Find the Best Concrete Sealer: Top-Rated Coatings for All Your Needs  4.8/5 (170)

This post was most recently updated on April 15th, 2022

The Best Concrete Sealers for 2022

Best Concrete SealersConcrete comes in many types and substrates that can be found both for both interior and exterior applications. There are Concrete Driveways, Vertical Brick Walls, Brick Paver Patios, Basement Floors, etc. Concrete is very porous and can be prone to degradation from Water, Ultra Violet Radiation, wear, and tear, etc. By sealing or waterproofing your concrete surface, you will add life and protection to the surface. We’ve also done our own hands-on testing of popular concrete sealers and compiled our ratings and reviews here to help you find the concrete for your 2022 home improvement projects.

Want personalized help? Just post your questions below and we’ll be glad to guide you toward the best concrete sealer.

Best Overall Concrete Sealer: Super Seal-M Water Repellent

SuperSeal M Sealer Review

SuperSeal M Sealer Review

SUPER SEAL-M is a water-based Silicone Water Repellent made of a special hybrid of Silane and Siloxane. SUPER SEAL-M provides water repellency to porous construction materials such as bricks, stone, concrete blocks, mortar, and grout. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent Sealer are a mixture of different-size particles-some larger, some smaller to fill different size voids. The active ingredients in SUPER SEAL-M Water Repellent can chemically react with the substrate, ensuring long-lasting performance.

Best Gloss Concrete Sealer Review: Super Seal 30 Concrete & Paver Sealer

Super Seal 30 Concrete Sealer Review

Super Seal 30 Concrete Sealer Review

SuperSeal30 is a Higher Gloss Concrete Sealer that can be used for many types of concrete surfaces. SuperSeal30 is very popular for Brick Paver Patios, Exposed Aggregate, and Stamped Concrete. This sealer will darken the appearance and leave a shine. The SuperSeal30 is a solvent-based breathable acrylic sealer.

Note: Not to be used for plain poured (white) concrete.

  • Where To Find On Google: SuperSeal30 Concrete Sealer
  • Sealer Type: High Gloss Solvent-Based Styrene Acrylic
  • Types of Substrates: Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Decorative Concrete, Acid Stained Concrete
  • Consumer Star Ratings: 4.7/5 (50)
  • ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating: 8.6/10
  • See Review Article Here: Super Seal 30 Sealer Review

Best Concrete Epoxy Coating Review: Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

Restore-A-Garage is an advanced, water-based, Concrete Epoxy Floor Coating System used for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating is a 100% solid, high build garage floor epoxy coating that undergoes a chemical reaction that results in a thick coating, tightly bonded to the prepared surface. Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating will protect against abrasions, stains, impact, and chipping AND IS resistant to moisture, dirt, chemicals, and salts, making it ideal for those living in climates where rain and snow are common as the seasons change.

  • Where To Find On Google: Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coatings
  • Coating Type: Two-component, Epoxy 100% Solids. 12 different color options.
  • Types of Substrates: Garage Floors, Basements, Shop Floors, Warehouse, Counter Tops
  • Consumer Star Ratings: 4.9/5 (18)
  • ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating: 8.8/10
  • See Review Article Here: Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

Best Wet Look Concrete Sealer Review: Supreme Shield SB-600

Supreme Shield Wet Look Concrete Sealer

Supreme Shield Wet Look Concrete Sealer Review

SUPREME SHIELD SB is a solvent-based penetrating sealer designed for stamped concrete, concrete pavers, and other porous concrete surfaces. Application of SUPREME SHIELD SB will enhance the color and give the wet look without adding the gloss and plastic look associated with other traditional film-forming sealers. Once treated, the surface repels water and oil to prevent staining.

Note: Not to be used for plain poured (white) concrete.

