Super Diamond Clear Sealer Review  4.1/5 (25)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

Super Diamond Clear

Super Diamond Clear

Update 2022 for Super Diamond Clear Sealer

As of 2022, we have found that the Super Diamond Clear Sealer has shown decent results on Stamped Concrete, Brick Pavers, and other Decorative Concrete Surfaces but does have a tendency to turn white from the UV rays. If you have any questions on the Super Diamond Clear Sealer product, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


SUPER DIAMOND CLEAR is a solvent-based curing and sealing compound specially designed to cure new concrete, assuring proper cement hydration and strength gain, while providing a non-yellowing seal to protect and enhance the appearance of concrete.

Super Diamond Clear Sealer Scores (1-10)

Wet Look: 9

– We were very impressed with the Super Diamond Clear darkening/enhancing the stamped concrete patio. The overall look and colors were enhanced well.

Gloss Level: 8

– Super Diamond clear contains 25% solids according to the manufacturer. This sealer left a nice semi-gloss shine to the stamped concrete patio. We did notice that the Diamond Clear looked stunning when dried.

Joint Sand Hardening: n/a

– It does not apply as we used the Diamond Clear on a Stamped Concrete Patio that contained no jointing sand.

Fading/wearing After 2 Years: 7

– The Diamond Clear did fairly well with fading after 2 years and was on par with other solvent-based sealers containing similar amounts of acrylic. There was not visible wearing or peeling.

White Haze/Yellowing: 6

– We were not impressed with the Diamond Clear when it came to the dreaded white haze. It did not turn white completely but it definitely left a light white look to the sealer and patio.

Overall Score Super Diamond Clear at 2 Year Period: 7.5

– Overall the Super Diamond Clear did well except with the white hazing. We were very impressed with the appearance after application and it did seem to hold up fairly well through the years.

Not a bad sealer but not the best either.

Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: Super Diamond Clear Sealer
Sealer Type: Semi-Gloss Solvent-Based Acrylic
Types of Substrates: Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Decorative Concrete
Coats Required: 1 coat or 2 thin coats for a higher gloss.
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-125 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Metal Sprayer
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Xylene or Lacquer Thinner
VOC Compliant: Not compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Euclid Chemical

Test Stats:

Surface Type: Stamped Concrete Patio
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
183 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
James
James
2 hours ago

I have white blotch spots on my multi-color (Increte) stamped concrete patio after sealing with diamond clear. Additionally, due due high UV I need to seal the patio yearly. Are these spots old sealer build-up,or issues where the release agent has unadhered from the concrete? Aside from soda blasting what is the best method to remove the old sealer and fully strip? Lastly, the patio looks great when it rains, what sealer can I use to mirror a wet look, and should that sealer be water based?

20220512_112709.jpg
Eric Moore
Eric Moore
12 days ago

When should you use this product on new concrete

dav
dav
19 days ago

can I re emusify super diamond clear with xylene like other products say? I am in the first 24 hours after application.. I have some streaky bubbles .

Ron
Ron
2 months ago

I currently have Eulid’s Super Diamond Clear on my stamped concrete patio. When the concrete was originally poured a color additive (adobe brown) was used. Removal and recoating is needed but I’m concerned the removal chemical will discolor the brown tint in the concrete. Suggested removal chemicals are Euclid Solvent, Xylene, Xylol and MEK. Do you have a recommendation of which to use or is there a suggestion of another removal chemical you have experience. I’m concerned about discoloring the tinted concrete. Attached is a photo. There is not much left of the sealer. Primarily where chairs normally located. Attached… Read more »

DD4979F4-2EFB-4689-9516-6CBEDFF1DD36.jpeg
Ron
Ron
4 months ago

I use Super Diamond Clear on our driveway and there is a very noticeable color variation. I applied a heavy coat with a roller. I believe I should have put a much thinner coat. Also we have heavy lime and iron content in our water. Would the color variation of the sealer be a result of this? What else could possibly cause the various of color? The driveway is stamped concrete with a brown tint. I’ve included a picture. Thanks.

A078D7DC-6CB9-46ED-9100-F5C352430C05.jpeg
Nathan Townsend
Nathan Townsend
8 months ago

Do I apply diamond sealer 350 before or after Sika Flex?

Durayne Hood
Durayne Hood
8 months ago

I have a new concrete shop floor with sawed expansion joints. The joints are about1/16 wide and 3/4 deep. I’ve been told to fill joint with a silicone caulk, but the joint is pretty small. Should I let the joint fill with sealer instead?

Kbon
Kbon
9 months ago

After 2 years the super diamond clear turned a green- yellow. How best to clean the surface before recoating?

