What is the Best Epoxy Floor Coating Reviews 2022?  4.9/5 (17)

by Concrete Sealer Reviews

This post was most recently updated on January 19th, 2022

The Best Epoxy Floor Coating – Updated

If you need advice on What is the Best Concrete Epoxy Coating for you and the proper amount of product to buy and prep with, please ask below in the comment area. Please describe your concrete coating project as thoroughly as possible.


Epoxy Floor Coating Review

Epoxy Floor Coating Review

Concrete comes in many surface types and typically need to be sealed or coated to prevent deterioration over the years. One of the more popular concrete coatings types is the Epoxy Coating. It has proven these coatings to be some of the most durable concrete coatings. Epoxy Coatings can be used for both interior and exterior applications, but most are used for interior or covered surfaces. Ideal for concrete types such as garage floors, warehouse floors, industrial floors, shop floors, basements, concrete patios, and concrete countertops.

Concrete is very porous and can be prone to degradation from Water, Ultra Violet Radiation, wear, and tear, etc. By using Epoxy Concrete Coatings, you can prolong the life of the concrete surface while making it easier to clean.

The Top 3 Epoxy Floor Ratings Reviews in 2022

1. Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Rating – Best Overall Epoxy Garage Coating

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

Restore-A-Garage is an advanced, water-based, Concrete Epoxy Floor Coating System used for maximum protection and longevity. Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating is a 100% solid, high build garage floor epoxy coating that undergoes a chemical reaction that results in a thick coating, tightly bonded to the prepared surface. Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating will protect against abrasions, stains, impact, and chipping AND IS resistant to moisture, dirt, chemicals, and salts, making it ideal for those living in climates where rain and snow are common as the seasons change.

Where To Find On Google: Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coatings
Coating Type: Two-component, Epoxy 100% Solids. 12 different color options.
Types of Substrates: Garage Floors, Basements, Shop Floors, Warehouse, Counter Tops
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-250 sq. ft per kit
Application Tools: Squeegee and Roller
Dry Time: 12-24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
Manufacturer: RAD OPW LLC
ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a Scale of 1-10): 8.8
See Review Article Here: Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

2. Rust-Oleum RockSolid Epoxy Rating – Best of the Cheap Epoxy Coatings

Rust-Oleum RockSolid Epoxy Review

Rust-Oleum RockSolid Epoxy Review

Rust-Oleum RockSolid 76 oz. Gray Polycuramine 1 Car Garage Floor Kit (2 Pack) offers average durability. Resists salt, oil, gas and other harsh chemicals. Works on workshop floors, garage floors, and other interior concrete surfaces.

Where To Find On Google: RockSolid Epoxy
Coating Type: Two-component, Water-Based Epoxy 90% Solids
Types of Substrates: Garage Floors, Basements, Shop Floors
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-250 sq. ft per kit. Actual in test 150 Sq Feet.
Application Tools: Roller
Dry Time: 12-24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
Manufacturer: Rust-Oleum
ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a Scale of 1-10): 6.9
See Review Article Here: Rust-Oleum RockSolid Epoxy Review

Rust-Oleum EPOXYSHIELD Review

Rust-Oleum EPOXYSHIELD Review

3. Rust-Oleum EPOXYSHIELD Rating 

EpoxyShield® Water-based Epoxy Garage Floor Coating is a two-component, water-based epoxy floor coating designed for finishing concrete garage floors that are in good sound condition and are free of curing agents and sealers. It is not intended for use on unsound previous coatings or floors that have a moisture problem.

Where To Find On Google: Rust-Oleum EpoxyShield
Coating Type: Two-component, Water-Based Epoxy 55% Solids
Types of Substrates: Garage Floors, Basements, Shop Floors
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-250 sq. ft per kit
Application Tools: Roller
Dry Time: 12-24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
Manufacturer: Rust-Oleum
ConcreteSealerReview.com Rating (On a Scale of 1-10): 6.7
See Review Article Here: Rust-Oleum EPOXYSHIELD Review


Why use an Epoxy Concrete Coating?

