Surebond SB-6000 Sealer Review 2022  5/5 (5)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

SB-6000 Sealer

SB-6000 Sealer

Update 2022 for Surebond SB-6000 Sealer Review

If you have any questions or have used the Surebond SB-6000 Sealer product, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


SB-6000 Wet Look Sealer seals and enhances the natural colors of treated surfaces with a luxurious, wet look. It is breathable and will not trap naturally occurring efflorescence, allowing it to be applied immediately after paving stones are installed. SB-6000 Wet Look Sealer improves surface durability and freeze-thaw resistance while protecting the surface from salt, acid, and staining. SB-6000 Wet Look Sealer is a water-based, exterior quality, epoxy modified surface sealer.

Surebond SB-6000 Sealer Scores (1-10)

Wet Look: 8

– For a water-based sealer, SB-6000 does a better than average job with darkening the brick pavers with a rich wet look. Applies milky white but dries crystal clear.

Gloss Level: N/A

– SB-6000 is not designed to add a gloss or shine.

Joint Sand Hardening: 8

– Surebond sealers are designed to stabilize jointing sand and the SB-6000 does not disappoint. After saturating the pavers sand with 2 coats of the sealer, the sand was hard to the touch within a few hours. The manufacturer suggests adding the SB-1300 joint sand stabilizing sealer after for increased sand stabilization.

Fading/Wearing After 2 Years: 6

– SB-6000 did fairly well with fading. There was no uneven peeling or wearing.

White Haze/Yellowing: 9

– SB-6000 is a breathable sealer so at the 2-year mark there was not any white hazing from trapped moisture. There was a small amount of efflorescence visible in a shaded area.

Overall Score Surebond SB-6000 Sealer Sealer at 2 Year Period: 7.8

– SB-6000 is a very good sealer if you are looking for a wet look with little to no gloss. The sealer applies very easily and is fairly durable. One downside is that it is more expensive than most brands.

Applies easily, fades evenly, and does not discolor.

Product Information:

Where To Buy Online: SB-6000 Wet Look Sealer
Sealer Type: Wet Look Water-Based Acrylic Epoxy Sealer
Types of Substrates: Brick Pavers, Concrete, Retaining Walls, Aggregate, Natural Stones
Coats Required: 2 coats
Coverage Per Gallon: 100-200 sq. ft
Application Tools: Roller, Sprayer
Dry Time: 1-4 Hours
Cleanup: Soap and Water
VOC Compliant: Compliant in all States
Manufacturer: SEK/Surebond

Test Stats:

Surface Type: Paver Patio
UV Exposure: 50% Sun
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from our experience. We offer no guarantee of similar results. Take into consideration that results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
36 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Mike
Mike
2 years ago

Can an acrylic final finish be used as a sacrificial coat over the 6000?

Mike
Mike
2 years ago

Ok. Thank you.

GMC
GMC
2 years ago

I bought 15 gallons of Surebond SB-6000 in late 2016 for $634. I applied this to my patio and walkways of Basalite Holland brick pavers. I was looking for a wet, matte look. The product applied easily and looked great when I was done. I just hoped that it would last for a decent while. However, it did not live up to my expectations. It was very noticeably faded in a year, and was pretty much back to its pre-sealer state after 2 years. I live near Redding, CA and we get a lot of sunshine. While this product would… Read more »

GMC
GMC
2 years ago

OK, thanks. But how does it rate a 6/10 score for “Fading/Wearing After 2 Years” in your review? Should I bother trying something like SuperSeal VOC ?

Ken Magdic
Ken Magdic
2 years ago

How long will the unused portion last? I’d like to purchase 5 gallons but only need about 3 1/2. Wondering if the remaining will be ok to use in 2 years

Jack L Predix
Jack L Predix
2 years ago

Can I put a coat of sb6000 on an existing paver patio, followed by a coat of sb1300 for a harder joint stabilization? Thanks for your reply.

Elaine
Elaine
3 years ago

I want to use this product on brick pavers around the pool – will it make the surface slippery when wet?

Don Gull
Don Gull
3 years ago

I am in the state of Utah in the Salt Lake City area. Winters are harsh and summers are hot and dry. I have just completed a patio with a very hard field stone (I have heard it is the hardest) set with sand. Area = 700 s.f. Several questions? 1) Will SureBond 6000 seal both the stone and the sand in one or two applications? 2) Do I need to use 1300 after the application of 6000 to assure solidity of the sand? 3) If I use 1300 after the 6000 application to further solidify the sand in the… Read more »

Nicholas Masullo
Nicholas Masullo
3 years ago

I did not use any solvent or cleaner on my pavers. How dry do the pavers have to be before I seal with the 6000 product. Since its water based would ut be a problem if the pavers were semi dry?

Tony Longo
Tony Longo
4 years ago

Will it resist oil spills in my garage

John
John
4 years ago

After applied how long does it need to dry before you can place outdoor rugs over the pavers? Not just dry time to walk on it but actually cover large areas with area rugs.?

Marjorie Johnson
Marjorie Johnson
5 years ago

Does this work for very porous, clay, pavers? Will it have a wet look but not shiny?

Roger S Miller
Roger S Miller
3 years ago

What do you recommend for clay pavers?

pdx
pdx
5 years ago

If applied properly, how long does the seal last on concrete driveway pavers in a house with normal car usage.

ptt
ptt
5 years ago

Anybody have experience with both the SB-6000 and the SuperSeal25 low VOC? How does the wet look between the 2 compares?

Mike
Mike
8 years ago

I want a wet look, on new pavers, but matte finish, not glossy. Is this the best choice? Also want to use it on cast concrete wall caps, does that work? This installation in the California desert, with lots of hot sun. Used polyermeric sand.

Mike McCarver
Mike McCarver
7 years ago

The SB 6000 sealer worked beautifully on my pavers! Looks great, color enhancing without the gloss. Thinking about using it on my stone patios. Any experience with it on stone?

Suzette
Suzette
8 years ago

Yes it does!!!! We used this sealer to seal our concrete pavers nest to our pool. My five year old got out of the pool, walked over to the pavers and slipped the second he put his foot on the pavers (he walked across pitted cements for about 2 feet first). Also, everyon says that you get a matte finish, but you do not. It might not be as glossy as the other wet-look sealers on the market, but it is still shiny. Better add some polymer grit additive to your sealer when sealing. This does seem to be a… Read more »

Diane Bonniville
Diane Bonniville
8 years ago

Does this finish make the bricks slippery?

36
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x