Deck Stain Reviews Ratings Deck Cleaner Reviews Ratings Deck Brightener Reviews Ratings Deck Stain Stripper Reviews Ratings

SuperSeal25 Semi-Gloss Paver and Concrete Sealer Review 5/5 (3)

SuperSeal25 Concrete Sealer

SuperSeal25 Concrete Sealer

SuperSeal25 is a Semi-Gloss Concrete Sealer that can be used for Brick Paver Patios, Exposed Aggregate, and Stamped Concrete. This sealer will darken the appearance and leave a shine similar to a semi-gloss.

The SuperSeal25 is a 25% solid solvent based breathable acrylic sealer and curing compound. This product is suitable for use on interior and exterior concrete surfaces.

SuperSeal25 Paver and Concrete Sealer Scores (1-10)

Wet Look: 10

– SuperSeal25 darkened the paver driveway very well giving the surface a much needed enhanced look. All of the colors in the pavers stood out, restoring the original look.

Gloss Level: 8

– SuperSeal25 contains 25% solids. This left a semi-gloss shine to our driveway.  The sealer dried in a few hours and we were able to drive on the surface the next day.

Joint Sand Hardening: 7

– SuperSeal25 is thinner in consistency than the 30 version. This allowed the sealer to penetrate into the joint sand better but still not as well as a water-based paver sealer.

Fading/Wearing After 2 Years: 7

– We noticed that the sealer had lost about 30% of its original look at the 2-year mark. A light cleaning to remove the dirt and grime spruced up the appearance. No peeling was evident.

White Haze/Yellowing: 10

– There was not visible white hazing or yellowing of the sealer after 2 years.

Overall Score SuperSeal25 at 2 Year Period: 8.4

– SuperSeal25 is a very good economical sealer. It enhances well, leaves a nice shine, and does not discolor when applied properly. We noticed the sealer did not leave any hot tire marks on the driveway after 2 years.

If you want a quality sealer that is easy to maintain, then SuperSeal25 would be a top choice.

Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: SuperSeal25 Semi-Gloss Sealer
Sealer Type: Semi-Gloss Solvent-Based Styrene Acrylic
Types of Substrates: Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Decorative Concrete
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-125 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Metal Sprayer
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Xylene or Lacquer Thinner
VOC Compliant: Not compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete Coatings

Test Stats:

Surface Type: Brick Paver Driveway 2 years old, sealed previously.
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take inconsideration that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Sharing is caring!

Please Rate This Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

53 responses to “SuperSeal25 Semi-Gloss Paver and Concrete Sealer Review”

  1. Jeff says:

    Do you recommend for stamped concrete around salt water pool?

  2. Darlene says:

    Which should I use ? Super seal 25 or super seal 30 to reseal a stamped patio that has lost it's color and shine. Last sealed 11/2 years ago with water based sealer

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      Darelen, either would work for you as long as the water based sealer has not discolored or failed by turning white/

  3. mleng says:

    First of all, thank you so much for having this site and providing good advices.

    1. What State do you live in? New York

    2. Interior or Exterior concrete surface? Exterior

    3. Vertical or Horizontal application? Horizontal

    4. Change or enhance appearance (gloss or wet look) or no change of appearance? No preference, just wants to protect the concrete surface.

    5. Type of surface : Stamped Concrete Patio

    The patio was done by the previous home owner 8 years ago when the house was built. We bought the house 4 years ago and never did anything, due to ignorance and laziness. Now I start to notice fine spider-web like cracks on the surface, which seemed to indicate freeze/thaw damage. I hope it's not too late to seal. By the way, I don't know the previous owner ever sealed it or not.

    • mleng says:

      I have a special situation with my patio. I tried to include in the posting but was told the message was too long and had to break into 2. So here is the 2nd part: The patio has “stone texture” finish, i.e. an uneven reddish color with rough ridges on the surface to simulate the natural stone. 4 years ago, shortly after we moved in, we had a failed sump pump and flooded the basement. We had lots of cardboard boxes and plastic bins yet to be unpacked from the move. They all got wet. I moved them out of the basement and laid on the patio to dry for a couple of days. Right after that, I noticed that the color of those areas where those boxes and bins sat on, began to fade. It's almost like the basement water had some type of bleaching effect to the patio surface. Since the color of the concrete was uneven to begin with, those faded areas didn't look too bad.
      So, with this background info, my questions are: what's the best sealer to use, and would the sealer make those faded areas look better (by darkening them) or look worse (by darkening the other non-faded areas more)? Thank you.

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      Mleng, the SuperSeal 25 should work to restore the color and seal. Cracks happen to concrete not matter if the surface is sealed or not. Ground moves.