The main reasons to Epoxy Coat your concrete are:

  1. Preventing hairline cracks due to water expansion during freeze/thaw cycles.
  2. Prevent water penetration and seepage of water through walls and foundations.
  3. Drastically enhances the appearance.
  4. Prevent damage from deicing salts during winter months.
  5. Provide protection from “Pitting” or “Spalling” or deterioration of the concrete, causing chunks of the concrete to separate from the concrete structure.
  6. Easier to Clean and Maintain the surface.

Concrete Epoxy Floor Coating Reviews

Not all Epoxy Coatings are made the same. Epoxy coatings come in both water-based (watered down) and 100% solid resin-based formulas. The generic water-based formulas are sold at big box stores and the high-end 100% solid epoxy coatings are sold by individual concrete coating manufacturers that specialize in making these coatings.

We have not had much luck with the Big Box Store Brands that are sold as DIY Kits. Brands such as Rust-Oleum, Valspar, Quickcrete, and Epoxy Shield have a short life span and wear/peel in a short period of time. The DIY Kits sold at Big Box Stores are more or less thick paints only and will never perform as well or have a long lifespan.

The Best Epoxy High-End Coatings are 100% solid, high build garage floor resin-based coatings that undergo a chemical reaction that results in a thick coating, tightly bonded to the prepared surface. These coatings are 2 part systems that, when mixed, catalyze into a superior thick bond that is 4-5 stronger than the DIY Epoxy Kits sold at Big Box Stores. The 100% solids Resin-Based Epoxy Coatings are what we use as contractors and are what any quality professional will use. While mostly sold to professionals, the 100% Solids Epoxy Coatings can be used by homeowners that expect their coating to last for many many years.

Need Help Picking out the Best Epoxy Concrete Coating?

Feel free to answer the questions below in the comment area and we will suggest some options of what coating type and brand you should use and how much to order. We will also offer suggestions on the proper prep needed.

  1. Interior or Exterior concrete surface?
  2. Square Footage of Area to be Coated?
  3. Appearance desired? Gloss, Color, Flecks?
  4. Type of surface? Garage, Basement, Shop Floor, etc.
  5. Has a previous coating been used before?
  6. Any oil or grease spills?

Please include any additional information that would be useful! Pictures will help as to the proper prep needed.

Make Sure to Include Answers to the 6 Questions in Comment Area Below!

Epoxy Concrete Coating Photos

Best Epoxy Coating Video

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

You may also like

guest
155 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Drew
Drew
1 year ago

Pics

41878.jpeg
20201101_172054.jpg
20201101_171714.jpg
Drew
Drew
1 year ago

I have a two car garage (20 x 23 feet) and bought six gallons of Restore-A-Garage in Canadian gray. You could probably get away with 3 gallons if ok with a thinner coat. Would be hard to apply that much in the 30 minutes you have to work. Six gallons gave a great thicker coat that was easier to apply. Applied three gallons at a time. Get a squeegee and 18inch roller 3/8″ semi smooth surface roller worked well. I would add to their instructions to pour on concrete, squeegee, then do edges with smaller roller/paint brush, then spread and… Read more »

Wayne Jeans
Wayne Jeans
4 days ago

I have a new shop floor 7200 Sq Ft. I would like a clear finish but most of all it needs to be durable. Floor will be clean we are preparing to pour flour now. Shop will be used for heavy equipment repair. What product do you recommend?

Leroy Ducksworth
Leroy Ducksworth
12 days ago

How much of this product is needed to stop a 25 by 25 2 car garage from sweating.

Leroy Ducksworth
Leroy Ducksworth
12 days ago

Just purchased a home in Biloxi ms the home is 19 years old and the floor in the two car garage sweats. What is best product to use to stop the sweating and how much for a 24 by 24 garage floor.

