5 (4)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

Siloxane Concrete Sealers

Siloxane Concrete Sealers

Siloxane Based Concrete Sealers Update

In this updated article, we talk about Siloxane Based Concrete Sealers. If you have encountered any issues and have any suggestions or have any questions, please comment below.


Penetrating Siloxane Concrete Sealers

Siloxane Based Sealers are Best for Poured Concrete, Brick, and all Masonry Surfaces.

Siloxane, not to be confused with Silicone, is a chemical that is used to formulate siloxane-based concrete and paver sealers. Siloxane-based sealers can be water or solvent-based although the water-based blend of siloxane sealers is lower in VOC and more compliant in certain states.

These siloxane sealers are popular among homeowners because they are user friendly and easy to apply. They penetrate into the surface and react to cause a hardened barrier within the substrate pores. They do not stay on top of the surface like other sealers.

The siloxane-based sealers, penetrate up to a ¼ inch deep to create a durable barrier against moisture and liquid absorption. It is best used on concrete, pavers, bricks, stone, retaining walls, and more. The clear, natural finish does not affect the appearance of the surface.

Other types of these sealers are a hybrid blend of siloxane and silanes. These include SuperSeal M and Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Water Repellent, also known as Defy. With the 100% breathable capabilities of a siloxane and silane-based sealer, they are not prone to peeling or flaking like other moisture trapping sealers.

Applying siloxane-based sealers is easy enough for almost any homeowner to do. They can be applied using a brush, roller, or for larger areas a pump sprayer can be used. They may appear milky when they are first applied but then dry clear within 20-30 minutes.

Substrates sealed with siloxane-based sealers will repel water within one day and will not allow moisture penetration. Locking out moisture is the key to maintaining paver and concrete surfaces. When water is allowed to be absorbed into substrates, it can cause a wide array of damage.

Salts and de-icing chemicals are extremely hard on concrete surfaces. Oil and other spills that penetrate can leave permanent staining. In colder climates, freeze/thaw damage is a huge concern. Sealing your hardscape surfaces with a siloxane-based sealer will prevent these unwanted occurrences from happening by repelling moisture and stains to leave your surfaces looking new.

The siloxane/silane/silox sealer types react chemically with the concrete, creating an internal seal. Most will last 5+ years. An excellent choice for sealing and water-repelling all exterior concrete surfaces without changing the appearance of the substrate.

Have a Question? Please Ask Below!


Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
56 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tanya
Tanya
12 days ago

A salesman told me that silicone applied over cement repels stains. So I had this bright idea that maybe I could apply your product on my exterior window sills (painted wood) so that spider poop can’t stain my window sills. Would your product work in this application? I can almost hear you laughing now! I am desperate to find a product that makes spider poop easy to clean off painted wood surfaces and not permanently stain them. Thank you!

Tanya Collins
Tanya Collins
12 days ago

Yaaa we can’t spray enough. Ok thanks

Jim
Jim
4 months ago

what temperature can this be applied?

Norm
Norm
4 months ago

I have an inside concrete floor that wicks moisture. Can I seal the concrete with a siloxane/silane sealer, and then apply a finish colored epoxy over the siloxane/silane material?

Norm
Norm
4 months ago

How can I best seal water from coming up through the slab with no vapor barrier? What is the best material currently available? It doesn’t have to be water based.

Sprocket
Sprocket
5 months ago

We had a new house built about 3 years ago. It is a brick house with siding on the gables. Every time we have a blowing rain, it leaks in our basement. Now the builder wants to seal the brick to see if this will solve the problem. What would be the best sealant to use so we can recommend it to them?

Murph
Murph
6 months ago

Is there any sealer for cultured stone that is silane or siloxane based (which is recommended) which also enhances the stone? Stonefish sealer is advertised as such but I paid $139 for a gallon and it does nothing to enhance the stone.

Murph
Murph
6 months ago

Thanks, do you know of a “breathable” sealant that seals and enhances cultured stone?

ROBERT BEHRENS
ROBERT BEHRENS
1 year ago

IS SILOXANE HARMFUL TO ANY OF OUR LANDSCAPING ITEMS? AND IS YOUR PRODUCTS WATER BASED?

Alice
Alice
2 years ago

Does this sealer prevent tire marks in the driveway?

David Schmidt
David Schmidt
2 years ago

We have a Nature Stone surface deck around our pool area and are considering applying the siloxane-based sealer. The previous Nature Stone coating was a 2 part based epoxy covering. It is time to clean the nature stone and re-apply a coating. Would this product be appropriate? Are any special steps needed around a pool area?

Anthony Cannizzaro
Anthony Cannizzaro
2 years ago

just used granite grip on my concrete pool deck. What sealer can I use

Vince
Vince
2 years ago

Have a new exposed aggregate driveway. Should I use a densifier in addition to a siloxane/silane sealer?