  • Where To Find On Google: Supreme Shield SB-600
  • Sealer Type: No Gloss Wet Look Sealer Solvent Based
  • Types of Substrates: Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Decorative Concrete
  • Consumer Star Ratings: 5/5 (20)
  • ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating: 9/10
  • See Review Article Here: Supreme Shield SB-600 Review

Best Concrete Paver Sealer Review: Super Seal 25 Concrete Sealer

Super Seal 25 Concrete Sealer Review

Super Seal 25 Concrete Sealer Review

SuperSeal25 is a Semi-Gloss Concrete Sealer that can be used for Brick Paver Patios, Exposed Aggregate, and Stamped Concrete. This sealer will darken the appearance and leave a shine similar to a semi-gloss. The SuperSeal25 is a 25% solid solvent-based breathable acrylic sealer and curing compound. This product is suitable for use on interior and exterior concrete surfaces.

Note: Not to be used for plain poured (white) concrete.

  • Where To Find On Google: SuperSeal25 Semi-Gloss Sealer
  • Sealer Type: Semi-Gloss Solvent-Based Styrene Acrylic
  • Types of Substrates: Pavers, Stamped Concrete, Exposed Aggregate, Decorative Concrete
  • Consumer Star Ratings: 4.8/5 (21)
  • ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating: 8.4/10
  • See Review Article Here: Super Seal 25 Sealer Review

Best Concrete All-Purpose Sealer: MasonrySaver Heavy Duty Water Repellent

Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Review

Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Review

MasonrySaver® (Also known as “Defy”) All-Purpose Heavy Duty Water Repellent is a modified siloxane-based product designed to penetrate deeply into most masonry and concrete pores. Unlike acrylics, silicones, and other waterproofing sealers that remain on the surface and trap water vapors, this masonry waterproofing product allows deep penetration of its active ingredient of up to 1/4 inch or more.


The Best Concrete Sealers: Photos

What is the Best Concrete Sealer to Use? How to Choose the Right Deck Stain Product

The answer to that depends on why you are sealing, what surface you are trying to seal, and what your final expectations are. There are many types of sealers for concrete and masonry surfaces. Concrete sealers come in both water-based and solvent-based formulas. They come in generic formulas for all surfaces or formulas that are specific to the surface you are applying to. For example, you would want a Brick Paver Sealer for a Paver Patio and a Chimney Sealant for your Chimney, but you could use MasonrySaver All-Purpose Water Repellent for both.

Why seal your concrete or brick? The primary reasons to seal and waterproof your concrete are:

1. Preventing hairline cracks due to water expansion during freeze/thaw cycles.

2. Prevent water penetration and seepage of water through walls and foundations.

3. Enhance the appearance by adding a gloss or darkening the overall color.

4. Prevent damage from deicing salts during winter months.

5. Provide protection from “Pitting” or “Spalling” or deterioration of the concrete, causing chunks of the concrete to separate from the concrete structure.

Once we understand the surface, we are treating and what the reasons we are treating the surface for, then we can narrow down what would be the best concrete sealer to use.

Here is an example of a concrete surface.

1. What State do you live: Florida

2. Interior or Exterior concrete surface: Exterior

3. Vertical or Horizontal application: Horizontal

4. Change or enhance appearance (gloss or wet look) or no change of appearance: Wet Look/Gloss

5. Type of surface examples: Driveway, Paver Patio, Brick Wall, etc. Paver Driveway

Based on the answers you would want a sealer that is specific to brick pavers, gives excellent UV resistance since it is in Florida while adding a shiny enhanced look. Based on these questions, you would want to look at:

Let Us Help You Find the Best Concrete Sealer for You

Answer these questions to help to choose “the best concrete sealers”. Just post a comment below and based on your answers, we will suggest a couple of different options of what sealant or water repellent you should use:

Please include any additional information that would be useful!


Choosing the Best Concrete Sealer: A Video Guide

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest

4.4K Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Dick
Dick
3 days ago

What would be a good sealer for a drop-in concrete bathroom sink that has its original sealer removed? The concrete is about 4 years old.