Leroy Ducksworth
Leroy Ducksworth
12 days ago

Yes moist type not puddle type water

Michael
Michael
20 days ago

Interior or Exterior concrete surface? Interior
Square Footage of Area to be Coated? 900 Sq. Ft.
Appearance desired? Gloss, Color, Flecks? Gloss
Type of surface? Garage, Basement, Shop Floor, etc. Basement
Has a previous coating been used before? Nothing other than RadonSeal on about half of it
Any oil or grease spills? No oil or grease spills

What is your product recommendation?

Margaret Ritson
Margaret Ritson
23 days ago

Please help! Don’t know which company to choose. One offers Polyaspartic and one offers epoxy primer with Polyaspartic top coat. Not sure whether to pick an flecked earth tone or the black Whote and gray fleck I like. Have 3 companies- one have a 3 day process others a one day process. Not sure whether to pick epoxy or Polyaspartic or blend. So confused. Please help.

Mark
Mark
1 month ago

Hello from Georgia. We need to stain/seal an outdoor concrete path that’s 6’ wide by 220’ long that was poured last summer. Nothing has yet been done to treat it (other than keeping it clean). What product would you recommend our using for this? Thank you fir your help.

Mark
Mark
1 month ago

It’s required by the corp of engineers as most of the path sits on corp property. (The path runs from a house to a dock that sits on a fresh water lake).

The Corp requires the path to be stained Brown, Black or dark Grey.

Scott Whiting
Scott Whiting
1 month ago

Im converting a concrete storm cellar to an mushroom fruiting chamber. The floor is very rough, porous and a mound in the center approximately 1/2″ higher than the corners and the walls, so water will run to corners and sides. I have power washed the ceiling, walls, and floor 4 times to get as clean as possible. I want a long lasting floor, easy to clean as contamination is an issue here in Oklahoma.
Do I need to grind the foor smooth and what should I use?
Thanks

Scott Whiting
Scott Whiting
1 month ago

Thank you for the quick response. You saved me a lot of work.

tim I
tim I
1 month ago

Hi We are redoing our basement which was flooded. The basement is around 1250 square feet and has already been painted it once. I am looking for the best way to seal the cement slab. The house was built in 1924 so the cement is not that thick. We are getting ground water from the water table. What would you suggest to use to seal our floor. Thank You

Stephanie Latham
Stephanie Latham
1 month ago

Hi! My fiance and I have been considering using an epoxy in our basement recently room. We took up the low grade carpet that was on there and it looks like there is the original 50s tile and glue on top of that(used to lay the carpet we ripped up). Any suggestions on prepping and kits? Interior or Exterior concrete surface? Interior, currently looks like glue on top of original tile Square Footage of Area to be Coated? Approx 275SF Appearance desired? Gloss, Color, Flecks? Wouldn’t mind the marbled look Type of surface? Garage, Basement, Shop Floor, etc. Basement Has… Read more »

Scott
Scott
1 month ago

Looking to put epoxy coating on 2 car garage floor. Floor is concrete with several layers of paint. In process of grinding off all paint.

  1. Interior or Exterior concrete surface? – Interior concrete garage floor.
  2. Square Footage of Area to be Coated? – 1,200 sq.ft.
  3. Appearance desired? Gloss, Color, Flecks? – Color with Flecks
  4. Type of surface? Garage, Basement, Shop Floor, etc. – Garage
  5. Has a previous coating been used before? – No. Painted
  6. Any oil or grease spills? – No
Roger Bentz
Roger Bentz
1 month ago

Hi, I am wanting to finish a new 1000 sq. ft. concrete basement floor with a non-glossy colored protected finish that I will put area rugs over in specific areas. The concrete is very smooth finished and free of contaminants. Both colored and fleck finish would be ok and my main objective is appearance and durability.