Last edited 9 months ago by Kbon
Dwayne
Dwayne
10 months ago

Purchased Super Diamond Clear 350, was told to mix 5 Parts Super Diamond to 1 Part Xylene for application. That does not follow instructions on pail.

Paul
Paul
11 months ago

It has a nice finish but the problem is it turns yellow from the sun

Jen
Jen
1 year ago

I have white foggy spots on my stamped concrete that has been sealed with super diamond clear. Xylene has been used to fix this. Is it possible to strip the sealer off and apply new? If so, how is this done?

Frank Albano
Frank Albano
1 year ago

If the super diamond is to thick to spray
How do u apply it?

FRANK
FRANK
1 year ago

Just purchased Super Diamond clear sealer, what is the best sprayer to use, I hate to spend a lot money on a sprayer is a roller a option.

Larry Randall
Larry Randall
1 year ago

where can i buy super diamond clear seal?

Kathleen
Kathleen
1 year ago

Just had this put on my concrete bathroom floor. Is it safe, health wise, to stay in the house while it is drying and the fumes are strong?

Jaime
Jaime
1 year ago

Has this product been used to seal basement floors?

Tom Del Bello
Tom Del Bello
1 year ago

I have used diamond seal 750 on my pool deck since the original installation at the recommendation of my contractor 3 years ago. The deck is a dark brown stamped finish and it has been a battle maintaining the wet, clean look. Am I using the wrong product? Fresh coat was applied in April when we had a warm spell for 2 weeks and it looks like it was never done! 😡 HELP!!!!

Marc Robinson
Marc Robinson
1 year ago

I have used Super Diamond Clear as a sealer on my driveway through the years. The store where I purchased 5 gallon drums was discontinuing the sale of this product so I purchased their remaining stock and have stored the drums in my basement away from excessive heat or cold. I have 2 drums remaining that have never been opened but noticed that the it states on the lid “to be used by 8/17”. Can I still use these 2 drums or should they be disposed?

Kyle Mccall
Kyle Mccall
1 year ago
Reply to  Marc Robinson

Where are you located

Nancy
Nancy
1 year ago

How do I strip of old sealer

John Bennett
John Bennett
1 year ago

Can Super Grip be put on top of pavers already sealed?

Corryl N Parr
Corryl N Parr
1 year ago

I have applied Diamond Clear in the past to my driveway and wonder if I could try another solvent-based brand or if I have to keep using this one? Your rating gives it a 7.5….looking for something with a higher rating overall – just curious if I can a few more years in-between applications. At this point, I am resealing every 2-3 years. Also, I really like the effect of the brown tint on the exposed aggregate driveway – if you agree that I can use another brand of a solvent-based product without adherence issues – which one is highest-rated… Read more »

marlo maddy
marlo maddy
2 years ago

What kind of sprayer do I use to apply Super Diamond clear?

marlo maddy
marlo maddy
2 years ago

What is the best product to seal a natural Flagstone patio?

Màrc Tessier
Màrc Tessier
2 years ago

Is super diamond sealer ok to use after use before date

Robert Fahl
Robert Fahl
2 years ago

Picture of Super Diamond Clear associated with Robert Fahl question

98D18150-6A0B-4DC3-9324-723D4E21AFB7.jpeg
Robert Fahl
Robert Fahl
2 years ago

We have a pool deck where I a putting down Super Diamond Clear every year as our pool is out in 90 to 100 degree whether in the summer. We were told to do this by the contractor who initially stained and sealed our deck. Where we might have a rug on the deck, the sealant stays fresh, but where the sun hits it, it needs refreshed every year. Am I using the wrong sealant? We would like not have to do this every. Any suggestion?

Joe
Joe
2 years ago

what is your best product for resealing interior concrete?

Susan arkfeld
Susan arkfeld
2 years ago

We recently had this product applied to our 20 year old garage floor. It dried in a brown mottled, shiny in spots, not in others uninformed finish that is not appealing. What could have caused this?

Robert Keller
Robert Keller
2 years ago

We have used Superior Diamond Clear Coat before at our previous home where we had “omni stone” around our pool. The stone was a deep red color . It worked fine. So now we decided to use it at our new home on our very large concrete driveway and it looks like someone smeared dog poop all over the concrete.. It is blotchy and shows roller lines. I guess we will need to use concrete sealer stripper and I will NEVER use Clear Coat 350 again! at $200+ for a 5 gallon can.

Michael Ryan
Michael Ryan
2 years ago

I have pavers which are cemented with polymer sand. These have been in place for over 2 years, once sealed with Valspar sealer. Can I now use Super Diamond clear sealer. One test paver looked good, concerned about polymer sand.

