SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent Review 2022  5/5 (9)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

Update – SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent Review

The SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent is one of our top sealers for waterproofing concrete based on performance and price. If you have any questions or have used the SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent product, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


SuperSeal M SealerSUPER SEAL-M is a water-based Silicone Water Repellent made of a special hybrid of Silane and Siloxane. SUPER SEAL-M provides water repellency to porous construction materials such as bricks, stone, concrete blocks, mortar, and grout. It is not suitable for very low-porosity substrates such as polished stone.

The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent Sealer are a mixture of different-size particles-some larger, some smaller to fill different size voids. This ensures good penetration into porous substrates, resulting in good coverage and durable water repellency. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent can chemically react with the substrate, ensuring long-lasting performance.

Concrete Sealer Ingredients: Blend of Silanes and Siloxanes

Concrete Sealer Type: Penetrating Clear Water Repellent

SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent Scores (1-10)

Ease of Application: 10

– The SuperSeal M was applied to a new concrete driveway the day after installation. SuperSeal specifically says that the sealer can be applied to new concrete as soon as the bead water is gone from the install. We used 5 gallons for the 1000 sq. feet. It took 30 minutes to apply and did not have any issues.

Water Repellency: 8

– After 3 days we tested the water beading with the garden hose. All of the water beaded up on the driveway with a light mist of water. A heavier saturation and the water still did not penetrate into the concrete.

Cost per foot: 10

– We bought a 5-gallon pail of the SuperSeal M for $170 from our local store in TN. We only needed 5 gallons to cover the entire driveway. That comes to $.15 a sq. foot.

Durability/Spalling After 2 Years: 8

– After 2 years the new concrete driveway showed very little wear and tear. The water still beaded up on the surface and no spalling or chipping of the surface was prevalent.

Warranty: 7

– This product comes with a 5-year warranty.

Overall Score SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent: 8.6

– What we liked best about the sealer was the ease of application and the cost per sq. foot. The water repellency was above averages as well. If you are looking for high-quality concrete and masonry sealer that is fairly inexpensive, then the SuperSeal-M would be a great choice.

*Very easy to apply, low cost, durable.

SuperSeal M Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent
Types of Substrates: Concrete, Brick, Masonry, Natural Stone
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200  sq. ft
Application Tools: Pump Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-2 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete Coatings

Test Stats:

Surface Type: Concrete Driveway
Exposure: Heavy Traffic, Snow, Salts, Rain
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
199 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Linda Light
Linda Light
2 hours ago

Best sealer for precast pool coping without changing the look more than needed

Doug
Doug
3 days ago

Hello! I just filled all the joints/cracks in my concrete driveway with Sikaflex Self Leveling polyurethane Sealant, and now I’d like to put a penetrating waterproofing seal coat. On the Sikaflex, it says not to use silicone based sealers with a high solvent content.

What sealer do you recommend I use for the best results? Thank you in advance for your advice!

Joe S
Joe S
3 days ago

HI – my front steps (south facing) leading up to the house absorb the rain causing efflorescence on the aggregate concrete side walk leading up to the front entrance steps. The steps are General Shale Cortez clay brick (16″ step / 2 bricks with 7″ risers). Can I use SuperSeal M Concrete Water Repellent to stop rain from penetrating the clay bricks? I live in middle TN, so sometimes heavy rains. Thank you in advance for your advice.

Joe S
Joe S
3 days ago

Thank you for your prompt reply. Is the product safe to use on the clay bricks? The bricks do absorb lots of water during the rain. Thank you in advance for your advice.

Ed D
Ed D
7 days ago

is the listed max temperature for application the air temp or the temp of the concrete?

Dave T
Dave T
16 days ago

Hello,
I have a 5 day old 31X31 concrete pad that I will be using as a car and light metal workshop. From reading the information on your site and the various comments left by others I think your product will meet my needs, but I would like to be sure due to the investment that I’ve made.
Would you mind recommending the appropriate product for me to protect my investment?