  4. david christie says:

    I want to try SuperSeal 25 on my driveway pavers that are about 4 years old but have a few questions. First should I have a problem applying this product on my pavers that I sealed 4 years ago? The pavers have lost some of their original color and are absorbing water, I believe the sealer has worn off. And if I apply SuperSeal 25 will I have to strip it all off in 3 or 4 years or simply recoat when needed again? Thank you

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      David, as long as the old sealer has just faded away you should be okay. If it has discolored or turned white than you should strip off the old sealer first. SuperSeal does not need to be stripped, just reapplied.

  5. Cheri says:

    . What State do you live in? New York

    2. Interior or Exterior concrete surface? Exterior

    3. Vertical or Horizontal application? Horizontal

    4. Change or enhance appearance (gloss or wet look) or no change of appearance? No preference, just wants to protect the concrete surface.

    5. Type of surface : Plain concrete driveway, brushed surface

    We treated the driveway last summer with 2 coats of Stone Technologies X-1 penetrating sealer. Should we apply a film-forming sealer for added protection, and if so, what kind?

    Thank you for this site – very helpful!

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      Cheri, I would not add a film forming sealer on this if you have already sealed it with a penetrating sealer.

  6. carl c says:

    live in Las Vegas, had a pavestone paver patio installed and would like to seal it. Would like a wet look with matte finish
    as a shine would be glaring in afternoon Easy application would be nice but don't want the white film after a while thanks for your help

  7. Terry D says:

    I have an Exposed Aggregate driveway that is 7 years old and never been sealed.How would you recommend I do this and what would be the best product to use?I live in Arkansas.I don't want a real shiny sheen.

  8. Chris S. says:

    I purchased a 5 gallon bucket of SuperSeal 25 and applied to my stamped concrete and flagstone coping around our pool. Now, less than 2 months later the sealer is almost gone and the concrete has a white haze appearance to it. It looked so beautiful at first and now looks terrible. Would appreciate any help!

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      Chris S, white haze issues is due to something under the sealer creating the issue. The sealer does not go away in 2 months and is still there. Was it sealed previously? It can be many things that may cause this. Moisture trapped under sealer, efflorescence, etc

  9. Diane says:

    1. CA
    2. Exterior
    3. Horizontal
    4. No change. About 9 months ago had our stamped patio around the pool power washed, acid cleaned restained and they put on a product from West Coast that was a 2 part poly urethane sealant. Within a couple of weeks my patio looks terrible. We live on a golf course with no walls or fences around the pool. The owner of the company that did the work states that the ugly stains are from hard water. It looks terrible. I thought that the sealer would protect the patio from this. Is there any thing that can be applied to the patio to help the water bead up and not soak into the patio? Thanks!
    5. Stamped concrete.

  10. Linda says:

    We put our garage in and had it sealed about 4 years ago. Can you reseal with with or what is your recommedation. Thanks so much.

  11. Andre says:

    I applied Super Seal 25 to my front porch and entrance walk. Unfortunately, I live in FL and it rained (freak shower) about 4 hours after applying the sealer. Portions of the sealer are cloudy. (the portions are mainly where the water was beading over night) I am assuming that moisture became trapped under the sealer. Will rolling the pavers with xylene allow for the moisture to escape?

  12. Pat says:

    How can I tell if my old sealant is still on my stamped concrete patio? I put Quikrete sealant on myself about 5-6 years ago.
    I want to put on Super Seal 25 and want to make sure I do it right. Thanks

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      Pat, has it discolored by turning white or yellow? Do you see any shine?

      • Pat says:

        If forget to mention that there is no shine and it's not yellow. It's there color of concrete, gray.

        • Concrete Sealer Help says:

          Probably just prep with a light pressure washing or similar should be enough. You may get bubbles again so try not do in direct sunlight. This should minimize that.

  13. Pat says:

    No, it did turn white shortly after I put it on plus it had bubbles. I. don't think anything is on it now so I hope I just have to spray it off really good. Is there a way to check? I know it doesn't bead up when I put water on it but don't know if that means anything. Thanks for any advise you can give me.

  14. Michael says:

    I have a new construction home – finished December 2013 in Central Florida. I have a large brick paver driveway – about 1,500 sq ft. I'm torn between doing this seal job myself and contracting it out to someone. I want to use SuperSeal25 and was planning to buy a Chalin sprayer – is this pretty straightforward with application? Is it too soon to seal the brick pavers – I read somewhere that I should wait a year? Thank you

  15. Clark says:

    Hi- I live in south Wisconsin and am looking at this product for my outdoor poured concrete/colored patio. I thought this looked great, but read a SuperSeal30 comment about trouble with 'broomed finished concrete'. Googleing it i would say 90% sure that's what i have. What product would be correct for that? The deck is 8 yrs old and not sealed since put in that i am aware of (this is my second year owning).