Jake Pagel
Jake Pagel
23 days ago

Wisconsin, interior: concrete basement subfloor, horizontal application, appearance does not matter as flooring will go over the sealed concrete when finished – looking to reduce moisture in concrete and eliminate possiblity of mold/mildew underneath flooring

Lauren Galione
Lauren Galione
1 month ago

Hi.
New Jersey, horizontal pool deck, color enhanced stamped concrete, no change in appearance/matte.
Thanks so much in advance!

Lauren Galione
Lauren Galione
1 month ago

Sorry for this misunderstanding…it already is colored and stamped…I want it to stay exactly how it is…with protection from the elements, non slippery and no glossy appearance.
Thanks in advance!

Lauren Galione
Lauren Galione
1 month ago

Thank you so much. Do you have a recommendation, then, for a stamped concrete sealer with very little gloss that’s still non-slip?

Sinisa
Sinisa
1 month ago

Creating an artsy bathroom with poured concrete for two of the walls and the entire floor. What sealer would work best. The concrete surface can not be slippery after application.

John
John
1 month ago

Absolutely great site/information. New build / fresh driveway and a family that drives used cars. Central Ohio / classic midwest. It appears that Superseal M is in the lead for most applications . My fears are of vehicle fluid stains and the salt/brine damage during the winter. I realize that these situations cannot be totally mitigated. I have spent hours and done every gimmick possible in attempts to remove oil stains to no avail. All that said, would I be in-line to assume Superseal M as a reasonable defense? Thanks for you site, I called multiple concrete companies within 100… Read more »

John
John
1 month ago

Thanks very much CSR, I work in commercial construction at a large health care enterprise, I will be sure to share your site.

Theresa
Theresa
2 months ago

Looking to seal our patio & driveway which is all concrete. Its about 10 yrs old with some cracks in it. What would be the best sealer? We live in Florida so its in direct sun and high heat during the summer months. We do not like a high gloss finish. Also, do any of these sealers have a tint to them or are they mostly clear?

Larisa
Larisa
2 months ago

We just laid a concrete paver patio with a concrete retaining wall adjacent to it in Wisconsin. We would like something to seal the interlocking sand in and darken the appearance of the pavers and wall (a wet look, but does not need to be shiny).

We’ve read about concrete densifiers and wondered if that may help keep the sand in between the pavers as well.

Any advice would be great! Thank you!

Beth
Beth
3 months ago

We just had a concrete patio poured with the brush finish. We live in Roanoke Va with a lot of humidity. We also have dogs and the terrible red clay. Looking for a sealer that will help with cleaning and is not shiny. Please advise. Thanks.

Terry Wood
Terry Wood
3 months ago

Thank you.

Lily Myers
Lily Myers
3 months ago

We learned that the landscaper never laid rebar or screening before pouring our very large concret patio. The adjoining section joints are severely cracked leaving a very wide gap for rain to accumulate and drain under the cement. Would an expoxy coating the color of the cement be the best route to fill those joints to seal and keep water out? The alternative is to take down a very large patio cover, tear up all that concrete, compact, lay screening and repour concrete…at a cost of nearly $30,000…which is out of the question.

Cody
Terry Wood
Terry Wood
3 months ago

Best sealer for a painted concrete interior floor?? Would like very shiny.

Sonja
Sonja
3 months ago

What is the best sealer for exterior split face travertine, as well as travertine tile on an outdoor kitchen

Josh G
Josh G
3 months ago

Looking at a vertical application on the front/sides of new, bare porch concrete (the top is tiled) to darken color and enhance appearance– which product would you recommend?

Raechale Rivera
Raechale Rivera
4 months ago

I love in Michigan, my sun room is exposed to all the elements but especially water since it’s covered with a leaky tin roof. We painted it with rustoleum concrete and garage floor paint and primer, that has 1 part epoxy- then covered with the same brand topcoat water-based acrylic sealer. It has not worked and the water from a rain storm last night caused bubbles in the paint. We do not have the option to strip it all and start over. Do you have any sealer that can be applied over what we have down that is water Repellent?… Read more »

Raechale Rivera
Raechale Rivera
4 months ago

Then how do you color a cement floor and seal it? This is the system that rustoleum sold… prime paint seal… now you’re saying that you shouldn’t seal over paint… it just doesn’t make sense?

