Supreme Shield SB-600 Wet Look Review 2024

 5/5 (20)

This post was most recently updated on May 10th, 2024

Hi, I am Scott Paul, a leading exterior sealing restoration contractor and business owner with over 30 years of experience in exterior concrete coatings. For info about who I am, please read my full bio here.

Supreme Shield SB-600 Wet Look Sealer

Supreme Sheild Wet Look Sealer

For 2024, we have found that the Supreme Shield SB-600 and SB-350 (low VOC States) are the most popular sealers for a wet look without gloss or shine. This can be used for stamped concrete, brick paving, and other decorative concrete surfaces. If you have any questions about this product, please ask me in our Q&A area below. I am here to help!


Supreme Shield Wet Look Concrete Sealer ReviewSUPREME SHIELD SB is a solvent-based penetrating sealer designed for stamped concrete, concrete pavers, and other porous concrete surfaces. Its application enhances the color and gives a wet look without adding the gloss and plastic associated with other traditional film-forming sealers. Once treated, the surface repels water and oil to prevent staining.

Supreme Shield SB-600 Concrete Sealer Scores (1-10)

Wet Look: 10

– The Supreme Shield SB-600 will add a rich wet look, similar to any solvent-based paver or stamped concrete sealer.

Gloss Level: N/A

– This product is not designed to add shine to the surface.

Joint Sand Hardening: N/A

– Supreme Shield will not harden the sand in pavers.

Fading/Wearing After 2 Years: 7

– The Supreme Shield retained about 70% of the wet look after 2 years.

White Haze/Yellowing: 10

– No visible white hazing or yellowing of the sealer after 2 years.

My Overall Score Supreme Shield SB-600 Wet Look at 2-Year Period: 9

Supreme Shield is an excellent wet-look sealer without adding gloss. We started using this product a couple of years ago with excellent results.

Supreme Shield SB-600 Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: Supreme Shield SB-600
Sealer Type: No Gloss Wet Look Sealer Solvent Based
Types of Substrates: Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Decorative Concrete
Coats Required: 2 Light coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 75-150 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller or Sprayer
Dry Time: 4-12 Hours
Cleanup: Xylene or Lacquer Thinner
VOC Compliant: Not compliant in all States
Manufacturer: Clemons Concrete Coatings

Supreme Shield SB-600 Test Stats:

Surface Type: Brick Paver Patio, never sealed previously.
UV Exposure: Full Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from my experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Consider that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

How To Apply Supreme Shield SB-600 Brick Paver Sealer

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Concrete Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993 he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash specializing in exterior pressure washing and deck staining. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter concentrating more on exterior wood and deck restoration. Scott and his Deck Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 decks in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the deck restoration industry and has contributed to numerous wood restoration forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold through online sites and in retail stores, allowing the consumer to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites do sell many top brands he endorses and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered then feel free to purchase from one of them.

You may also like

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
407 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tom Noteboom
Tom Noteboom
2 days ago

Hello. I have a 2 year old driveway that has split on both sides of the culvert running underneath. I have seen small pieces of it seperating from the primary cracks. How can I keep those pieces from breaking out and seal the driveway around it without making it look difference from other portions of the driveway?

Bill
Bill
17 days ago

I just applied the sb-600 2 days ago and it was a bit of a windy day and a bit of the solvent was blown into the pool while I was spraying. I was able to remove most if not all of it with a skimmer that has a very fine mesh as I was able to see the oil spots sitting on top of the pool water. Anything I should be worried about as far as any of the solvent that inevitably made it into the skimmers and eventually the equipment?

janice k freer
janice k freer
7 months ago

Home built in 1957 with “Roman” style brick. The skinny longer style. Would like “wet look”. One area is larger lower wall and the other is a 26′ flower bed. The two areas are on the west side. What is the best rated product to attain this look? Home in Seattle, WA. Thank you! jb

janice k freer
janice k freer
7 months ago

Unfortunately, not a techie! And, to boot, no cell phone!! Going to send some pics the best way I know how. They will show from Office Depot. Due to doctor’s appt. will not be able to send until this afternoon. In answer to your question, I do not know if they are concrete or clay. Clay, maybe? Sorry! Thank you!! jb

janice k freer
janice k freer
7 months ago
Reply to  janice k freer

Sorry couldn’t get pics to work. Bricks may be clay. Still unsure. Purchased a “Wet Look” sealer from Sherwin Williams. Will try on side flower bed and see what happens. Thank you for your assistance. jb

