Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review 2024

 4.9/5 (9)

This post was most recently updated on May 10th, 2024

Hi, I am Scott Paul, a leading exterior restoration contractor and business owner with over 30 years of experience in exterior concrete sealing and protection. For info about who I am, please read my full bio here.

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy RatingFor 2024, I have found the Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review to be the top-rated and one of the easiest-to-use Epoxy Floor Coating Systems we have used or tested.

If you have any questions on the Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating, please ask me in our Q&A area below. I am here to help!


The Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Manufacturer Description

Restore-A-Garage is an advanced, water-based Concrete Epoxy Floor Coating System for maximum protection and longevity. It is a 100% solid, high-build garage floor epoxy coating that undergoes a chemical reaction that results in a thick coating tightly bonded to the prepared surface. Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating will protect against abrasions, stains, impact, and chipping AND IS resistant to moisture, dirt, chemicals, and salts, making it ideal for those living in climates where rain and snow are expected as the seasons change.

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating is ideal for all concrete types, including garage floors, warehouse floors, industrial floors, shop floors, basements, concrete patios, concrete countertops, wood, and metal.

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating Review

My Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Review

Application: 8

The Restore-A-Garage Epoxy is a two-component coating system that is easy to apply, and the directions are easy to follow. Once you mix Part A and Part B, you spread the coating over the surface with a notched squeegee and even out with a roller. I could cover our 3-car test garage in less than 30 minutes. Using Spiked shoes, I then broadcasted the Flecks over the surface. I top-coated it later with their optional Gloss Aliphatic Urethane coating. This rolls on very quickly.

Gloss Level after Application: 9

The high 100% solid content of the Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating gives the floor a nice gloss. We top-coated this with the optional Gloss Top Coat, which adds additional shine and protection to the surface. FYI, they carry an optional Satin sheen if you prefer a lower luster.

Restore A Garage Epoxy Gloss Coating

Restore A Garage Epoxy Gloss Coating

The Overall Appearance after Application: 9

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating is thicker (100% solid) in consistency than any of the other DIY brands but applies very well with the squeegee applicator. Applying at 10 mils, the coating is considered a one-coat application. I used a medium to heavy broadcast for the decorative fleck. Fleckh Gray Color. The overall finished appearance was excellent. See picture.

Appearance/Peeling/Wearing After 2 Years: 9

Restore-A-Garage Epoxy had no peeling and retained about 90% of its shine and gloss at the 2-year mark. Overall, the Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating was in almost perfect condition.

Solid Percentage of Epoxy: 10

The Restore-A-Garage Epoxy is a 100% solid Epoxy Coating.

My Overall Score Restore-A-Garage Epoxy at 2-Year Period: 9

The Restore-A-Garage Epoxy is a Commercial-Grade Epoxy Coating System made easy to apply for your average DIY homeowner or contracting professional. As concrete restoration contractors who have been restoring all types of concrete for 20+ years, this is the top Epoxy system that we have seen or used. The Restore-A-Garage Epoxy applies easily, looks, and performs with 100% durability, and overall looks fantastic on our customer’s floor. Any future maintenance would consist of applying another coat of their Top Coat Urethane as needed.

Product Information:

Where To Buy: Restore-A-Garage.com
Coating Type: Two-component, Epoxy 100% Solids. 12 different color options.
Types of Substrates: Garage Floors, Basements, Shop Floors, Warehouse, Counter Tops
Coats Required: 1 coat
Coverage Per Gallon: 200-250 sq. ft per kit
Application Tools: Squeegee and Roller
Dry Time: 12-24 Hours
Cleanup: Water
Manufacturer: RAD OPW LLC

My Test Stats:

Surface Type: 3 Car Garage Floor
How Many Years Tested: 2 Years

*All products tested and results are from my experience. I offer no guarantee of similar results. Results may differ due to different surface types, exposure to UV radiation, and traffic.