Joe D
Joe D
4 months ago

I just built a 30×36 garage with a machined trowelled concrete floor. The floor was poured 20 days ago.

We live in Mass so resistance to road salt and the occasional oil spill are important.

What is the best sealer for my application and how much should I buy?
What is the best way to apply?
Is there any special floor prep required?

Joe D
Joe D
4 months ago

Just built a 30×36 garage with machined troweled concrete floor. We live in Mass so road salt resistance is important along with very occasional motor oil spill. Floor was poured 20 days ago. What is the best sealer for my application?

joe
joe
4 months ago

how can i get intouch with a concrete sealer contractor my #206 940 7414

Jeff
Jeff
4 months ago

We are building a new house. The Garage will be a 3 car with a two car garage door – so a 1/3 of the space will be used for general storage.

What would be the best coating to put on the concrete floor before we move into the house? Any good DIY solutions that are durable and attractive? resin based? Water based?

Last edited 4 months ago by Jeff
Robert B
Robert B
5 months ago

I live in south Florida( Miami ) I have just poured a concrete patio 15′ X 37″ semi smooth surface, exposed to the sun and weather. How soon can an epoxy coating be applied to the fresh concrete and which one is best for outdoor elements. I would like to use a flake and attain gloss look. Would I still have to do any other prep work other than making sure everything is clean and clear of debris.

Bikrambir Sidhu
Bikrambir Sidhu
5 months ago

I am living in Ontario, Canada. Which one is best for exposed aggregate to protect against salt, oil and other chemicals.

Dawn
Dawn
5 months ago

We recently had 2 long paver brick sidewalks installed at our lake property. Landscaper also reseeded entire lawn area which is covered with straw. We have been watering new seed twice a day via well water and lake water. Pavers do get wet when watering lawn. We are noticing white deposits/film on the bricks. How do we remove these spots once we are done watering the lawn and which sealer would you recommend?

Michelle K
Michelle K
6 months ago

I run A-day care we had our driveway and a patio area put in made out of concrete used for driveway. The texture is a little rough but not extremely. You’re able to walk on it without shoes no problem. I would like to seal it and protect it but I need a suggestion of what I should buy I am looking for something that will be strong enough for children to ride on play ball and also vehicles to park on it we also use one part of the area as a patio which has chairs and tables on… Read more »

Mike Knutson
Mike Knutson
6 months ago

I live in Baltimore Maryland and have a concrete driveway and I would like to seal it to stop deterioration. What should I use

Paul
Paul
6 months ago

Live in florida driveway was previously and is painted. What is the best way to prep this for new coating and which coating sealer/paint is the best for this type of application….Thanks I’ve already painted it with a concrete paint. Tire tracks from the car and some lifting of the paint is already occurring. I waited at least 48 hours but seems this concrete paint is not holding up.

Lori
Lori
6 months ago

I live in Las Vegas with lots of sun and high temperatures. I have pavers near the pool decking that have never been sealed. They are looking pretty bleached out. I would like to seal them with something that will not make them look so dull and yet not be slippery. I do want them to shine because even when they are wet they are still dull. What should I use?

Deb
Deb
6 months ago

I have a newly poured plain concrete patio slab. I need some assistance is purchasing the correct sealer. I know I need to let it cure for at least 30 days before I seal it. I do not want a gloss finish. I’m looking for something to repel water and stains.

Al MacLean
Al MacLean
6 months ago

I have a 12 year old aggregate concrete driveway that up until last year had never been sealed. The driveway had several areas where spalling had occurred. I applied 2 coats of Ducan sealer last summer and was very happy with the initial results. This spring I noticed there was significant spalling again and I need to reseal. Any advice re type of product/application would be appreciated.

