SuperSeal Matte Review 2022  5/5 (7)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 19th, 2022

2022 SuperSeal Matte Review

As of 2022, Superseal Matte continues to exceed expectations by providing a beautiful matte/satin finish for brick pavers. If you have used SuperSeal Matte, we want to hear your input! Feel free to leave us a comment with any pictures below.


Super Seal Matte ReviewThe line of SuperSeal Paver and Concrete Sealers by Clemons Concrete Coatings is popular among professionals and homeowners alike. The SuperSeal Matte review is similar to their higher content sealers, but with an additive that reduces the shine. SuperSeal Matte will darken the appearance and add a wet look without the high gloss finish. The SuperSeal Matte is a wet look solvent-based sealer that is best used on decorative and stamped concrete as well as exposed aggregate and brick pavers. It can be applied to paver sand joints and will help harden and solidify the sand to reduce unwanted weed growth and erosion.

SuperSeal Matte is a non-yellowing acrylic polymer resin formula that will not create a cloudy or white haze like other more inferior paver and concrete sealers. This product is not VOC compliant in California but can be shipped to most other states. SuperSeal Matte can be applied using a roller or a quality metal pump sprayer. The breathable formula forms a film barrier to help reduce the effects of weathering. Added UV blockers and light stabilizers aid in UV fading and discoloring of the surface. Tests revealed that SuperSeal Matte Concrete Sealer retained 70% of its initial wet look after 2 years and did not yellow or haze.

SuperSeal Matte Paver Sealer has a spread rate of around 100 feet per gallon depending on the surface porosity. The satin shine will also vary depending on the substrate being sealed. SuperSeal Matte Sealer will enhance the beauty of colored concrete and brick pavers and aid in color retention. It can help to revive older, more faded surfaces as well. The surface is slightly slippery immediately after application but is not an issue after fully curing for 2 weeks. In the most recent SuperSeal Matte review, high scores were given in the overall appearance, durability, and longevity of the product once applied.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: SuperSeal Matte Sealer
Coating Type: Matte Shine Solvent-Based Styrene Acrylic
Types of Substrates: Concrete Brick Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Stained Concrete
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-125 Sq Feet Per Gallon
Application Tools: Roller or metal sprayer
Dry Time: 4-8 Hours
Cleanup: Xylene
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
42 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jan
Jan
1 year ago

Can superset matte be used on exposed aggregate patio around a pool? In Texas, so patio gets hot, lots of sun and heavy rain/humidity and of course foot traffic and pool splash. Looking for wet look without shine. And no ‘white/cloudy’ coating.

Joe
Joe
2 years ago

Used Superseal Matte on my driveway and porch. Your article says “will not create a cloudy or white haze”, but the porch did get a white haze. The driveway is fine. Guess I’ll try xylene to fix the porch.

haze.jpg
Joe
Joe
1 year ago

There was no sealer and no fancy sand. I’ll guess trapped moisture since the porch doesn’t get a lot of sun. So how would that not be due to the sealer getting a white haze due to trapped moisture? What does “will not create a cloudy or white haze” mean if it doesn’t mean the pavers won’t turn white after the sealer was applied? SuperSeal 25 matte was applied… pavers turned white… What am I missing about the statement in the review that seems to imply that won’t happen?

Is xylene the correct approach to fix it? Thanks.

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

Can I add a color tint to this product? if so how?

Amber
Amber
2 years ago

Can this be used on stone veneer?

Tony
Tony
3 years ago

I have an older home with clay brick pavers in the kitchen. I do not believe it has been sealed in 15+ years. Is this the product I should use to seal after I clean the pavers?

Jeff
Jeff
3 years ago

I have three different surfaces. Stained concrete around my pool which ties into a section pavers w/ seatwall and then a to a stamped concrete porch. Sounds weird but ties together nicely. From the multiple reviews I have read it appears the super seal 25 would be best for my mixed environment. What do you think?

Mike
Mike
3 years ago

I applied SuperSeal Matte back in March of 2018. I received a lot of great feedback from the folks on this site about application. I had applied the sealer at the recommended rate, conditions, etc – carefully measuring out the correct application amount onto a clean and dry driveway. For the first month it looked great. I’m sad to say that the sealer has lasted a total of 4 months before completely wearing off of our pavers. The pavers now look identical to our neighbors, whose pavers are the same age and have never been sealed. I’m very dissapointed in… Read more »

James
James
3 years ago

Recently bought home and have two stone/concrete areas. Removing the efflorescence with NMD80. What sealer would you recommend:
1) I’m stupid and have no clue if these are slate or concrete or what?
2) Live in Washington state (lots of rain)
3) Prefer wet look without gloss, but really don’t feel that strongly.