Larry stayner
Larry stayner
9 months ago

Hi Scott, we have a reddish colored aggregate patio at a lake house in Montana. It hasn’t been sealed and has a whitish look I assume due to calcium build up. The cement is colored throughout. I’ve tried vinegar and baking soda and scrubbing with minor results. What would be best to seal it for a real wet look. Thank you! Larry

James
James
9 months ago

Hi Scott, I purchase and applied two coats of SB-600 on concrete pavers and I noticed after about a week or two that water doesn’t really bead up. Is this normal? Thanks.

Dave
Dave
11 months ago

I bought a house 3 years ago that has an 8 year old pool and stamped concrete deck. I don’t know what type of sealant was used previously but it all seems worn off (except in one spot – shown in one of the pictures). Some of the old color comes through but very porous deck. Wondering what you recommend / if I should limit myself to certain type of sealer. I’d like wet look; non-slippery (it’s pretty gritty now so not sure if I’d need to add anything); bring out the old color; last a few years (there are… Read more »

IMG_5357.jpg
IMG_5358.jpg
IMG_5359.jpg
Joan
Joan
11 months ago

Can I apply the Supreme Shield sb600 over a previously sealed stamped concrete patio that used permacrete plex seal WB clear sealer

Justin
Justin
11 months ago

Can this be used on a Travertine paver pool deck?

Christopher Wollak
Christopher Wollak
11 months ago

How careful do you need to be to keep the sealer out of the pool water while sealing the stamped concrete patio? Will the mist from the sealer (SB600) cause any problems in the pool water?

Last edited 11 months ago by Christopher Wollak
Christopher Wollak
Christopher Wollak
11 months ago

Many thanks-so I think I will roll it. I have stamped concrete with quite a bit of texture. What length nap would you recommend?

mike wickert
mike wickert
1 year ago

Good Day … I’m considering using the SB-600 wet look sealer. The pavers were sealed 4 years ago with a water based sealer. The SB-600 is solvent based. I’m advised that there is no issue to coat now with the solvent based sealer. 1, is that true…and 2, when I need to re-coat in 3-4 years is there anything to do extra to prepare the pavers prior to coating? Besides a good efflorescence cleaning? Thanks for all your good information !

Richard Sims
Richard Sims
1 year ago

What sealer is best on old patio bricks to provide protection from moss and mildew sealed in the past by Zep Clear Shell Mold and Mildew Inhibitor? Thanks.

john salt
john salt
1 year ago

Hi. I was advised by a contractor to avoid the solvent base dure to florida humidity and water table. However our pavers are so dull and needs a bright up. Do you think it makes sence or he is just taking the easier route?

James Dean
James Dean
1 year ago

Any flaking or pealing? Okay to use with polymeric sanded joints? Will it mask scratches and water stains?

James Dean
James Dean
1 year ago

Slippery when wet? Any issues with efflorescence? Okay to use with polymeric sanded joints?

Mark Terry
Mark Terry
1 year ago

Is there a way I can get a small sample to evaluate?

Travis S
Travis S
1 year ago

what if the sealer in the cracks didn’t sink in and left a white film?

Travis s
Travis s
1 year ago

How long can I leave the sb600 in the nice metal pump sprayer?

Travis S
Travis S
1 year ago

how soon after a fresh pour of stamped concrete can the sb600 be applied?

Mark Krueger
Mark Krueger
1 year ago

Will SB 600 be safe around a salt water pool? I am concerned if it will be slippery when wet feet walk on it? Thank you..