Dave T
Dave T
16 days ago

Thank you for the fast response. I forgot to ask if SS-M protect/holds up to motor oils, and harsh chemicals like brake clean?

Bob
Bob
20 days ago

will this work on an elevated concrete slab

M J
M J
25 days ago

Can the SuperSeal-M be used on aggregate? Looking to use on driveway and on patio.
If not, what sealer can be used on aggregate?

M J
M J
22 days ago

Don’t want gloss or wet look. Can the Super-seal M be used for aggregate?

Lisa Douglass
Lisa Douglass
1 month ago

I’ve got a driveway of cement and aggregate that we diamond grinded to look like terrazzo. We like the darkness of it when wet it darkens the cement and brings out the color in the aggregate but we can’t find a sealer to do the same thing on our driveway. What do you recommend?

the images are pre-grinding, after diamond grinding and when wet.

Mike Newman
Mike Newman
1 month ago

Hi
1) Can I use either Superseal M or Masonry Saver on travertine? Which is best?
2) If so, what would be a good product to use to clean the surface before applying the sealer?
3) I have heard that before applying one of these sealers you should wet the surface lightly and apply the sealer just before the water dries. Is this right?
4) Finally, can I assume that either/both of the products mentioned above protect against staining as well as against water?

Mike Newman
Mike Newman
1 month ago

Thank you!!

Patty
Patty
1 month ago

Will SuperSeal M stop the moisture coming through from our chimney in the garage?

0090D5FC-D8AF-40FC-AD77-89F5B40D6365.jpeg
Roman Prybula
Roman Prybula
1 month ago

We have a painted brick wall around our in ground swimming pool in Troy Michigan. The wall was painted with a Latex Base DryLok Masonry Waterproofer. I still having delaminating of the brick surface in certain areas. Would an application of Super Seal M to the brick wall help further improve the waterproofing. Thank you in advance for your comments.
Best Regards
Roman Prybula

Mimi C.
Mimi C.
1 month ago

I would like to epoxy the concrete steps that lead up to the front door of my house. The steps are outside and we have harsh winters in Chicago. What is the best epoxy to buy for this? Would it be slippery once the epoxy has been painted on since it rains and snows here in Chicago. Can I leave the concrete smooth as it is now or should I get the concrete stamped to avoid slip and falls. Does the epoxy have some texture to it so people will not slip and fall. Is the epoxy clear, I would… Read more »

Tim Burden
Tim Burden
1 month ago

I’m currently repointing a Colorado brick home from the late 1880’s and the surface of the original brick was so soft and rotten that we resurfaced the entire building prior to repointing.
I plan on using this product to seal the exterior once the tuck pointing is finished.
Is there any reason you would not suggest this product for the purposes of preserving the 130+ year old bricks since the original fired faces have long since deteriorated???

mike
mike
2 months ago

is this sealant good for the coping around a swimming pool?

Bill
Bill
2 months ago

Will super seal M enhance the color of my 25 year old integrated colored stamped concrete driveway there is plenty of color left but it has faded Can it be used on a stamped concrete driveways

Lyla Drayson
Lyla Drayson
3 months ago

Where can I buy in British Columbia Canada

Lance Morris
Lance Morris
3 months ago

I’m starting to work more from home and I’m going to pour about 1100sf of concrete in front of my shop. Trying to stop as much grime and grease(oil) from surface as possible. Will this work as one coat or will two coats be better. Thanks.

David Hall
David Hall
4 months ago

I need a clear topcoat for a concrete carport and driveway exposed to sunlight in Florida… The carport and driveway was recently finished with two coats of H&C Heavy Shield water based. The second coat has decorative flakes. I want to clear coat over the flakes. Seems that all of Sherwin_Williams clear coat products say “Not Recommended for Driveways”! Needs to withstand sun, rain, hot tires. No change in finish. Can be glossy as long as I can not see roller marks. Thanks!

IMG_5270.jpeg
IMG_5271.jpeg
David Hall
David Hall
4 months ago

So I can put the 2 part Restore-A-Garage Satin polyurethane topcoat over my water based one part H&C Heavy Shield stain without a problem? It will not react to what I have already? This can be quickly rolled on without bubbles as there is only 30 minute working time? Thanks for your help.