E59616F7-424D-4C5E-B4F5-8FD8FECE52DD.jpeg
8120F66D-EFF3-4A13-BDA1-FCCF4EBBDF5C.jpeg
Mark
Mark
3 years ago

I have a new paver driveway in the shade and very wet location.
Wishes:
Color enhancement
Matte finish
Sand stabilization
Will not turn white

Thank you

Nancy
Nancy
3 years ago

If the product is called SuperSeal Matte, why does the picture show Supreme Seal 25? I’ve seen this on a couple of websites that claim to SELL SuperSeal Matte, too. What gives?

Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago

I’ve purchased Super Seal Matte for my brick paver driveway in SW Florida but I have a couple of questions before applying. 1) How long do you recommend I wait between power washing (just using water and a scrubber head) and sealing? On a normal day this time of year I can soak the driveway and it appears dry within several hours. 2) I have a couple of spots where tire shine left marks – noticeable when the driveway is wet. Do I need to remove those spots before sealing or will the solvent-based sealer simply penetrate those spots? What… Read more »

Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago

Thanks. I was reading on one of the websites that a single coat of SS Matte is recommended and the spread rate for pavers is around 100sqft per gallon. The instructions on the 5 gallon pails state 75sqft per gallon and that two coats may be needed for a sheen. I’m not interested in a sheen, just a wet look. In your experience should I be okay with one coat, and how many sqft/gal should I realistically expect? These concrete pavers have never been sealed, and I’m rolling it on with a yellow foam slit roller, not working it into… Read more »

Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago

Thanks. Might sound like a dumb question, but regarding roller technique – do I use the same technique as rolling paint on a wall – after saturating the roller, lightly squeegeeing the roller on the roller pan first before applying, or is it better to saturate the roller and go right to the bricks?

Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago

Thanks. I’ve done a small test area today and it looks good. I had a sealer contractor tell me that I should NOT use solvent-based sealers in SWFL. He claimed that the sealer will lock in moisture under the sealer due to our high water table, and the first time it rains, the bricks will turn white. Have you ever heard of such a thing? I would imagine that’s not accurate.

Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago

Thanks. I plan on pressure washing Thursday and sealing Saturday. I appreciate your time answering all of my questions.

Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago
Reply to  Mike L

Had one more question before I dive into this. My pavers are not 100% flat along the top edge. Each corner is dipped a bit (see attached photo). Have you ever experienced rolling these, and should a 1/2″ nap foam roller hit those corners? Only other thing I can think of is that I may have to touch up later with a brush.

IMG_0067.JPG
Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago

The job is complete and it looks great. I did have one issue where a section of pavers needed a light second coat due to them being scuffed up from an overzealous compactor last year. Because that area required two coats to darken it the same as everywhere else, it’s got more of a sheen than the rest of the driveway. Can this be fixed with xylene? I thought about a light second coat of sealer over the rest of the driveway, but this area is about 5×5 ft and if there’s an easy fix, I’ll try it. Overall, I… Read more »

Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago

Thanks. Option 2 sounds safer. I don’t want to over apply and run the risk of developing white spots. As it is now, I ended up applying at a rate of roughly 110sqft per gallon, hitting that 5×5 ft patch with the extra light coat.

Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago

The darker area is where I had to apply a really thin second coat because the first coat left those pavers much lighter than the rest. The glossy area measures more like 10×10. Thanks.

9146AACC-5CB5-4404-9B67-D4579B8A97A6.jpeg
2D7A025F-9E82-490A-AA4F-C3D909ED08FF.jpeg
A5390179-A3BA-4EF3-AC93-D6CD53272117.jpeg
Mike L
Mike L
3 years ago
Reply to  Mike L

It actually looks better in person than it does in the photos as I was trying to capture the biggest contrast when I took those pictures. I’m leaning towards leaving it be and hoping time takes care of the sheen. This strikes me as something that I run a greater risk of making worse if I try to fix it, and my biggest fear would be over-application and seeing the dreaded white haze. What are your thoughts on any next steps?

Amy For
Amy For
4 years ago

Where can I but the super seal matte?

42
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x