Lenny Fusaro
Lenny Fusaro
1 month ago

1-Interior smooth finish concrete 10 years old
2-19×19 total 361 sq. Feet
3-Finish.. Gloss… Tan with specks
4- 2 car garage
5- has never been coated
6-some auto oil& tire marks
Some paint drippings
Is there someone in the area of Cape May NJ that I can have do the job, that you can suggest?

image.jpg
image.jpg
image.jpg
Rob Severn
Rob Severn
2 months ago

Interior or Exterior concrete surface? Interior basement floor but sadly there are three coats of paint on the floor with the latex version coming up and a red gooey paint which I assume is oil based next and then a tan/off white on the bottom. We are planning to use an epoxy sealer first and then using Robert’s Air Guard premium underlayment which is supposed to allow air to pass through and then a Lifeguard waterproof vinyl interlocking flooring. So really the epoxy is just to seal the basement and make it nicer looking than the yuk we’ve got going… Read more »

Rob Severn
Rob Severn
2 months ago

When you say grind, can you give me an idea of how best to accomplish that and where I can rent the equipment to do so. Saw your page on the two pieces of equipment, is there anythign smaller?

How best do I handle dust, potential lead from old paint, and any other safety precautions?

annie ogletree
annie ogletree
3 months ago

what advise would give for paint basement floor that has flooded three times. I have painted chips all over the floor just want to stop the continues paint peeled

annie ogletree
annie ogletree
3 months ago

How would you grind off the current paint? how long will this take before apply high solid epoxy ? do you recommend high protective sealer? If not from the big box stores whom do i order from?

annie ogletree
annie ogletree
3 months ago

I am providing photos of my flooring can it be cover this is not entertainment basement anymore Thank you for your assistance

basement flood floor.jpg
Tim Regello
Tim Regello
3 months ago

Which epoxy sealer would be best for the concrete floor foundation of a bedroom if just to prevent mold growth? The sealer will be covered w “quiet” paper and luxury vinyl planking afterward.

Sarah Rhinelander
Sarah Rhinelander
3 months ago

I am coating a concrete floor which will periodically be flooded with water, for humidity control in a paint bay for wooden boats. Can you give me any advise on this regarding the products you have reviewed?

Maurice Giannotti
Maurice Giannotti
3 months ago

Have 3 car garage floor previously(4 yrs old) covering-Sherwin Williams -Xylene #4 –Starting to peel from auto tires (hot). Suggestion for epoxy covering ?

Dale Martin
Dale Martin
4 months ago

What is the best epoxy coating for a driveway that is subject to high UV?

Beth Minerva
Beth Minerva
5 months ago

Would like to epoxy my driveway with grey epoxy and flecks. It is a concrete driveway that in completely uncoated, some minor stains. I have read the the ones sold in box stores tend to chip. What can you recommend that will not chip or fade?

cyndi whitehead
cyndi whitehead
5 months ago

Trying to figure out what I need…we have pulled up carpet and now want to seal an
Interior Basement floor, 600sq feet to use as a bonus/game room.
Thank you so much

John
John
5 months ago

Hello, I’ve got two greenhouses with concrete floors. I’d like to seal them with epoxy and I’m looking for something that will be very long lasting, not break down because of UV, and not be a slip hazard when wet from watering plants. Thanks so much for your help.

Louise Narine
Louise Narine
6 months ago

I’m not using on any floor surface. Instead, I have made a rock garden design of many sizes and colors of stone. I wish to ‘cement’ the stones together so no vandal can come and destroy the design. It is in my front yard, away from vegetation, about 10′ x 10′, and exposed to full sun and 4 seasons – it must be UV resistant so it doesn’t yellow much. ideas?

Hector Lugo
Hector Lugo
6 months ago

Where I can buy R A G in Puerto Rico area and what kind of warranty offer for it? Thanks

Michael Winters
Michael Winters
7 months ago

Epoxy 2 you brand material ratings

Larry
Larry
7 months ago

Project:
Backyard Wook Shed (12’x16’). Floor is made with plywood subfloor covered by “Henry 555 Level Pro” self-leveling cement.