The Best Epoxy Coating Video

Please Rate This Article/Product. You may post comments or ask questions below.

author avatar
Scott Paul ~ Restoring Concrete Since 1993 Owner
As an article and comment contributor to the site, Scott has been around the pressure washing industry since attending college. In 1993, he started his first company called Oakland Pressure Wash, specializing in exterior pressure washing and concrete/brick paver sealing. That company evolved into OPW L.L.C. shortly thereafter, concentrating more on exterior wood and concrete/paver restoration. Scott and his Pressure Cleaning Michigan company have restored over 10,000 projects in the Metro Detroit area since the early years. He has become an authority in the concrete and brick pavers restoration industry and has contributed to numerous forums and informative sites. All the products he suggests through this site are sold online and in retail stores, allowing consumers to choose their own means of purchase. Scott’s eCommerce sites sell many of the top brands he endorses, and if you appreciate any of the help he has offered, feel free to purchase from one of them.

You may also like

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
70 Comments
newest
oldest
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Carl
Carl
3 years ago

I have a 1250 sq ft garage how many gallons do I need

Rick G
Rick G
4 days ago

I am interested in the Restore-a-Garage Epoxy product for my front door concrete stoop which is 37 years old but I don’t want a high gloss finish. I noticed that this product is also offered in a satin finish but that may still be too much of a gloss finish for a front door entry way. What is the gloss level for the satin finish? Are there other options that you can recommend after I apply a concrete leveling product to cover imperfections/shallow pits in the existing concrete stoop. Prior to applying the leveling product should I acid etch or… Read more »

Rey
Rey
8 months ago

Will I be able to use this on my carport concrete floor in the Chicago area?

Bobby Wilson
Bobby Wilson
9 months ago

New Interior garage with 11 month old concrete. No oil or other stains. 540 sq. ft.
After applying the Restore-A-Garage Epoxy Coating. Do I then follow up with the
Gloss Aliphatic Urethane coating and then the Gloss Top Coat or would I just use
one or the other of those?

Ron
Ron
9 months ago

What kind of prep is needed for a front porch with Siloxa-Tek 8500 Penetrating Concrete Sealer applied a year ago, grinding or etching

Dallis Cowen
Dallis Cowen
11 months ago

I’m going to refinish my garage. It has been painted or something in the past. It also has spalling or pitting from salty road materials from vehicles. I’m planning on grinding floor but will this epoxy be sufficient to fill in where it’s pitting and spalling or what you suggest for this?

Jerry
Jerry
1 year ago

do you have to remove the existing epoxy floor paint before I can put a new coat of epoxyshield on ?

Brian Frawley
Brian Frawley
1 year ago

Hi Scott
I am coating my garage floor which has never been coated prior. Do I need to diamond grind the surface or will an etch be sufficient? The floor is 2 years old and lightly used to this point. I will be working on personal vehicles/projects once my floor is finished. Thanks!

Mark
Mark
1 year ago

Hi Scott,
Great resources on your site here. I congratulate you and thank you for the useful in formation. We are having an attached garage built and I’ll want to put an epoxy coating on the concrete slab after it cures.

Your recommendation of Restore A Garage seems convincing.

Should I etch the new concrete floor before applying Restore A Garage?

No need to prime new cured concrete for such a project, is there?

Thanks again,
Mark

Sam
Sam
1 year ago

How much is your product, I read in the article that it was $149

Sandra McChesney
Sandra McChesney
1 year ago

could you put a restore a garage clear gloss over a rust oleum clear coat gloss that has been done in the past 3 days?

Daniel
Daniel
1 year ago

Does your epoxy coating require a primer?

Sam
Sam
1 year ago

Why can’t you use an epoxy primer before the epoxy top coat? I found it prevents gassing of the top coat

John
John
1 year ago

Do you have to acid clean new concrete before putting on epoxy coating

Will
Will
1 year ago

I’m looking at applying to a basement floor that I will power wash and use TSP on. Right now it’s not painted, but the previous owner put self leveler on that is crumbling. Is there any other prep work that needs to be done other than removing the self leveler and washing? Thanks for your help.