Kate
Kate
6 months ago

Hi there! I live in Eugene Oregon.
I’m looking for the wet look on horizontal surfaces of my older exposed aggregate.
We do get some hot summers days and occasional snowy years. Lots of rain and hence moss is an ongoing problem.

Kate
Kate
6 months ago

Thanks! Can Super Seal 30 be applied with a sprayer?

Kate
Kate
6 months ago

I’ve read that the sealer typically lasts 2 years. After that, do I need to strip it in order to reapply?

Kate
Kate
6 months ago

Lastly, I have some hairline cracks. Will the Super Seal 30 be able to fill those? Should I apply some Super Seal 30 just along the cracks and let that dry prior to coating the entire surface?
Thanks for all your responses!

John
John
6 months ago

I reside in Bluffton, SC. The driveway is 2 yr new built home concrete. I purchased S-W ClariShield Clear Concrete Sealer Natural Look.
Is this the best sealer for my area?
Thank you in advance for your response

John
John
6 months ago

It is sold at Sherman-Williams Paint stores

John
John
6 months ago

Thank you so much. I will return the entire purchase of 8 unopened cans.

Chuck
Chuck
6 months ago

I’m getting ready to seal my pool deck with Clemons Super Seal M per your suggestion. Question- I have trees blooming right now and they are dropping little white leaves etc… like crazy all over the deck, in the pool etc….Do I need to wait until the trees are done blooming or can I use the Super Seal M sealer? I don’t want the leaves stuck to the pool deck, but I don’t think that will happen with this sealer since it’s transparent and not a gloss, but I’m not sure Should I wait or can I seal with the… Read more »

Chuck
Chuck
6 months ago

Most people use Super Seal 25 on their pool decks? Someone else within this forum suggested Super Seal M since it doesn’t leave a sheen like Super Seal 25 would etc…. I think I’ll go with the M since it will not leave a gloss or semi gloss look to the concrete pool deck.

Duke22
Duke22
6 months ago

I have a pre cast concrete bird bath with cracks that I need to seal. what do I use ? I don’t want to poison the birds. Thanks

Duke22
Duke22
6 months ago

How about paint or some other coating ?

Chancey
Chancey
7 months ago

We just built a new home in Idaho. We did a pretty heavy power trowel finish inside and are looking for a product that will protect it from stains, spills and daily wear and tear without changing the natural color and sheen of the concrete.

Chancey
Chancey
7 months ago

What do I need to do to prep/clean the concrete before application?

Charles
Charles
7 months ago

I am about to build a new farm repair shop with heated floor that will see heavy abuse including welding and such and was wondering how long I must wait to seal or paint it for long time protection from stains and easy cleaning and what is the best way to treat it? 2 part expoxy?

kelly
kelly
7 months ago

just finishing building out a small barn for a guest house. Poured a new concrete foundation and finished out inside of steel barn. need to seal concrete inside just to protect from stains, little cracks or whatever. Nothing shiny or that needs to be re applied year after year. We are in Texas. 800 sq ft inside. 100 sq feet outside. budget conscious.

Screen Shot 2022-04-21 at 7.05.16 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-04-21 at 7.05.40 PM.png
Bill
Bill
7 months ago

I live in NJ and I have a 5,000 sq ft integrally colored stamped concrete driveway 25 years old last sealed 15 years ago the color has faded I would like to seal it would like to enhance the color a little probably a Matt finish I will use two coats what sealer would you recommend
Bill 

Sebreeze
Sebreeze
7 months ago

Live in Louisiana
old concrete that I just stained
interior surface
horizontal application
gloss or wet look
Stained concrete floor

Clint
Clint
7 months ago

A handyman replaced installed 2 steps for our home here in Connecticut. He used what looks like basic gray Quickcrete. Also, it rained the night the steps were installed and the steps were not covered. Over the winter I noticed considerable spalling. He blamed the salt our landscaping company used but I suspect that the Quickcrete was also too “soft”, at least for the top layer. So I’m looking for a deep sealant that will stand up to light foot traffic as well as shoveling and salt.