Question:
I’d like to paint the cement. Can you please recommend an Epoxy Paint with High sheen and Very durable due to anticipated heavy use

Thanks

Larry

tim
tim
7 months ago

new building 35×70. how much coating will be needed, and what prep is needed? thanks

Mary C Frances
Mary C Frances
8 months ago

We have a 40 year old concrete patio that is in fairly good shape. We are having one large crack repaired and then want to use epoxy to cover the whole thing. It’s 478 sq ft and we have tried various stains and paints over the years. Looking for something that will be fairly long lasting (more than 2 years). What do you suggest?

John Harrison
John Harrison
8 months ago

My golf course is considering using epoxy for concrete which is outdoors, but under a roof. Golf carts and light golf course maintenance equipment travel over the area many times during the day. How advisable do you consider epoxy for this type of situation?

Alan J Vogel
Alan J Vogel
8 months ago

I just purchased a 10 year old home. I want to paint the basement walls and the floor. The basement is very dry and the surfaces are in good condition. I’ve already brushed the walls & floor down thoroughly and followed up to power wash all surfaces. What would be the best product for the walls and the floor. Appreciate the support!!!!

Tamara
Tamara
9 months ago

I want a long and I mean long lasting coating for a new garage.Our city uses all kinds of salts and and chemicals in their sanding methods in winter so do not want tire trails left on this finish.Also there is the problem of hot rubber affecting the finish.What treatment and coating should I look for to do this? Does a new garage still require a bead treatment for prep? What can I expect to pay for a two car garage? Double for a four car or should there be a bit of leeway since it is at one job… Read more »

Patricia Frick
Patricia Frick
10 months ago

I have an exterior cement patio (10’x12’) that I would like to coat with flecks. It has no previous coating or grease spills

wag1964
wag1964
11 months ago

We have a condo that has concrete floors under carpet. We are removing the carpet and are contemplating just painting the concrete (and using rugs). It is interior (obviously), about 600 square feet, we want it to be low-profile, nothing that stands out, basic color that will go with any wall color. The floor has glue from the carpet pad, pits from the tack strips, and what appears to be either previous paint or plaster. What do you recommend?

Howard cooperman
Howard cooperman
11 months ago

Live in Ca. Want to do garage floor with epoxy. It is 415sq ft. Fleck finish is okay. No known previous coating,no grease but does have some paint spots on floor. Want to be sure that new finish will be long lasting and not compromised by so.calif. heat. Please advise best product.

Tim
Tim
11 months ago

Any recommendations are appreciated.

Interior or Exterior concrete surface? Interior surface. This is a detached, uninsulated garage
Square Footage of Area to be Coated? ~440sqft
Appearance desired? Gloss, Color, Flecks? Gray, no real preference regarding flecks and gloss
Type of surface? Garage floor
Has a previous coating been used before? No, this is a new garage, freshly poured
Any oil or grease spills? None

Also, is the application of these coatings, DIY friendly or do you recommend a professional?

Thanks!

Kevin Cwayna
Kevin Cwayna
1 year ago

I have an 370 ft concrete slab, former garage, to be used as an interior residential space in Southern California. There is some risk for dripped standing water, but no risk for oil or grease spills. The surrounding soil is dry and temperatures remain above freezing all year. I have grinded and slightly polished the 4 inch deep slab. It is clean and smooth to touch without sealers or other coatings. The clients desire a smooth semi-gloss to gloss, low-maintenance finish. There are a few hours of direct sunlight that will hit the floor daily.

Michael
Michael
1 year ago

I am building a shop beside my house which will be used mainly for woodworking projects but I will also service my lawn-mowers and car oil changes. Ull answer the 6 questions below;
1; It will be interior
2; 600 sq.ft.
3; Gloss Ocean Blue
4; Shop floor
5; Brand new floor recently poured
6; May get the occasional oil or grease spill but not often. Will mostly have sawdust on it

Tom munson
Tom munson
1 year ago

What is the best clear coat for my epoxy floor in garage?

Tom munson
Tom munson
1 year ago

I just applied epoxy coating 2 weeks ago, what is the best clear coat glossy sealer?