Danielle
Danielle
4 months ago

I have a concrete patio (not stamped but flat) that was previously stained with a water base stain and then with a matte seal that showed no sheen. It’s been two years and I want to protect my stain. This time I’d like clear stain that is more of a sheen to it and will better prevent water absorption and mold. It’s not a high traffic area and I’m not worried about traction. I’m struggling to decide on a product. I plan to use a pump sprayer.

Jeremy
Jeremy
4 months ago

I have already applied the super seal m is there anything to go over this to prevent dust

Jeremy
Jeremy
4 months ago

Is there anything I can put on top to prevent dust

Jeremy
Jeremy
4 months ago

Will I still have the concrete dust after sealing? Do u recommend mopping after a week of curing?

John dowd
John dowd
4 months ago

Can you paint on this sealant?

Charlene
Charlene
5 months ago

I have a bi level home w bottom level as half basement. The brick at that level is having water/moisture seepage in one room. What do you recommend? Would need for interior brick walls.

Isaac Hoffman
Isaac Hoffman
6 months ago

What is the best sealant to keep mold growth off of my brick sidewalk? I have about a 500sq ft sidewalk that always gets real slippery with mold and mildew growth. Is there anything that would you recommend for that?

Ron alonzo
Ron alonzo
6 months ago

Can this be used on Stucco walls

Holly Mchargue
Holly Mchargue
7 months ago

What would be the best product to use to seal a brick chimney? I currently have water intrusion inside with heavy blowing rains. Also live on the water in Fl so it’s exposed to saltwater.

Chris
Chris
8 months ago

I have some few fine hairline cracks and imperfections in my exterior brick where water is actually coming through and leaking in the house. Will super seal m seal these hairline cracks.

Holly Mchargue
Holly Mchargue
7 months ago

What do you recommend to fill the cracks?

Holly Mchargue
Holly Mchargue
7 months ago

Do you think that can be caulked

Holly Mchargue
Holly Mchargue
7 months ago

What do you recommend for repair of mortar

Jerry Snyder
Jerry Snyder
9 months ago

Is Super Seal M effective on clay reclaimed brick walkways?

MICHAEL FARRIS
MICHAEL FARRIS
9 months ago

How well does this sealer resist yellowing from direct sunlight? I have a new concrete porch in front of our church that i would like to protect. Thanks.

Suzette Johnson
Suzette Johnson
9 months ago

Could this be used to seal the outside walls of a concrete block garage i have pressure cleaned it and the blocks are an orange and pinkish with sand colored ones mixed from the 1960s I would like to clear seal it instead of repainting

Luis
Luis
9 months ago

is this the correct sealer to use on a old Chicago Brick patio.

Judy
Judy
9 months ago

can this product be used on inside of pavers that are supposed to be keeping irrigation water in–the installers did not put mortar in between each paver so water leaked right thru, and looking for a sealer to stop that from happening–will this product do that??

Harold
Harold
9 months ago

We just installed tumbled travertine on our outdoor covered patio, and we are looking for a sealer to maintain the natural stone look, and protect against grease and oil stains from cooking. What product would you suggest?

Peter
Peter
10 months ago

Hi,

Could you please advise me if this is ok to be used internally as well as externally.
I have conservatory and would like to apply something to the bricks before do some drylining.

Regards,

Peter

Theresa A Keesler
Theresa A Keesler
10 months ago

Does this product work for preventing dust from being tracked in from sidewalk?

CHRIS FRENCH
CHRIS FRENCH
10 months ago

I live in NW Pennsylvania – lots of lake effect rain and snow. My concrete patio does not get much direct sunlight and I have issues with moss/algae. Is SUPERSEAL M CONCRETE WATER REPELLENT the correct product to use? The patio is at least 10 yrs old.Thanks

CHRIS FRENCH
CHRIS FRENCH
10 months ago

Thanks

MCB
MCB
10 months ago

Hi, firstly very grateful for your site! We have never sealed our 30 year old brick pavers around our chlorine pool. In south florida with tons of rain, we get the mold/mildew so wondering if seal will help prevent and lock sand in. We want a nonwet look and low to no gloss so looking for sealer that keeps the natural look and won’t darken. What is best product(s) for this?

