Best Sealers for Clay Pavers 2022  5/5 (3)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 26th, 2022

Clay Paver Sealing

Clay Paver Sealing

The Best Clay Paver Sealer

As of 2022, there have not been any major updates with the different clay sealers available on the market. If you have any questions as to the best type of clay sealer for your project, please ask below in our Q&A area. We are here to help!


Bricks are commonly made up of several components including clay, concrete, stone, ceramic, lime, and/or sand. Different materials have different bonding qualities. For those who are using clay pavers, we have some recommendations for choosing the best sealer that will bond to the clay components and give it a beautiful, long-lasting finish.

We do not recommend using either a wet look sealer or a gloss sealer for clay pavers. They tend to dry blotchy and uneven when they react with the clay. Wet look and gloss sealers work very well with concrete brick pavers, so we recommend you seal your concrete brick pavers with wet look and gloss sealers for a shiny, long-lasting beautiful finish.

For clay brick pavers, we recommend you use a water-repellant sealer that does not change the appearance of the pavers. Two examples of a water repellant sealer that works very well with clay brick pavers are SuperSeal-M or Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Water Repellant. We hear very positive reviews about how these dry evenly and smoothly on clay brick pavers and do a good job at protecting the surface from weather and foot traffic. SuperSeal-M’s active ingredients are a mixture of differently sized particles to best fit different crevices and cracks. It is an ideal sealer for porous substrates, providing excellent coverage and water repellency that lasts longer than the competition. Masonry Saver Heavy Duty Water Repellant contains a blend of silanes and siloxanes that create a “saltshield” barrier, ideal for waterproofing driveways and sidewalks that need extra protection from salt damage during the winter months.

Do you have a question about the best sealer for clay pavers? We want to hear your thoughts. Feel free to leave us a comment with the pictures below.

Different Types of Concrete Sealers Video

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
51 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Billy
Billy
7 months ago

Which is better for clay bricks super seal M or masonry saver heavy duty water repellent and how long will it last

Nathan d Kesler
Nathan d Kesler
1 year ago

Installed clay fired pavers, dont want to change colorful look just seal for water resistant. (Jacuzee) pavers from Mx
Images all larger than 2mb

Tom Hlavacek
Tom Hlavacek
1 year ago

My patio is made entirely from antique Purington Pavers. I just pressure washed the whole thing, removed all the old joint sand and refilled the joints with a high quality polymeric sand product. It was a lot of work and I want to keep the surface in the best shape possible. I don’t want a wet look, but I would like to seal the bricks and do what I can to strengthen/stabilize the joints. Sounds like Super Seal M or Masonry Saver are the best bets – is one better than the other?

todd
todd
2 years ago

Hi

I manufacture clay pavers. Product is semi-vitreous (fired at 1950 degress) and has texture. I am looking for a sealer that I can recommend to the trade/ retail for exterior use (UV protection). I am attaching photo to show comparison of penetrating vs enhancer app. The Bona Mega is not rated for exterior application…would like that look, for exterior, if possible. Low sheen is preferred.

Todd

mesquite Paver comparison.jpg
Alan
Alan
2 years ago

I have about 500 sq ft (walk and patio) of hand made clay bricks. They were originally somewhat rough and cracked, and that has been worsened by pressure washing. About 15 years ago I applied a wet look sealer, which, as you say, left a milky residue where it pooled in the cracks. Most of that coating has worn off, and I would like to clean them and apply a new seal coat. Does either of the products you recommend here also fix the sand joints? Also, what would you recommenc for cleaning? Thanks.

James
James
2 years ago

I have a clay brick driveway and recently installed polymeric sand for the joints. I would like to seal the pavers for extra protection. My Boston brick pavers have faded somewhat and my driveway isn’t perfectly flat. What is the best sealer for me to use that provides protection. To the elements but also provided a wet look so the colors pop. Thank you for your help.

Roger S Miller
Roger S Miller
2 years ago

I installed clay pavers two years ago but never sealed them. I have recently power washed, resanded and am ready to seal. Should all of the loose sand that remains be washed off prior to sealing? Is it better to blow off the sand?

mheron
mheron
2 years ago

We need to seal our brick chimneys. Based on your reviews it seems we should use Superseal M or Masonry Saver Vertical Brick Water Repellent. Do you have a preference of one over the other?

Barney
Barney
2 years ago

Best Sealer?
Assuming these are clay bricks.
Is there a ‘wet look’ option?

C7EBB1F5-C24B-49AF-873C-FA0D0042E197.jpeg
0777C9D3-EC03-4B40-ADFF-C20710F31010.jpeg
Barney
Barney
2 years ago

So I’d like to seal them. What are my options?

Barney
Barney
2 years ago

So the focus shifts to providing a sealant for them. What options do I have?

sunny
sunny
3 years ago

best sealer for saltillo tile installed outdoors??

Del Payne
Del Payne
3 years ago

I just did 500 sq ft of brick pavers, it clearly states made of concrete. I used Super Seal 30 in good weather, looked terrific, then after about 10 days it rained. Now I have 3-4 areas where water puddled that have that grey film, will not sweep off. Is there anything I can do, or should have done?

Del payne
Del payne
3 years ago

Did u receive photos?

Del payne
Del payne
3 years ago

Have just re-sent.

Del payne
Del payne
3 years ago

Can I send pics Messinger to the TN site?

Del Payne
Del Payne
3 years ago

Won’t that remove the sealer tho?

Del Payne
Del Payne
3 years ago

Won’t the Xylene remove the sealer?

Mike
Mike
3 years ago

Would this section (clay pavers) also apply to saltillo tile?

Mike
Mike
3 years ago

I have 400 sq ft of saltillo tile on a covered patio in Arizona (salt is not an issue). Therefore, would Super Seal M be the recommended product? How many coats are required / how many gallons will I need? Did I see that coverage is 200 sq ft per gallon?

Mike
Mike
3 years ago

Does application require a heavy duty metal sprayer (as required by Supreme Seal SB-600), or does a regular plastic garden sprayer work with Super Seal-M? If I were to roll, what nap roller would be best?

Mike
Mike
3 years ago

I applied Super Seal-M to the saltillo tile after pressure washing it and allowing it to dry. The tile still absorbs water and looks wet after applying the Super Seal-M. Does it absorb in and while still porous, prevent deep absorption to occur? Or, did I not apply it heavily enough? Thanks.

Mike
Mike
3 years ago

It does bead initially. It appears that the tile does absorb a little while it is drying. Should I test a spot spraying a bit more on to see if it absorbs any more to see if I undersprayed? Or just assume it is good enough?

Todd Saunders
Todd Saunders
3 years ago

Have you used or seen, BP Pro, Glaze N Seal, Techniseal and Classic Pro 2000? these are my options here in Southern California. I’ve tried some samples already and have an idea what they look like, but it’s all about the long term that I am worried about. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Todd Saunders
Todd Saunders
3 years ago

Is there any type of sealer that will leave some sort of sheen on clay bricks without leaving a milky white haze?

Todd Saunders
Todd Saunders
3 years ago

Thank you! I’m directing my clients to this site. This has been the most informative site!

Todd Saunders
Todd Saunders
3 years ago

Will either of these 2 products leave any sheen on clay brick pavers?

51
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x