Kathy
Kathy
1 year ago

I’m looking to doing a concrete porch, 12×12. Has a ceiling but otherwise open. Will this work and will it cover repaired cracks?

Melanie
Melanie
1 year ago

I live in Florida’s. Can this be used ion my concert patio that is screened in? the concrete is 6 month old. will it withstand the hot climate and when is it best ( temperature) to lay it? surely it should not be laid during the hottest time of the year? what would be the best temperature to let it cure?

Matt
Matt
1 year ago

I want to put this on my shed that has a concrete floor. I am sure it is okay with the temperatures outside but just checking….

Pete
Pete
1 year ago

Hi, when applying the clear coat did you sand first? From their website, they mention:
“You can avoid sanding by applying it 15-18 hours after applying the epoxy, but you risk the slight chance of the R-A-G Clear Top Coat separating from the R-A-G Epoxy.”
Wondering which path you took. Thanks!

Ken
Ken
2 years ago

Does this product come in a kit that incudes etching and all items needed to apply? ie: spike shoes squeegee roller etc. ? I have a 22’x 24′ area . How much is needed?

Chris
Chris
2 years ago

Is the finish as slick/slippery as regular concrete? We will have foot traffic from the back yard pool area into the epoxied garage floor in order to get to the bathroom, and wondering if there is something that should be mixed in when applying to help prevent slipping?

Nino Veneziale
Nino Veneziale
2 years ago

Hi,

Would this product be good for a radiant heat under slab floor .
Brand new pole barn, concrete was poured in September (2021)

Charlotte Dobosenski
Charlotte Dobosenski
2 years ago

I am not sure why the photo of this too shiny epoxy cement floor does get uploaded? I tried multiple times! One small photo can’t exceed the 5 MB limit, can it?

Charlotte Dobosenski
Charlotte Dobosenski
2 years ago

I just had my basement floor professionally done with epoxy coats to give a wood plank finish but is far too shiny, looks plastic. I am NOT happy with this very glossy look. The professional told me there is nothing he can or would do to make a satin or matte finish!
HELP is there any thing I can do??

Tim
Tim
2 years ago

Do you need to etch new concrete before applying – I’m moving into a new house and would like to coat it prior to moving in.

Claire Westdahl
Claire Westdahl
2 years ago

Do I have to use the flecks? What colors does the coating come int?

Brian
Brian
2 years ago

I want to use the Restore-A-Garage Epoxy on my new garage floor that isn’t sealed. Do I need to do any prep work to the floor besides brushing it off?

Anthony Palmerino
Anthony Palmerino
2 years ago

i have a garage that is 220 sq ft i have applied a previous epoxy Rustoleum rock solid . i was not inpressed by it . Applied it a year ago looked great for 3 months then it dulled and then starting flaking. So i need advice on a good commercial epoxy one that will be deep and high gloss and will last awhile..

Derek Wilkening
Derek Wilkening
2 years ago

Could you tell me how many pounds of decorative fleck you used on the 3 car garage to get the medium-heavy coverage? I have an approx 1100 sqft garage. The website says 6-8lb per 1000 sqft for heavy coverage and then jumps to a whooping 200 lb per 1000 sqft for full broadcast. Thanks for the help

Jovy
Jovy
2 years ago

Hello, I just ordered a clear one to my floor and counter top. I am just curious if this would turn yellowish over time?

JOHN HEMMER
JOHN HEMMER
2 years ago

how do I prepare an old garage floor for epoxy coating?

Ariel
Ariel
2 years ago

I have a 450 SF garage that has been sanded clean on the surface. Is there any other prep work required before applying the epoxy coating?
Also, i have a small stair down to a basement. Can the epoxy be applied to vertical surfaces?

Sonia Del Plavignano
Sonia Del Plavignano
3 years ago

Can you epoxy a garage floor in the winter?

DavidN
DavidN
4 years ago

I have a 1000 Sq foot garage floor. How much of this product will I need?

Sammie
Sammie
4 years ago

Will this work on my basement floor? Does it have a strong odor that lingers?

70
0
Questions or leave a review, please comment!x