Denise H
Denise H
7 months ago

Seeking a concrete sealer recommendation for a concrete driveway that also needs patches.
1. Minnesota location
2. Exterior surface
3. Horizontal application
4. Hoping to get a fairly consistent color after patching if possible, but not a wet or glossy look
5. Surface is a relatively short concrete driveway and a narrow sidewalk from the house to the garage.
Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Ann Stewart
Ann Stewart
7 months ago

I live in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, where it can get 80 degrees in summer and -40 degrees in winter. I have been told that it is best to cover the new concrete drive with plastic and to water it then recover for 3-4 days. The new quotes says it would be better to just use sealer. Will you please advise?

Barbara Eldridge
Barbara Eldridge
7 months ago

We have just gotten a paver patio (retaining wall) but the walking surface is brushed concrete. It looks nice now but I worry about cracking. What sealant would work best on the walking surface? It’s ok if it darkens a bit.

Brian
Brian
8 months ago

I purchased 5 gal of seal cure.my garage floor is 8 years old and hard smooth machine trowed finish.Is this the right product?

Brian
Brian
8 months ago

Its an acrylic polymer with quick drying solvents..on line seal cure by wrmeadows

Claudia Psonak
Claudia Psonak
8 months ago

Mississippi
Exterior, concrete patio 3 years old
Horizontal
Enhance appearance, gloss/wet look

Additional suface:
Mississippi
Mostly interior with covered parking pad on the exterior. Soon to be poured concrete pad for metal outbuilding
Horizontal
Enhance appearance, protect from garage type spills and usage.

Claudia Psonak
Claudia Psonak
8 months ago

Thanks for the info. Would you recommend Super Seal M for my application? The main goal is to seal the concrete and prevent water penetration and staining.

rosse martinez
rosse martinez
8 months ago

Live in NC outside house is brick, basement cinder block with few bricks.when it rain water does comes threw what will be the best to seal both products

G van dorp
G van dorp
8 months ago

Is there a Matt sealant that is not slippery

FRANK
FRANK
9 months ago

Wife and I just purchase an outdoor concrete statue. We live in Northeast Ohio. Recommendation on sealer?

Susie Preston
Susie Preston
10 months ago

Florida, exterior, horizontal painted driveway, wet look. The drive has previously sealed with HC oil based sealer. There is white cloudiness. Should I just let the sun bake the previous sealer away and then reseal with something else?

Matt
Matt
10 months ago

I have spilled a significant amount of battery acid on the concrete floor in my garage which sat unknown for weeks, and has resulted in pot marks in various areas. I have used (1st) Baking Soda; (2nd) chlorine bleach; (3rd) muriatic acid. What sealer do you recommend to seal the concrete surface?

K Adams
K Adams
10 months ago

1. What State do you live in? Florida

2. Interior or Exterior concrete surface? Exterior

3. Vertical or Horizontal application? Horizontal

4. Change or enhance appearance (gloss or wet look) or no change of appearance? No change

5. Type of surface examples: Driveway, Concrete Patio

6. I would like to stain or paint over it.

Linda J Matheson
Linda J Matheson
10 months ago
Reply to  K Adams
  1. Phoenix AZ
  2. Exterior pavers
  3. Horizontal
  4. Wet look
  5. Pavers edges of driveway
  6. stain
Scott
Scott
11 months ago

I am looking for a sealer for a new poured and colored concrete patio In Tucson AZ
part of the patio will get direct sun for most of the day and part will not get much if any direct sun. looking for a sealer that will give good UV and stain protection. Wet look gloss or preferably satin.

Julie Welch
Julie Welch
11 months ago

What would you recommend…Florida, horizontal surface, brick pavers on patio, sidewalk, and driveway. Matte finish, water clean up. Thank you!!

4.4K
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x