Henry
Henry
1 year ago

Can SB-600 be applied to pavers that were previously sealed with SB-1300? They were sealed three years ago.

sharla lill
sharla lill
1 year ago

what is the pad you used for the edging?

Martin
Martin
1 year ago

What do you recommend for a water base ‘wet look’ sealer for newly poured garage floor. Thanks

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
1 year ago

can the SB600 be applied over an old solvent based gloss sealer after power washing and degreasing?

Michael Moore
Michael Moore
1 year ago

what is the recommended dry time between coats of SB600? I live in central FL and will spray in morning so temp should be in low 80s.

Michael Moore
Michael Moore
1 year ago

Thanks, I’d like to confirm I’m good sealing 1 week after pavers have been installed. And concerns with doing it now instead of waiting? Using SB600.

Perry
Perry
1 year ago

Can SB-600 be used on residential exterior brick walls to give them a no-gloss wet look to enhance the brick’s appearance?

Greg LeRoy
Greg LeRoy
1 year ago

A metal sprayer is recommended for solvent sealer application. Is it possible to clean out such a sprayer for future re-use or would the sprayer realistically be for one-time use?

Greg LeRoy
Greg LeRoy
1 year ago

A sample of SB600 is forthcoming and I expect that’s the product I’ll be using. Having a difficult time finding a consumer-grade metal sprayer that’s less expensive than what a pro would use.

Elizabeth
Elizabeth
1 year ago

Can you use a plastic paint project sprayer?

Sava Gambiroza
Sava Gambiroza
1 year ago

Where in the Greater Niagara area in Ontario is there a dealer

Genna
Genna
2 years ago

Just installed Nicolock concrete pavers this week. Contractor hasn’t put poly sand down (open for suggestions on poly sand). The pavers looks dull and we would love a wet look without a sheen soSB-6000 looks like the best choice.

However, Nicolock suggests waiting a year to apply sealant because of efflorescence. Is SB-6000 THAT breathable that it can be applied immediately after installation? I’m cautiously optimistic as it seems too good to be true.

Mathew Mellis
Mathew Mellis
2 years ago

Does the SB 600 product work well with concrete that is about 10 years old. Can I get a sample can or quart size container to test on my stamped concrete. ??

Jean
Jean
2 years ago

How often do I need to apply this sealer. we live in Colorado , but not a lot of wear.

Michael
Michael
2 years ago

Last summer I had a stamped concrete patio installed. It was sealed with Super Seal 25 (acrylic solvent based decorative sealer). Can that concrete be resealed with SB-600 even though it’s a penetrating sealer and SS25 is more of a film?

Mary
Mary
2 years ago

Is SB-600 ok in Indiana?

Greg
Greg
2 years ago

I have a new exposed aggregate driveway that has some inconsistencies from the wash off process. Some areas have less stones and others have more. I would like wet look; do you know which would make the inconsistencies less noticeable. Gloss vs Matte etc. thank you.

Jim hardie
Jim hardie
2 years ago

Can this product be used when the pavers were previously sealed with AQUA CURE VOX?

Kathy S
Kathy S
2 years ago

Can you use this product on a new solid poured concrete driveway in Northern Va?

Kevin
Kevin
2 years ago

It’s going to be between 30 & 40 this week and then colder. I messed up and didn’t get it done this summer. Shouldn’t try it huh?

Kevin
Kevin
2 years ago

What does the air temperature have to be to apply?

Jeff A
Jeff A
2 years ago

Is SB-600 OK in NV?

David H
David H
2 years ago

What is the percentage of solids in the Supreme Shield SB-600 Concrete Sealer?

Ram
Ram
2 years ago

We live in Northern California (The SF Bayarea). Want to apply sealant on three types of surfaces – concrete, aggregate concrete and brick. I have attached photos of all three. All these surfaces are horizontal, includes the driveway and walkways around the house. We want to get a wet but not glossy look. Some gloss is ok. We are thinking about Supreme Shield SB-600. Want to confirm if we can use it for all three surfaces.