Maureen Rennie
Maureen Rennie
3 years ago

Can this product either Solvent or waterbased be applied over a previous wax based repellent? Will it absorb?

Maureen
Maureen
3 years ago

My painter came back to reseal my brick facaded house and I left out for him to use the Armour seal product which I had bought because of the solid reviews. The painter now tells me that 3 years ago he used “Thompson water seal for decks!” This shocked me but at the time I trusted his knowledge of brick watersealing (my bad). Now I am wondering if I have him spray the Armour, a much more quality and appropriate penetrating material, will it even penetrate? What should I do? I have seen areas that bead when water is sprayed,… Read more »

Work on this stone in the same way it would work o
Work on this stone in the same way it would work o
3 years ago

I have a patio of three Rivers stone, a very hard stone. Will Siloxa Work on this stone in the same way it would work on my patio pavers or concrete?

Rhonda Ingle
Rhonda Ingle
3 years ago

I have a finished basement with brick floors. It floods in sever storms. I have had it dug out,sealed, and the dirt replaced. It still floods in the center of it. It seems to be coming up from the ground. Is there anything I can do to block the water?

Rhonda Ingle
Rhonda Ingle
3 years ago

How do I stop the leak?

Timothy
Timothy
3 years ago

Have an existing paver driveway in MN. I am a concrete contractor. Whats your thoughts on using a siloxane sealer on pavers. Do not want slippery but just to enhance color? Thanks

Marta
Marta
4 years ago

My brick basement walls were painted on the inside with a white sealant more than 50 years ago. Ground level is near the ceiling. I suspect i may have a high water table during severe storms. The sealant is intact in the dry areas, but has failed where water pressure forced it's way in and has caused serious effervescence. Upon reading the reviews, I realized that most of the situations are to prevent water from getting into the brick or concretein the first place. I have the opposite problem. I want to prevent the water from leaking through the wall… Read more »

JS
JS
5 years ago

I am confused, I thought I read that for a veneer brick home, you should ONLY apply waterproofing and not a sealer. What really is the difference?

bub
bub
5 years ago

I applied Behr Premium Protector & Waterproofer to my exposed aggregate concrete pool deck two years ago. It worked well, but I thought I was supposed to apply it every 2 years. When I reapplied it after 2 years it did not penetrate the concrete and has now discolored some of the deck, i.e, there are dark pathches on the deck where the product did not penetrate the concrete. I've tried pressure washing the dark areas , but that has not worked. Is there a product I can use to just remove the sealer on the surface of the concrete… Read more »

elizabeth gregg
elizabeth gregg
5 years ago

I have a contractor that applied the Siloxane Modified Methyl Mathacrylate sealer on my courtyard patio. The finish was uneven and looked terrible. He has now applied more of the sealer and applied a spray that adds a look of texture. It still looks terrible and uneven. I can send pictures if that will help. I am concerned that I have paid $4000 for a finish that now looks terrible. He had tried to roll the sealer on but he left roller marks and then he tried the sprayer but achieved an uneven and fake look. I am wondering if… Read more »

Jim
Jim
5 years ago

which is better for a brick home, wqter base or solvent base

Jun
Jun
7 years ago

How about Armor SX5000 ? Is this a better product?

MommyX3
MommyX3
7 years ago
Reply to  Jun

SX5000 has 40% active materials, and it is approved by the Department of Transportation. There are a lot of great products on the market, which one you go with depends on your application, preference, and budget.

Jon
Jon
6 years ago
Reply to  Jun

I would highly recommend staying away from Foundation Armor SX5000. Take a look at my negative experience, complete with photos, from my review of my (verified) purchase on Amazon, here: http://goo.gl/rKHBrR – I hope that it helps someone else.

CRBman
CRBman
7 years ago

I have a steel troweled garage floor and am trying to decide on what type of sealer to use. I have narrowed it down to a penetrating sealer but amd not sure if I should use a silane or siloxane sealer to provide me with the best protection from salt, oil and gasoline. Can you give me any advice? Thanks

Heather Schnurr
Heather Schnurr
7 years ago

We mistakenly applied a siloxane polymer concrete sealer over another sealer that was on our concrete. The concrete is acid etched and is inside. Needless to say the sealer just sat on top of the old sealer and now we are trying to remove the siloxane polymer without much success. Any ideas for us please. Thank you in advance

Mr. Muto
Mr. Muto
8 years ago

3 Questions 1. I have a paver driveway (Heritage paving stone) (slate blend) in Pennsylvania, we use polymeric sand – what would be a good sealer to use to keep the natural look? The paver company recommends Alliance Gator Seal Natural Look. 2. I have an outdoor fireplace on a concrete deck (which the deck is rubber membrane) and the hearth stone (only part that does not have membrane) is Indiana limestone, and water is being absorbed in the stone and leaking below the deck. Can you recommend a sealer that would stop the water? 3. People I have asked… Read more »

56
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x