Dean palm
Dean palm
2 years ago

If it says use buy 09/17 will it affect the look on flag stone

Pamela M Hutchinson
Pamela M Hutchinson
2 years ago

Do you apply it before or after you apply the filler to pavers .we were told to apply before we put the silicone filler

Jim
Jim
2 years ago

I have the same white ghosting as others listed below. What product can I use to strip it off and then reseal with another product?

Also I have an automatic pool cover and every time I close the pool the cover sticks to the concrete. I have to physically pull it off the concrete before the motor can roll the cover up. Any suggestions on how to unstick it?

Dee Miller
Dee Miller
2 years ago

I only want gallon size amount, not 5 gallons. Where can I get only a gallon?

Tom Lavagetto
Tom Lavagetto
2 years ago

Is this product toxic and dangerous to human health?

E Szajner
E Szajner
2 years ago

Can you roll the super diamond sealer, or do you have to spray it?

E Szajner
E Szajner
2 years ago

Thanks. I was just looking over the stamped concrete and it does have some fairly deep impressions. If rolled, do I need to put extra product on to cover the crevices completely? or brush in?

E Szajner
E Szajner
2 years ago

The stamped concrete used to have a gray over-color in parts. That is gone. Is there something we can use to simulate that – with or before – sealing?

E Szajner
E Szajner
2 years ago

I apologize if this question went through already, but my concrete used to be two toned. It only has its base color now (the gray is gone). Is there something that I can apply before or during sealing that would give it that two toned dimension again?

Eric
Eric
3 years ago

Super Seal 30 vs Supreme Shield SB-600 for 2 year old exposed aggregate in Michigan. You seem to love the 30 but give higher praise (rating) to 600…. So, which one should we all use on this forum??

mike mathis
mike mathis
3 years ago

With a two coat application, how long between coats?

sam
sam
3 years ago

used super diamond clear in a finished stained basement floor before construction was done. Now that construction is done there are scratches and gouges. can i use a buffer and reseal?

Tony Lennen
Tony Lennen
3 years ago

Can i use this over a previously installed Valspar sealant or do I have to strp that first. Tx

Andrew
Andrew
4 years ago

would you use Superseal25 semigloss near a pool?

JTB
JTB
4 years ago

ANY CLEANING AND OR MAINTENANCE PROTOCAL?

John Stuckman
John Stuckman
4 years ago

we used super diamond clear on a stamped pad and it turned white from bubbles. tried resealing it with another cote and it came out the same . went back and put xylene on it in an attempt to reimulsify it it now has little larger bubbles all over it. wishing we had not used this product.
the non voc sealers we used before were much better products

Jeff
Jeff
4 years ago

Less than impressed with this….it does make my stamped look wet, but not that impressive shine of beautiful stamped concrete, basically it looks like it may have lightly rained on it, there's hardly any shine to it…I almost wanna say it looks worse than before sealing it. I applied the "thin" coat I was told over and over to do at the concrete supply around here. Unless I went too thin, but I won't use this again.

Ressa
Ressa
4 years ago

I love this product. We have a colored concrete driveway and a darker stamped sidewalk. We have used this product for the last 11 years. We re-do it every other summer. We have NEVER has any issues with it. If it yellowed or cracked it was probably not applied correctly. Do not apply it too thick or else it will peel or flake off. We do take the time to prepare the surface. Acid wash to get off anything so there won't be any issues. Also if you do it in hot weather it won't last. Love this product.

Dan (homeowner)
Dan (homeowner)
4 years ago

I must respectfully disagree with the reviewer. The contractor who poured my stamped concrete patio applied Super Diamond Clear sealer to it. It probably did help with the curing as I have no cracks, HOWEVER~ 2 years later, this product did yellow horribly and develop a nasty white haze. If I had to guess, I would say it was 50-60% transparent, but like looking through very cloudy amber. In other words, I could see about 50% of the original color through the white yellowy haze. It looked like my patio had cataracts. It is a messy nightmare to remove it… Read more »

Shirley
Shirley
4 years ago

Beware do not use this product. Gave it a second chance. What a mistake. It turned my beautiful red Arizona stamped concrete patio into a milky white mess. Followed instructions to a tee. Results both times the same. Ewwwwwwww

Cynthia padin
Cynthia padin
4 years ago

Can u use this in concrete driveway?

Brian Hathaway
Brian Hathaway
4 years ago

i am sealing an area around a saltwater pool approximately 1100 sq ft. thw aeea gets sun from 7 am to 9 pm. when would be the best time to install the sealer without having any issues with blushing or bubbling. todays temperature is goinv to reach 84º by 1 pm.

ricky clark
ricky clark
4 years ago

I put on super diamond clear , first coat looked great put on second coat with shark grip , now you can see every roller mark , went over thin third coat still no difference in look , any way to fix this were roller lines will not show ?_

183
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x