Ram
Ram
2 years ago
Reply to  Ram

Sorry about missing the pictures. Here they are. Also, this surface is more than 25 years old and I do not think sealant was applied before. So there are stain spots on the concrete that powerwashing does not seem to remove. Is it ok to apply on top? Thank you.

IMG_0587_02.jpg
IMG_0586_02.jpg
Ram
Ram
2 years ago

Thank you for responding. Is SB-350/400 legal in CA?

John Gorman
John Gorman
2 years ago

We live in KS and just put down timberwood blend tumbled Ledge Rock Paver patio. We are going to put the polymeric sand (Gator Maxx) down tomorrow. We want a wet look to enhance the color and wouldn’t mind a light gloss but don’t the want stones to dark. We’re thinking about the Supreme Shield SB-600. Thoughts? Is there a recommended time to wait after putting polymeric sand down before applying seal? I think I saw 60 to 90 days somwhere. I appreciate your help!

Steven A Larson
Steven A Larson
2 years ago

Hi,
I just had a patio done with UniLock pavers. They used polymeric sand for the joints. The patio is nice but looks very dull. I’m thinking we want a wet look, with a semi-gloss look. What is the best solvent based product and how many gallons for 650 square feet.

Thanks!

Steven A Larson
Steven A Larson
2 years ago

Thanks for the reply. I live in Ohio and am wondering if I can have it shipped here? The whole VOC thing confuses me!

Sam
Sam
2 years ago

Is there a Joint stabilizing sealer from Clemons that can be used for one coat and combine with Supreme Seal SB600 without getting too glossy? i prefer a wet look.. if so, which one should go first?

Sam
Sam
2 years ago

Thanks. Which one gives darker color between Super Seal Matte and SB-600?

Sam
Sam
2 years ago

Am unsure between SB-600 or Supreme Seal Matte or /Surebond SB-6000; Is there a place where they are compared with pictures?  What are the key differences?

Dan
Dan
2 years ago

Between the Clemons SB-600 and SureBond SB-6000 which one will give the darker look by enhancing the concrete color the most?

Dan
Dan
2 years ago

I am looking to seal a new black coloured stamped concrete patio. It currently looks more grey as there hasn’t been anything applied yet and I would like it to be dark black like when it gets wet. I don’t like the shine of high gloss sealers and was looking for something that gives a more matte / natural look. Will the SB-600 bring out the same darkness as a high gloss sealer would? Or is it going to look lighter? Also I am from Ontario, Canada and was wondering if I would need to purchase the lower VOC SB-350… Read more »

B244B725-39A0-4EE4-A561-80BF141F126A.jpeg
27DDB0AD-ED78-4B52-8029-CA154B8E6E78.jpeg
Doug G
Doug G
2 years ago

Looking to seal and enhance my concrete pool deck…looks like SB-600 may do the trick? But also want to seal and enhance the flagstone path…which product is best for those? Both surfaces shown in this pic.

4CF485EB-8A09-4D88-BBB0-D7D64508DCDD.jpeg
Doug G
Doug G
2 years ago

It’s just a concrete deck. The dots are small pits. Not sure if it’s ever been sealed before but definitely not epoxy. Thanks.

Sue
Sue
2 years ago

Hi! Where can I buy the Supreme Shield SB-600 Wet Look Sealer?The one I see at Lowe’s & Home Depot is the brand Eagle. Is that it?

kevin b
kevin b
2 years ago

I want a non- slip wet look sealer with no shine. Can I use SB 600 on a brushed concrete stairwell to achieve this? Is SB600 not allowed in Ca? Thanks

Bob
Bob
2 years ago

I have 620sq ft stamped concrete how much of the SB600 two coats will I need?

Bill
Bill
2 years ago

Can SB-350 be used on bluestone coping? When applying this to my pool patio pavers, some got sprayed on my pool coping. It doesn’t look bad, it just darkened it a bit in the spots it was sprayed. It is noticeable though so I was wondering if I should just continue on and just use it on the bluestone as well for a uniform look. If not, would the sb-350 blotches come out if I power washed the coping? Thanks for your help

407
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x