MCB
MCB
10 months ago

Thank you for the quick reply. Just a few follow up questions. I didn’t see any reviews on this website for sb-1300 but a few elsewhere. Since it is recommended, has the team reviewed the product in the past? If so what were the findings and will it leave the brick pavers with a white haze some time after application? The newer version (2020) of “sek” product denotes it has an antifungal film protection. Is any version prior to that excluding this and should not be purchased? Lastly where can 5 gallon size of the newer version be purchased? Really… Read more »

Wes Harbin
Wes Harbin
11 months ago

What do you suggest for new Paver install around pool in SE Florida?

Tom Anderson
Tom Anderson
1 year ago

I have used SealPro 600 to seal both our exposed aggregate driveway, walkways and patios for approximately 6 years now. I recoat the area every few years depending on the use and exposure. The first application of a sealer was SealPro 300 (penetrating sealer), followed by the SealPro 600. The product works well, but is both expense and requires a breathing apparatus to apply because of the fumes. I just ran across a product called “Valspar Protective Sealer, Wet Look” It has a high gloss finish and low odor. I’m wondering if I can use this product over the SealPro… Read more »

Tom Anderson
Tom Anderson
1 year ago

I’ve attached 2 photos. One (titled(exposed aggregate) is walkway area referred to. The second photo titled “stained cement” is the entrance to our garage and is plain cement that I’ve stained several times because the stain “peels” after a year or so. Following the stain I’ve sealed with SealPro 600. I believe that the area was sealed with Seal Pro 300 (penetrating) prior to applying the 600. I’ve been happy with the Seal Pro 600 on the aggregate and only considered the Valspar because the Seal Pro 600 is currently not available and the Valspar is about half the price… Read more »

EXPOSED AGGREGATE.jpg
STAINED CEMET.jpg
Ron
Ron
1 year ago

What do you recommend for covered patio brick pavers that are 30 years old and have never been sealed. I think I would like the matte look. I live in Phoenix, AZ. Thank you.

Diane Jimenez
Diane Jimenez
1 year ago

can you use this in concrete gunite swimming pools? paint is worthless.

Linda
Linda
1 year ago

What is the best concrete driveway sealer for the mountain west? 8000 feet

Linda
Linda
1 year ago

Can you use super seal 30 high gloss in Ohio?

Linda
Linda
1 year ago

Is that a glossy version of the 30?

Joe Dohopolski
Joe Dohopolski
1 year ago
  1. Which penetrating sealer is best for outdoor travertine tile to protect it from the elements, mainly sun and water, preferably keeping the natural color of the stone?
  2. Which sealer is best for dull weathered bricks to restore some of the original color? Assuming this may need to be glossy or semi-glossy sealer.
Joe
Joe
1 year ago

The bricks are red clay.

Frank
Frank
1 year ago

I need to waterproof/seal a brick bulk head on my building do you recommend this product ?

Jeff Roberts
Jeff Roberts
1 year ago

I don’t think you’re a big fan of densifiers but would an application of lithi-tek 4500 beforehand help with the longevity of the concrete on a driveway?

JoAnn classen
JoAnn classen
1 year ago

I need to seal my travertine walkway. Will this sealant
cause the walkway to be slippery

EDWARD A RHODES
EDWARD A RHODES
1 year ago

The pool and deck have just been totally renovated including new pool tile, and concrete pavers on the deck. The pavers were sealed with Super Seal M 6 days ago. The walls and windows around the pool are still covered thickly with concrete dust. Neighbors have warned that using hose sprayed cleaners on the walls and windows will destroy the sealer. I have not found such a warning in your instructions. What can I do, and what must I avoid.
Thank you for your advice.

Alan
Alan
1 year ago

I have a newly poured patio, I want to add tint to a quality sealant, any recommendations?

199
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x