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      Clark, I believe you would want the SuperSeal-A or Maonry Saver Decorative Concrete Sealer for broomed swept concrete.

  16. Nigel says:

    Hello- We live in Oregon and need a patio paver sealer for a project completed last year. Some areas used as vehicle parking (Hot and dry in Summer) and the rest is walkways and Patio Area, Patio Area is susceptible to moss growth. After reading many of your reviews still not sure between SB-6000 or SuperSeal 25… Wet look: Yes. Joint stabilization: Only necessary for weed/moss control. No Gloss Semi is OK. Pump or spray is fine:) We used play sand for joints, Looks like we've got some efflorescent coming through that won't power wash off however Paver's look fine when wet. Not sure If I need an efflorescent remover? Would it matter with either product? Thanks for your help!!

  17. Paul Woglom says:

    I live in pa. We have a patio with concrete blocks to look like slate. It has never been sealed, I power washed it and now it has no gradient hues. I would like a sealer to bring out the contrasts but not a shine. Wet look is ok.

  18. Laurie Johnson says:

    Not sure what to use for our newly poured exposed aggregate patio. We live in Washington state, in the rainy area of the state. I want it to look wet, but not really glossy ….. mostly just darker and a little shine. I also would like to know if whatever you recommend can be purchased locally. I am finding that a lot of the products recommended on here are mail order, and the shipping is about as much as the product is! Thanks!

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      Not sure what you can get in your area but you would want something like the SuperSeal Matte.

  19. Rob says:

    Thinking about reusing existing red/grey pavers for new pool installation. They are quite faded. Would like to restore the color and like the idea of wet look, however concernerd with making the surface slippery. How well do the no slip additives work and do they wear off? Any restrictions in NJ? Thanks!

  20. clint says:

    I had a colored stamped patio installed 4 years ago. they used the super seal 25 when they installed it. 3 months after, it turned patchy white. a year later i power washed it and resealed it with super seal 25 again. looked great. then 2 months later same thing, patchy white. no it is all white. i dont think it is trapped moisiture. could it be efflorescence? i dont have a clue what to do now. frustrated

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      It is something underneath the sealer causing this. It could be many things. Hard to say what for sure. Have you called the contractor back to take a look?

  21. Gregg says:

    I have a 1.5 year old patio and walkway with belgard pavers, about 100 square feet. I plan on using Super Seal 25. I do have some Efflorescence showing on the top but not bad. Is it required to remove these before applying the sealer? Also I am looking for wet look with grout sealing would you recommend Super Seal 25 or 30. I understand 30 must be sprayed on vice rolled.

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      The 25 and the 30 are easily applied with a roller. You cannot spray the 30 and the 25 can only be sprayed with a heavy metal sprayer that is fairly expensive. If the efflorescence does not show when wet, then will not show when sealed.

  22. Kyle G says:

    Would the Superseal 25 make my stamped concrete slippery if it got wet? If so, which additive would you recommend to help add grip? Would I still only need one coat, or because of the additive would I need to apply two coats (presuming the additive would go in the final coat)?

    Thank you,
    Kyle

    • Concrete Sealer Help says:

      You can add their Super Grip or Shark Grip for traction control. It would have to be added in a second coat.

  23. grannieleigh says:

    Hello!
    I just had a new paver patio installed. My contractor put sealer on it on top of efflorescence. She then tried to remove the sealer and efflorescence with a sealer remover and a high pressure washer, exposing the aggregate on a few of the pavers. Wouldn't you know it was the 21" x 21" pavers. I'm wondering if I should use two different sealers on the patio now. One for exposed aggregate and one for the concrete pavers with the finish still intact. If so, which sealers would you recommend for each?
    Thank you in advance for your responses..

  24. Kyle G. says:

    What is the shelf life of SuperSeal 25? I bought a couple 5 gallon containers a few weeks ago but haven't gotten around to applying it yet. At this point, I'm thinking I'll just wait until next spring to apply to get the most use out of it (I live in a cold winter climate). The containers are still completely sealed and have not been opened. Should it be OK that I wait about 9-10 months since purchasing to apply? I.e. It won't negatively affect the product if I wait that long will it?

    Thanks,
    Kyle

  25. George says:

    Can I use super seal 25 on recent applied solvent (oil) based sealer? The solvent based sealer is included as part of the lanai extension construction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Find Products?

Manufacturers and Websites:
...See All Manufacturer Websites

Questions & Answers