GARRY
GARRY
1 year ago

what is the difference hc stain concrete floor covering and epoxy concrete floor covering

Kurt
Kurt
1 year ago

Hello, I own my home and I am currently living in it, and would like to remove all old carpet, Tiles, and floating floor, and have the Epoxy Floor coating paint throughout the house, what do you think of this Ideal? is it possible? is it a good Ideal? or a Bad Ideal?

john
john
1 year ago

We are going to redo our garage. It has some old stain/paint on it and also exposed concrete. I was wondering if it needs sanded first and what type of product should I put down? Thank you.

David Livingston
David Livingston
1 year ago

Interior
1025 square feet
flat appearance, no flecks, no sure on color at this time
basement floor
1/3 of floor was previously painted 50 years ago, paint is mostly faded and not peeling
just normal grime, no oil spills, dry-lock was applied to very file weep cracks many years ago and I am planning on sanding/scaping the surface down

IMG_1812.JPG
IMG_1813.JPG
Charles
Charles
1 year ago

I have a 3 season room with a poured concrete floor.. It is not heated in the winter. It has never been painted or sealed with anything else. The room is 18×32. I am looking to put a product on it so that it is easier to clean.

I am in the Port Huron, Michigan area.

Jeff
Jeff
1 year ago

1) Exterior
2) 1320 sq ft
3) Color
4) Motorhome Pad
5) Unknown, maybe a sealer
6) Just outdoor grime and grit
7) The current surface is a pee-pebble concrete that different section were poured at different times and I want to put a durable surface on it so it is all one color and can be kept clean.
Thanks

Sally Kramer
Sally Kramer
1 year ago

Coating anew, interior, previously uncoated, basement floor 1200 sq ft. Prefer matte finish no flecks. Concerned about fumes since the furnace and hot water heater are in the area and any fumes migrating into the house. Only drain available is the one near the mechanicals in the hot water heater and furnace area if floor requires washing with hose.

Anne
Anne
1 year ago

I have a new build home. Concrete garage floor was poured about 6 mo ago. It appears to be sealed (water doesn’t penetrate), it has a dark, somewhat glossy finish but I’m not entirely sure it was sealed. Approx 200sq ft. No oil or grease spills since it is a new build. Looking for something with flecks, light grey, glossy finish with non-skid. Any recommendations? Suggestions on specific prep aspects I should pay attention to?

Reg Gutz
Reg Gutz
1 year ago

I want to coat a garage floor that the finish is pitted badly and would like to know if there is a product that would fill in the rough finish, also part of the floor extends past the door to the outside. will these finishes work outside.
Reg

Charles Tola
Charles Tola
1 year ago

Interior or Exterior concrete surface? INTERIOR Square Footage of Area to be Coated? 2200 SQ FT Appearance desired? Gloss, Color, Flecks? FLECKS OR SOLID COLOR Type of surface? Garage, Basement, Shop Floor, etc. BASEMENT Has a previous coating been used before? BARE CEMENT Any oil or grease spills? WILL HAVE MINOR FOOD PREP WITH MINIMAL OIL SPILLS BUT DAILY MOPPING AND POSSIBLY WATER SPILLS Currently basement is damp but i will have the humidity controlled. I’m looking for something that could withstand any moisture coming from below the slab (if any) but mostly water from above from either spills, mopping… Read more »

Don DeNoon
Don DeNoon
1 year ago

I want to paint a 275 sq. ft. (4.7′ x58.5′) exterior concrete front porch gray. It has never been coated and there are no oil or grease spills. I recently had it repaired, i.e.. existing cracks were ground and filled flush with cement and a deteriorated 66” x 8″ section was cut and removed and new high strength concrete installed. What do you recommend? I can provide a photo if necessary.

Bill
Bill
1 year ago

Hello,
Looking to epoxy coat my double car garage,
With a concrete floor(has some pitting and cracks is some areas)
No stains or paint. Please provide some input.
Thank you

E7D91840-9DDF-4021-8E6A-CC296D2FA1C3.jpeg
155
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x